Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: corrosion help?

  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array vyras PC Specs
    vyras PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 6700K
    Memory (part number)G Skill Ripjaws V (4*16GB) F4-3000C15Q-64GVRGB
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Titan X
    Monitor3 PG27AQ
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 SSD U.2 1.2 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCase Labs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    OS Windows 10 Pro and Xubuntu (both x64)

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Hi NuMetal93,

    I would suggest switching either you CPU or your GPU blocks so they are all the same material. I would do this in order to prevent any further damage to your system leading a need for a full loop replacement in the future. I have used the Mayhems Blitz Cleaning and I didnt have a problem with it. I am also providign a link for it below

    https://mayhems.co.uk/cleaning/mayhe...eaning-system/

    Depending on the size of your system, loops and radiators I would suggest buying 2 of them. This includes a radiator only cleaning solution as well as a full loop cleanning method where you run the chemicals provided thought your whole system.

    I have only used the radiator method since my CPU and GPU blocks were brand new and did not require any cleaning. When I was using the radiator method there was no way 1 of them would had sufficed becase I had to clean one 280mm one 480mm and one 560mm radiators.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array NuMetal93 PC Specs
    NuMetal93 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage 5 Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6850k 4.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB 3000mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Storage #1950 pro 500GB m.2
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 760t Black/Red
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1300 G2
    Keyboard IBM Model M Grey logo/Razer Orbweaver
    Mouse 2013 Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    OS Windows 10 60 bit
    Accessory #1 3D Printed stuff
    NuMetal93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    Thanks for the advice ill have to prolly pick up two. Also so its not safe for a copper block, i went out and replaced most my blocks.
    Last edited by NuMetal93; 04-22-2016 at 02:09 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array NuMetal93 PC Specs
    NuMetal93 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage 5 Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6850k 4.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB 3000mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Storage #1950 pro 500GB m.2
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 760t Black/Red
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1300 G2
    Keyboard IBM Model M Grey logo/Razer Orbweaver
    Mouse 2013 Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    OS Windows 10 60 bit
    Accessory #1 3D Printed stuff
    NuMetal93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    Quote Originally Posted by vyras View Post
    Hi NuMetal93,

    I would suggest switching either you CPU or your GPU blocks so they are all the same material. I would do this in order to prevent any further damage to your system leading a need for a full loop replacement in the future. I have used the Mayhems Blitz Cleaning and I didnt have a problem with it. I am also providign a link for it below

    https://mayhems.co.uk/cleaning/mayhe...eaning-system/

    Depending on the size of your system, loops and radiators I would suggest buying 2 of them. This includes a radiator only cleaning solution as well as a full loop cleanning method where you run the chemicals provided thought your whole system.

    I have only used the radiator method since my CPU and GPU blocks were brand new and did not require any cleaning. When I was using the radiator method there was no way 1 of them would had sufficed becase I had to clean one 280mm one 480mm and one 560mm radiators.
    All my blocks were nickel plated copper but i switched out the cpu block to copper

  4. #14
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    best is to have all in same type of metal, even nickle plated vlocks should not be a problem.
    but one have to keep an eye out on the nickle plated blocks in case the nickle peals off and not clogs up the cooling fins on the blocks.
    but copper and alu = not a good mix.
    if it all was alu then it would be ok.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array NuMetal93 PC Specs
    NuMetal93 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage 5 Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6850k 4.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB 3000mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 ti ftw3
    Storage #1950 pro 500GB m.2
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo
    CaseCorsair 760t Black/Red
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1300 G2
    Keyboard IBM Model M Grey logo/Razer Orbweaver
    Mouse 2013 Razer Deathadder
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    OS Windows 10 60 bit
    Accessory #1 3D Printed stuff
    NuMetal93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    Thanks!

    Thanks for all the help, only very little nickel plaiting pealed off in all my gpu blocks. I gave them a good cleaning and am going to continue to use them. EKWB agreed to replace them but the shipping cost is too much for the rma. Shipping would be like 200 dollars ish.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •