Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Maximus VIII Extreme Build

    I just finished with the build I updated to bios 1601 I was wondering should I go back and install updated M/B drivers if so can install over the top drivers installed via M/B disk.

    EZ update doesn't seem to do anything thing

    Thank you for your help

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    Hi Noles6513

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    After checking the asus downloads page the motherboard disk should have the latest drivers.

    https://www.asus.com/us/support/Down...wj8h4xqBzu/41/

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thank You

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    You're welcome

    To avoid any conflicts when updating to new drivers you can uninstall them from your programs then get the latest ones from the asus downloads page I linked.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    you will almost never find the latest drivers on Asus, even for Asmedia drivers (subsidiary of Asus). I usually refer to station-drivers for the latest drivers, below is a useful link to all drivers relevant to M8E.

    http://station-drivers.com/index.php...id=169&lang=en

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have another question when try to enable Xmp profile I get oc failure is this a dram voltage issue

    G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Black Phoenix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL551JW
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)2x Kingston HyperX Fury Black 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2133
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Classified ACX 2.0+
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1150 (On Board Audio)
    Monitor3x Asus PA279Q
    Storage #12x Sandisk X300S 128GB 2.5" RAID0 (OS)
    Storage #24x Western Digital Black 750GB 2.5" RAID10 (Storage)
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! DARK ROCK TF
    CaseCooler Master Stacker 832
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200
    Keyboard Asus M801 ​Keyboard -​ Red Switc​hes
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK XXL
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+B Plus S8B Subwoofer
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNETGEAR R8000 Nighthawk X6
    Accessory #1 Roland UA-55 Audio Interface
    Black Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    What is the CPU you have?

    Please take note of this:

    If you get the extremely high speed RAM around the 3400mhz-4000mhz range then you might need to overclock the CPU to keep the high speed RAM stable. That's why on haswell, it's never a good idea to pair ridiculously fast RAM with a locked CPU since for some reason the memory controller prefers it that way.

    Worst case scenario you have to up the voltage on the memory controller, but be careful since I've heard the memory controller is risky to overvolt.

    However, I'm talking very very rare occasions where XMP isn't stable. You should be perfectly fine, especially for such a low RAM speed.
    XMP should work with (in case you have) non-K processors, but when used with K ones it will also overclock the CPU.
    Last edited by Black Phoenix; 04-15-2016 at 03:27 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    The overclocking failed message is saying you need to do some voltage tweaking, let's try setting it manually instead of using XMP.

    Try these settings:

    Reset to defaults (F5)

    AI Overclock Tuner - Manual

    Dram Frequency - 3000MHz
    Dram voltage 1.40v
    VCCIO - 1.25v
    CPU System Agent - 1.25v

    DiGi+

    Dram current capability - 130%

    There are two 32GB 3000MHz kits one kit is 2 sticks the other is 4 sticks and they have different timings. I assume you have the 4 stick kit? IF so....

    Dram Timing Control - at the very top enter in

    15
    15
    15
    35
    command rate 2

    2 stick kit

    14
    14
    14
    34
    command rate 2


    F10 and Enter, how does she go?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    its the 4 sticks i'll give it a try when get home thanks Nate

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,367

    You're welcome

    I'm confident this should get you going but if it still gives you trouble, In Dram Timing control try Maximus Tweak modes 1 and 2, mode 1 helps with compatibility mode 2 helps with overclocking.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •