Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Few Questions

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Few Questions

    1. I can run my Corsir 3000 memory using XMP and PC seems fine. It takes longer to POST than using standard is this normal?

    2. Using this XMP - does this overclock the CPU aswell (6700k)?

    3. What is sonic suite used for and can I uninstall it in windows 10?
    Last edited by spluff; 04-15-2016 at 09:55 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    I can only provide a definitive answer to point 3, others I'm sure will be able to answer points 1 and 2.

    Sonic Studio can be un-installed if required, it is not needed to control the audio devices. That being said, it does give you the user more fine grained control over the audio. It has a fairly slick interface (looks nice) and there are software utilities to improve incoming and outgoing sounds. I would be wary of using Sonic Radar for gaming though as other users have had issues in which they have been deemed to be playing unfairly by the games designers. But if all you want is basic functionality then just run without installing it.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    1. Memory training.

    2. No.

    3. Part of the SupremeFX audio package. And yes, you can uninstall it.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    1. Memory training.

    2. No.

    3. Part of the SupremeFX audio package. And yes, you can uninstall it.
    So it doesn't need to do any memory training when using XMP?

    What advantages is there to running at XMP speed for my memory? It was running fine with it enabled but I disabled it because it was taking longer to boot

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorAsus VN247H-P 23.6"
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    517

    xmp is ok but better if you set the timings, voltage and speed manually then tweak from there
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by drop4205 View Post
    xmp is ok but better if you set the timings, voltage and speed manually then tweak from there
    Why would this be better as the settings for XMP are what the memory should be running (if windows is running okay with XMP profile)?

    I presume its so you can tweak them up or down ?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array JET.1983's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by spluff View Post
    1. I can run my Corsir 3000 memory using XMP and PC seems fine. It takes longer to POST than using standard is this normal?

    2. Using this XMP - does this overclock the CPU aswell (6700k)?

    3. What is sonic suite used for and can I uninstall it in windows 10?

    - you can testing a long ranges of memory brands

    - no ! its only optimizing the memory bus speed .

    - do not install sonic suit or any realtek audio driver ,
    if you did it just uninstall it as soon as possible
    Intel® Core™ i7-6700K Skylake
    ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    Avexir Blitz Series 16GB 4X4GB 3000Mhz CL15 DDR4
    GIGABYTE GTX980 G1 Gaming OC
    Corsair 2x 128GB Gs series ssD, ADATA 1x SX900 256G, Samsung Evo 850 500G, Seagate Baracuda 1TB, WD Blue 1TB
    ASUS MX279H - Full HD AH-IPS LED
    Razer Kraken
    Razer DEATHSTALKER EXPERT Gaming
    Razer DEATHADDER 4G 6400dpi
    Razer Guantler Control Edition
    Antec 900w High Current Gaming
    Corsair Graphite 780T Black - Corsair H100i
    http://valid.x86.fr/yb0b85

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •