Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 78
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Fdrph PC Specs
    Fdrph PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    Processor4790k
    Memory (part number)G Skill Ripjaws 16gb F3-12800CL10D-16GBXL
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming
    Sound CardSoundblaster Z
    Storage #1Samsung 120gb SSD
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH14-s
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Maximus VII Hero random loss of power / power off

    Hello there,

    It started like a week ago, it does this once a day or twice and it doesn't matter what I'm doing, gaming, browsing etc, so it's not temperature or load related.

    The power off isn't a windows crash, or a BSOD and it has no warning, it's a clean complete loss of power JUST AS if the power for the house went out or I unplugged from the wall.
    it's sharp and sudden, and completely random.

    Naturally I have tried a bunch of things already: (PC specs on the left under my name)

    - Take one RAM out, take the other, switch ram slot positions etc
    - wiggle around the PSU cables to see if one was loose, reattach all of them.
    - take out GPU.
    - take out hard drives.
    - load optimized defaults in BIOS, turn off surge protection (could be surge protection triggering but nope, still happens with it off)

    I dunno what to do now... it really is mysterious, hope it's the PSU which is easier to replace, don't wanna misdiagnose and replace something more expensive like the mobo or the CPU...
    even though the mobo is under warranty (purchased july 2014 ) , I'll check if the PSU is under warranty since it's corsair could be.

    Also, I will flash the latest 3103 BIOS that came out some days ago see if it fixes it but I'm not hopeful. I'm on 3003 right now.

    cheers

    UPDATE: flashed 3103 no shutdowns till now but could happen later today or tomorrow so not definitive. I don't have a PSU to try out sadly, but I'll see what I can do.

    UPDATE 2: Well no loss of power until now (april 28th) so could be that the BIOS update fixed it
    Last edited by Fdrph; 04-28-2016 at 03:26 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FZero PC Specs
    FZero PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X (Wi-Fi AC)
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 2x8 Gb 4000 Mhz DDR 4
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenQ GL2450H
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 Gb
    Storage #2WD Blue 4Tb/2TB
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240/4x Arctic F12 PWM
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyXFX TS 550W
    Keyboard Genius KB-G235
    Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master Swift-RX XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterSpeedport W724v
    Accessory #1 LC-CF-RGB-COMBO
    Accessory #2 Logitech G29 Driving Force Logitech Driving Force Shifter
    Accessory #3 Sony Bravia KD-55XE8096 4K
    FZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    If you have another PSU try and see what happens. Logically if there are random shut down's i would first be checking the PSU.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array jediknight16 PC Specs
    jediknight16 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Strix
    MonitorPB328Q
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair 850i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Asus Orion Pro
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi; I'm having the very same problem on my computer, with a Corsair 850i I bought last year.
    Updating bios to latest version didn't change anything.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array DeathAce PC Specs
    DeathAce PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-4790k
    Memory (part number)HyperX Fury 16gb 1600MHz DDR3
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 970 Gaming 4GB
    Storage #1Intel 730 Series SSD 240GB SATA3
    Storage #2Seagate Desktop HDD 1TB ST1000DM003
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120V v2 120mm
    CaseNZXT H440W Silent Ultra - Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W
    Keyboard Steelseries M800
    Mouse Steelseries Diablo 3 mouse
    Headset Creative Soundblaser X H7
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QcK+
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Same problem here

    I have the exact same problem. And a friend of mine too with identical specs as me. Happened for the last 6 months or so.

    My Specs are:
    MB: Maximus Hero VII Bios:3103
    Processor: Intel Core i7-4790k 4ghz
    Memory: 16gb ddr3
    Display Device: Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 msi
    Power supply: EVGA Supernova 750 g2

    Would be great if someone could find some kind of solution. It's really annoying.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array jediknight16 PC Specs
    jediknight16 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Strix
    MonitorPB328Q
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair 850i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Asus Orion Pro
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I've changed PSU to see what need to be fixed, but the computer turned off again. I think I'm gonna contact support and ask for RMA.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Similar issue noticed

    Quote Originally Posted by jediknight16 View Post
    I've changed PSU to see what need to be fixed, but the computer turned off again. I think I'm gonna contact support and ask for RMA.
    Seems it usually happens when watching video files or watching a streaming video in an online browser.
    Also Maximus Hero VII Bios:3103 didn't work out very well for me.
    I had to go back to 3003 because it kept freezing up the system too often and was causing noticeable lag in many applications.
    Personally I haven't experienced any random loss of power anymore with Bios 3003 and a clean install of Windows 10.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array jediknight16 PC Specs
    jediknight16 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Strix
    MonitorPB328Q
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair 850i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Asus Orion Pro
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    267

    Then you're very lucky. I had them with previous BIOS too, so I think it wouldn't change a thing for me to rollback.
    I just don't know what to do to fix.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Same issue

    I am having the exact same issue with the same motherboard: random reboots for no apparent reason.

    I have checked everything: the temps, RAM, my HDD + SSD, and even my PSU. But the problem seems to be caused by a driver for the motherboard as mentioned here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...le-ACPI-Errors

    I am yet to find a fix and would appreciate if Asus helps us out here!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array jediknight16 PC Specs
    jediknight16 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Strix
    MonitorPB328Q
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair 850i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Asus Orion Pro
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I changed motherboard, issue fixed. Will ask for RMA in next days to send them their bad hardware.
    Become a Star Citizen @RobertsSpaceInd and get 5,000 free Credits https://robertsspaceindustries.com/e...STAR-F2YL-RSJJ

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Puffnstuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    451

    The last time I had an issue like that it was caused by a loose wire in a power harness that was triggering the overload protection circuit on my ps. I pulled my hair out trying to figure it out until I checked each power plug and discovered the issue. Once I corrected the wires the issue never reoccurred and I would advise you to begin a systematic check of all power supply plugs to see if one is grounding your system out.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •