Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Requesting good DDR4 overclocking guide

    Hello all. Been googling for a decent beginner's guide to overclocking RAM and not having much luck. They all either assume too much knowledge, or are only interested in getting XMP settings working, or whatnot.

    I consider myself fairly proficient in O/Cing CPU core clock, CPU cache and GPU's, but I haven't even tried O/Cing RAM yet. At this point I'm willing to give it a quick shot and see if I can get 3200 Mhz for little effort, and hoping for some tips on that.

    Right now, I have a G.Skill 32GB kit (4x8GB) running at XMP settings of 2666 Mhz, 15-15-15-35-2T. I suspect I could probably get better results by tightening timings instead of just going for raw frequency, but the learning curve on how to play with those seems pretty steep. So I'm wondering if I can't just bump up voltage from 1.2 to 1.35, set it to 3200Mhz, and possibly work right off the bat. Is that unlikely? Do I need to change the primary timings to something like 16-16-18-36-2T first?

    Again, I'm not looking to become a master RAM overclocker, because from all I'm reading it won't give me too much of a boost in anything I'm likely to do other than benchmarks. Just looking to see if my sticks are strong enough to take a quick-and-easy boost to 3200 Mhz. If it takes much more than an hour of tweaking, I'd probably just quit trying at that point.

    If someone's willing to give me a basic "Plug these numbers in for getting from 2666 to 3200 and see if it works" tutorial, I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    For ram take xmp off and set to manual. Input dram voltages, timings and speed of 2666. Test for stability. If stable go back in bios and up the voltage to 1.35 and speed to 3000mhz and test for stability. Running ram at 2666 is overclocked a bit. I got my 2666 ram up to 3200mhz but had some stability issues and have settled for 3000mhz 1.35v and stock timings for now. Arne may chime in as he has tightened his timings and running 1t. Gskill is nice ram
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Drop, you running 125 strap or 100? I am 100, which is why i picked 3200. I intend to stay on 100 too, as I like adaptive voltage.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array samboy87 PC Specs
    samboy87 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop? Only Desktop!
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme Bios: 3202
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930K @ 4.2ghz/3.375ghz Adaptive Vcore 1.15v/Vcache 0.98v VCCSA @ 0.846v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3000C15Q16GRR @ 3000mhz CL14-14-14-34 T1 @ 1.36v
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 FE @ Stock boost 1968mhz/5011mhz
    MonitorAsus PG278Q Swift
    Storage #12x Samsung EVO 850Pro 256GB - Win 10 Home / Games
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i / 1000W
    Keyboard Razer Blackwiddow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly Chroma
    Headset/Speakers Bower&Wilkins 2xCM9 s2 1xCMC2 S2
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk R7000
    Accessory #1 ROG OC Panel
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    150

    im sitting in the same curve trying to learn clocking ram aswell. i'm on 3000mhz with timings on 14-14-14-34 2T now with 1.355v stable. it needed 0.005v more to hold 16gb of ram stable with those timings
    Last edited by samboy87; 04-12-2016 at 04:43 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,637

    First thing I'd do is drop from 2T to 1T and see if that runs stable...

    Then copy down first second and third timings from XMP and take a note of VCCSA that the board is setting....post that up here if you like.

    If 1T works...try to go to 3000 back at 2T and 1.35v DRAMvoltage...leave everything else at XMP values...see if it boots and runs SPi32M

    There is no way I'm a RAM expert...just have put in a lot of time playing with timings one by one and testing with AIDA to see what gets better what gets worse....and know a few targets to head for timing wise...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    Running 100 strap. Cpu daily at 4.5
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Ok thanks for tips guys. Here's how it's going. I had tried going to 1T a while back without changing voltage or anything else and that didn't work, so i went on to the 3000 attempt. Here's my only issue so far: I was able to copy most of the XMP settings easily enough because it was the same value for all 4 channels, but there's three values that are different for each channel. How do I input those?

    The 3 settings are:

    tRWDR2: 7 6 6 5
    tRWDD: 7 6 6 5
    tRWSR2: 6 5 5 4

    Those 4 numbers are under CHA A, CHA B, CHA C and CHA D respectively, but it doesn't seem like i can enter them individually.

    I put in the largest number in each (so my tRWDR2 is now 7's all across, for example), and it's currently made it through 10 minutes of memtest86 which I'm just running to make sure I have a chance to get into windows without corrupting it. Will let it keep running until you guys let me know what i should do about those 3 settings.

    Thanks for all the help!
    Last edited by Qwinn; 04-13-2016 at 06:29 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,637

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    tRWDR2: 7 6 6 5
    tRWDD: 7 6 6 5
    tRWSR2: 6 5 5 4
    That is weird....I tell you XMP is for the birds...I got a kit yesterday that set CPU multiplier and cache...WTF? anyway


    I would do what you have done but then try to reduce them to 6-6-5 and if that works 5-5-4 which is where I would think they should be...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 04-13-2016 at 07:54 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Update: running 12 instances of hci memtest now, maximum of 2048mb each, so unfortunately some memory out of my 32gb is going untested but not sure what i can do about that. System agent appears unchanged at 0.880v. Gonna go to sleep and let it do its thing.

    Oh, and my very first attempt was raising it to 3200, failed to boot with code bd. 3000 appears to be cooperating nicely tho. Surprising, i thought i'd read that 3200 was exceptionally strong on 100 strap.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 04-13-2016 at 07:00 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Woke up to 400% coverage on all 12 instances with no errors. Went back to bios, set those 3 settings to 5-5-4, booted fine, started 12 instances again and went to work. Will let ya know what I come home to tonight. Thanks Arne!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •