Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Sound CardAsus ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo 7.1
    MonitorBenQ 32" BL3201PT 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 950 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyFractal Design Newton R3 1000W Platinum
    Keyboard QPad MK-85
    Mouse Anker 8500DPI Laser Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Maximus VIII Hero: Computer will sometimes fail to shutdown

    Hello,

    about a month ago I purchased this motherboard and I'm very happy with its performance. I have no other issues and in fact my PC performs great even on the most demanding games.

    However this issue is quite silly and irritating. I've read a lot about people having this issue and I also tried almost everything except RMAing the board because I don't really believe this issue can be resolved with another identical board.

    So to elaborate a bit... When shuting down the computer from the Win 10 start menu then sometimes (not always) the monitor will go on standby but the computer fans and LEDs will remain powered. I can then restart it by just pressing the case restart button or power it off by holding the case power button till it switches off.

    My rig:

    • Windows 10 Pro
    • Intel Core i7 6700k stock - no overclock
    • 16GB Corsair Vengeance XMPed to 3200MHz
    • 4x HDDs
    • 1x Samsung Nand Evo 950 PRO m.2 SSD
    • 2x EVGA GeForce 980 Ti Superclocked+
    • Asus Xonar Phoebus Solo 7.1 Sound Card
    • Fractal Design 1000W Platinum PSU



    Things I've tried:

    • Formated and reinstalled my drive with Windows 10 Pro.
    • Removed the AISuite 3 software.
    • Disabled fastboot in Windows 10 Power Options.
    • Tried about 5 different versions of Intel Management Engine drivers as suggested in other threads with similar problems.
    • Disabled all intel services through msconfig as suggested in a thread.
    • Started the computer with everything non-essential unplugged.
    • Removed and put back the RAM.
    • Tried another PSU.
    • Removed the XMP setting from the BIOS.
    • Cleared CMOS several times.
    • Removed the battery several times.
    • Tried different BIOS versions.



    Note: The boards Qcode panel displays either 40 or A0 during the shutdown which I read are fine.

    Solution: Following d4nYz3r0's solution helped me solve this odd behaviour. Here is what I exactly did:

    Used the Flashback BIOS feature to flash the latest BIOS.
    Unplugged the computer.
    Removed the battery and kept the Clear CMOS button pressed for about 10 seconds.
    Started the computer and in BIOS settings, I chose Load Optimized Defaults.

    Someone on the Internet might find this useful.
    Last edited by m33ts4k0z; 05-24-2016 at 05:59 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    Please perform a simple test for me. Start the PC in Windows safe mode and then see if it will shutdown correctly. This will help to identify if it is a service or application that is preventing a proper shutdown as safe mode only runs the bare minimum.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheRiwen PC Specs
    TheRiwen PC Specs
    MotherboardViii Hero
    Processor6700
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI
    Sound CardSoundblaster ZxR
    CPU CoolerNH-U12S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750X
    Keyboard logitech g910
    OS windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    My keyboard did that on my hero. I just moved it to another usb and it was gone.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Sound CardAsus ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo 7.1
    MonitorBenQ 32" BL3201PT 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 950 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyFractal Design Newton R3 1000W Platinum
    Keyboard QPad MK-85
    Mouse Anker 8500DPI Laser Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Code_Frenzy View Post
    Please perform a simple test for me. Start the PC in Windows safe mode and then see if it will shutdown correctly. This will help to identify if it is a service or application that is preventing a proper shutdown as safe mode only runs the bare minimum.
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRiwen View Post
    My keyboard did that on my hero. I just moved it to another usb and it was gone.
    Thanks for your answers guys. I actually followed a new post made some hours ago by someone in this forum who is using a VII Ranger and was told by Asus support to follow a specific procedure and it seems that after doing so, it solved my problem! I have like 7 successful shutdowns in a row now.

    The procedure is as follows:

    • Used the Flashback BIOS feature to flash the latest BIOS.
    • Unplugged the computer.
    • Removed the battery and kept the Clear CMOS button pressed for about 10 seconds.
    • Started the computer and in BIOS settings, I chose Load Optimized Defaults.



    After that, I made several successful shutdowns but my memory was not clocked @ 3200MHz through XMP so I just loaded the profile through BIOS and I'm still good with the shutdowns so far.

    I will update this thread if something comes up.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array brkkab123 PC Specs
    brkkab123 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3200 32GBs
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire NITRO+ RX 480 OC 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard sound
    MonitorLG 25UM58-P
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1.0TB SATA & W.D. Black 2.0TB
    CPU CoolerEK Water Blocks EK-XLC Predator 240 1.1 w/push/pull add-on fans kit
    CaseNZXT Phantom 820
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X530 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR 3700
    Accessory #1 Logitech c615 HD Webcam
    Accessory #2 Seagate Backup Desk 3.0TB
    Accessory #3 Logitech U920 Driving Force Racing Wheel/Logitech Driving Force Shifter/GT Omega Wheel Stand

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    307

    This isn't the motherboard. This is a Microsoft issue in Windows 8, 8.1 and 10. If you click on shutdown from the desktop it's designed not to actually shut your pc off. It instead puts it in hybrid sleep, I think it is.They did this mostly for smartphones and tablets.
    The way you have to fully shutoff your pc is to click restart on the desktop and when it get's on the login screen, click the power icon at the bottom right and then clickon shutdown.
    This was posted by numerous computer magazines a few years ago after Windows 8 came out.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Sound CardAsus ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo 7.1
    MonitorBenQ 32" BL3201PT 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 950 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyFractal Design Newton R3 1000W Platinum
    Keyboard QPad MK-85
    Mouse Anker 8500DPI Laser Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by brkkab123 View Post
    This isn't the motherboard. This is a Microsoft issue in Windows 8, 8.1 and 10. If you click on shutdown from the desktop it's designed not to actually shut your pc off. It instead puts it in hybrid sleep, I think it is.They did this mostly for smartphones and tablets.
    The way you have to fully shutoff your pc is to click restart on the desktop and when it get's on the login screen, click the power icon at the bottom right and then clickon shutdown.
    This was posted by numerous computer magazines a few years ago after Windows 8 came out.
    Thanks but I have already deactivated the Hybrid Shutdown through the power options. But even if that was the case, the computer wouldn't be unresponsive. While hibernating, we must be able to restore it with a keystroke or by pressing the power button. In my case only pressing the restart button worked.

    No matter, I'm on the 15ish shutdown in a row now and no problem so far. Before that, my record was like 2 shutdowns in a row. Let's see if this is going to hold.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    Thanks for coming back to report the solution, it will hopefully help others in a similar situation.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Dave500 PC Specs
    Dave500 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii hero
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti exreme
    MonitorVS278H
    Storage #1850 Pro 256GB SSD
    Storage #2WD RE 1tb HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseThermalTake Core X31 Mid Towe
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    Mouse steelseries sensei
    OS WIN7 SP1 Ultimate
    Network RouterBillion 7800

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    I sometimes get a similar issue, but i'm running Win7 SP1 , my findings are that the Gigabyte OC guru Ii GPU utiliy appears to cause the shutdown/restart operation to hang mid way, signal to monitor stopped, hdd activity led shows only a regular short blink all mobo and GPU led's remain illuminated ,fans spinning

    I also have all that hibernation guff disabled

    And occasionally it will hang during boot. usually after the bios screen but before windows loads
    Last edited by Dave500; 04-19-2016 at 04:40 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    m33ts4k0z PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti SuperClocked+
    Sound CardAsus ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo 7.1
    MonitorBenQ 32" BL3201PT 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 950 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932
    Power SupplyFractal Design Newton R3 1000W Platinum
    Keyboard QPad MK-85
    Mouse Anker 8500DPI Laser Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave500 View Post
    I sometimes get a similar issue, but i'm running Win7 SP1 , my findings are that the Gigabyte OC guru Ii GPU utiliy appears to cause the shutdown/restart operation to hang mid way, signal to monitor stopped, hdd activity led shows only a regular short blink all mobo and GPU led's remain illuminated ,fans spinning

    I also have all that hibernation guff disabled

    And occasionally it will hang during boot. usually after the bios screen but before windows loads
    I have no boot up issues. Still after following the procedure above I have great success with my shutdowns. Having installed Asus AI Suite 3 and the latest IME driver.

    The only thing that caused a shutdown hang recently was enabling the ERP settings in BIOS. After I turned them off again it worked.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array d4nYz3r0 PC Specs
    d4nYz3r0 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)HX428C14SBK2/16
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorEizo Foris FG2421
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU Coolerbequiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450
    Power Supplybequiet! Straight Power E9 CM
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Sharkoon Drakonia Black
    Headset QPAD QH-90
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi m33ts4k0z,

    Are you referring to my post?

    Are you able to change any settings like OC etc? I figured out, if I change some settings (I'm not 100% sure which are ok and which not) I need to re-flash the BIOS while others work perfectly fine
    For example ErP and overclocking with undervolting are two settings where the shutdown problem happens again.

    ASUS support is not really helpfull, they just say I should check several things that I already checked the first time they asked me to and I should send an RMA. But I think it's no hardware problem since the board works perfectly fine with default settings
    And waiting 3+ weeks just for nothing is not really helpfull

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •