Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    RAID 5 configuration on Crosshair V Formula Z for Linux (Ubuntu)

    Hello,
    I am trying to build a PC. The main configurations are

    Motherboard Criosshair V Formula Z
    CPU FX9590
    SSD 5x 120GB Sandisk SSD Connected on Sata port 1-5

    I have set
    Port1-4 RAID
    Port5-6 RAID
    Board SATA RAID ROM Legacy ROM

    Within the AMD ROM Utility have set the RAID array to use RAID mode 5 with all the SSDS totaling 507.99GB. When I restart,
    BIOS detects it as one drive 'Logical Drive 1'

    Problem

    - The more I read, I get the feeling the mobo does not have actual hardware raid controller but fake firmware raid. Can somebody please
    confirm whether it is a Hardware or firmware raid? Depending on the raid support, I can narrow down my effort to setup the appropriate raid.

    - When I try to install ubuntu on the RAID. Ubuntu detects the storage a s 5 drives of 120GB sda-sde, as if the BIOS RAID configuration never
    existed. I would have expected the RAID controller to present the memory as 1 single chunk of 507GB. Can somebody please help? Am I
    missing any configuration?

    Many Thanks,
    Tony

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL551JW
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)2x Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2133
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1150 (On Board Audio)
    Monitor3x Asus PA279Q
    Storage #12x Sandisk X300S 128GB 2.5" RAID0 (OS)
    Storage #24x Western Digital Black 750GB 2.5" RAID10 (Storage)
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! DARK ROCK TF
    CaseCooler Master Stacker 832
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200
    Keyboard Asus M801 ​Keyboard -​ Red Switc​hes
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK XXL
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+B Plus S8B Subwoofer
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNETGEAR R8000 Nighthawk X6
    Accessory #1 Roland UA-55 Audio Interface
    Black Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Windows detects the full drive?

    Could be Ubuntu missing drivers for RAID controller support it it's Yes to the above question? Could you try something like CentOS or Fedora and report back?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I am told the board does not have actual RAID controller, but a firmware which can store RAID information. The OS running on top of it can read this information and runs the OS version of the RAID (which is software RAID). It is useful if you have different OS installed.

    I wont be runnung dual OS. So decided to implement ubuntu RAID using mdadm. But so far it is not going well. The desktop installer fails to install grub on /dev/sda and crash.
    The server version of it, installs grub. But on reboot it cant identify the drives!

    Many Thanks,
    Tony

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL551JW
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)2x Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2133
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1150 (On Board Audio)
    Monitor3x Asus PA279Q
    Storage #12x Sandisk X300S 128GB 2.5" RAID0 (OS)
    Storage #24x Western Digital Black 750GB 2.5" RAID10 (Storage)
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! DARK ROCK TF
    CaseCooler Master Stacker 832
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200
    Keyboard Asus M801 ​Keyboard -​ Red Switc​hes
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK XXL
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+B Plus S8B Subwoofer
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNETGEAR R8000 Nighthawk X6
    Accessory #1 Roland UA-55 Audio Interface
    Black Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Try to install CentOS or Fedora to see if everything goes without any problem.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by tonysonney View Post
    I am told the board does not have actual RAID controller, but a firmware which can store RAID information. The OS running on top of it can read this information and runs the OS version of the RAID (which is software RAID). It is useful if you have different OS installed.

    I wont be runnung dual OS. So decided to implement ubuntu RAID using mdadm. But so far it is not going well. The desktop installer fails to install grub on /dev/sda and crash.
    The server version of it, installs grub. But on reboot it cant identify the drives!

    Many Thanks,
    Tony
    I have done this before, and without any problems. Give me a day or so to update my system backup image; I will try to recreate your issue, and I'll put together my step-by-step.

    Tell me which Ubuntu version (full version number, please) are you trying to use, so I can download it and mimic your attempt as closely as possible.

    Z
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Black Phoenix View Post
    Try to install CentOS or Fedora to see if everything goes without any problem.


    CentOS for some reason does not detect the SSDs.

    Fedora latest version the installer fails. I cant remember the exact error. But a bit of google search, it was a common problem with a bug.
    Opensuse, the installer does not even start, and remained on a blank screen for about 10 minutes before I gave up.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I am trying to install Ubuntu 14.04.4 64bit (ubuntu-14.04.4-desktop-amd64) version.
    At present I have installed ubuntu on the harddrive (not part of raid) and am going to create the raid5 partition on the remaining 5 SSDs to be used as storage.
    But I would like to install the OS and home folder in RAID so that the applications I run too are faster.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL551JW
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)2x Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2133
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1150 (On Board Audio)
    Monitor3x Asus PA279Q
    Storage #12x Sandisk X300S 128GB 2.5" RAID0 (OS)
    Storage #24x Western Digital Black 750GB 2.5" RAID10 (Storage)
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! DARK ROCK TF
    CaseCooler Master Stacker 832
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200
    Keyboard Asus M801 ​Keyboard -​ Red Switc​hes
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK XXL
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+B Plus S8B Subwoofer
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNETGEAR R8000 Nighthawk X6
    Accessory #1 Roland UA-55 Audio Interface
    Black Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Zchivago View Post
    I have done this before, and without any problems. Give me a day or so to update my system backup image; I will try to recreate your issue, and I'll put together my step-by-step.

    Tell me which Ubuntu version (full version number, please) are you trying to use, so I can download it and mimic your attempt as closely as possible.

    Z
    Well there you have, someone that already experience it and know how to fix it. Let's then wait for a possible workaround.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thank you Dr. Zchivago for offering to help.

    I am not sure whether it would help. But I was using the commands in the link, to create RAID partition. He is using it for storage parttion. But I have been creating 2 raid 5 partitions to mount "/" and "/home" .
    Tony

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array tonysonney PC Specs
    tonysonney PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair v formula Z
    ProcessorFX9590
    Memory (part number)Radeon R9
    Graphics Card #1GTX 580
    Graphics Card #2GT 740
    CPU CoolerNZXT X61 Kraken
    CaseNZXT Source 530
    OS Linux

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Hi Dr. Zchivago,
    Did you manage to get the RAID working using latest Ubuntu 14.04.4?
    Many Thanks,
    Tony

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •