Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    Question New PC built but it doesn't boot...or even turn on.

    Hello everybody,
    I am having a big problem.
    I just finished building my new PC, but when I start it, nothing happen.

    The only things I notice are :

    - the fan of the CPU cooler do only for half of a turn.
    -I see the ROG red logo in the middle of the Mobo
    -I see a yellow led in the BIOS led position
    -the Start and reset buttons light is on

    I installed all the cables needed (ATX 24 pin + 8 pin + 4 pin, 4 pin EZ plug)

    The thing that bother me is that when I did the self test on the new PSU the result was a green light.
    When I connect all the cables to the PSU, when I turn on the PC , I immediately hear like if the PSU "shut down" and I see a solid red light on the PSU.
    I am not sure but I think that this solid red light mean there is a short somewhere.
    I checked and rechecked all the cables and connections a couple of times but no success.
    I removed all thecomponents, checked the CPU, RAM , cup cooler, everything but saw nothing strange (and no apparent damage) and everything was right in place.

    So I tried with my old PSU (Corsair AX1200) and happened the same thing.

    Any idea what could be the cause ?
    What I should do ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    Are all headers for case power switches connected properly? Have u tried unplugging them and using poer button on motherboard? I had a case new that ended up being a faulty power button. Just asking.
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by drop4205 View Post
    Are all headers for case power switches connected properly? Have u tried unplugging them and using poer button on motherboard? I had a case new that ended up being a faulty power button. Just asking.
    Hello drop4205,
    Yes I did that....same result.
    I tried even with just 1 SSD and 1 GPU only and the whole front panel not connected...same result.

    It's not the first PC that I build that's what frustrating...
    I checked if the CPU is correctly installed and it is.

    One thing I notice is that the both Qleds and the Q-Code LED remain off...no leds light on and no code appear.

    Could it be a faulty motherboard?
    How I can determine if the mobo is faulty ?
    Last edited by Swiso; 04-15-2016 at 07:12 AM. Reason: Qleds and Qcode

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    If I had this type of problem then I'd probably remove the motherboard from the case and sit it on a box and try to power up just to rule out any chance of shorting in the case.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    Best thing is pull board from case and place on motherboard box it came in. Connect cpu, cooler, gpu, psu, hard drive and 1 stick of ram to test to eliminate a short from case. If you pull cpu are any pins bent? jump 24 pin on psu to test all 24,8 and 4 pin connectors. Others will chime in
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    As above, pull the board, do a basic setup and see what happens, even without GPU you should get an error code. It does look like a duff board.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array kaese PC Specs
    kaese PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Rampage V Extreme
    Processor5820K

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    65

    -deleted-

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,672

    I too would try the MB out on its box...just to make sure no short is happening at back of board or I/O pannel

    Also I would look at PSU...

    Try disconnecting 4pin power cable from PSU and try with only the 8 pin populated..that PSU comes with two 4+4 cables try them both in 8pin ATX...remove EZ plug for now

    Look into the ends of the ATX power cables make sure all contacts look right length etc


    Quote Originally Posted by kaese View Post
    -deleted-
    Posts can actually be deleted on this forum by the way...
    EDIT and then check delete box and press delete button...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Del.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	7.5 KB 
ID:	56885
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 04-15-2016 at 10:40 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Swiso PC Specs
    Swiso PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage Extreme V 3.1
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980Ti Classified
    MonitorNEC 30" LCD3090 Wqxi
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian-Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Beyerdnamic MMX 300
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro - Linux Mint 17.3
    Accessory #1 Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Accessory #2 ASUS BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #3 WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    24

    Found the problem !
    Was caused by a defected SATA power connector cable....
    Lost three days on it....
    Now going forward with the installation....

    P.S : A quick question...on the three thermal sensor cables,on the connector, I see that on one side there is like a triangle mark over it....is that PIN1 or the ground ?
    Last edited by Swiso; 04-15-2016 at 11:21 AM.

  10. #10

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •