Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array jamesoncue PC Specs
    jamesoncue PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 #6700K @ 4.0/4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32GB Kit, DDR4/3GHz (CMK32GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1PNY/Nvidia GeForce GTX760 @ 1.11GHz Core; 2GB GDDR5 @ 6208MHz, PCIe 3.0 x16
    Sound CardAsus ROG SupremeFX 2015 Premium Integrated Digital Audio
    MonitorAsus 28" LCD
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 950PRO M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB; 7.2K, 64MB Cache, SATA-III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i Closed-Loop; 280mm Radiator & dual 14cm fans
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower EATX Chassis
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000w PSU; HX1000i, Fully modular, 80PLUS-Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Mechanical Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Laser Mouse
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM300 Extended Edition Mouse Mat; 30"x12"
    Headset/Speakers Boston Acoustics 2.1 Speakers; BA635
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Problems with DDR4/3000 XMP Overclock

    Hello,

    I'm experience crashing/rebooting/occasional BSODs when I run my memory in it's XMP profile with no other overclocks.
    With XMP enabled, the system can run MemTest for 24 hours with no errors, but crashes often in Windows, sometimes immediately after boot or with relatively no load.
    Revert the RAM back to stock speed and it works flawlessly for weeks on end.

    Corsair 32GB kit (2x 16GB) DDR4/3000MHz 15-17-17-35 1.35v (see attachments for additional timings)

    Motherboard is running is pretty much default aside from a few modified boot & CSM options that are necessary for NVMe boot.
    One thing I have noticed is that even as the XMP calls for DRAM voltage to be 1.35v, it is consistently at 1.344v.

    I have a strong suspicion that I just need to flip a few settings but not sure where to start. Any feedback is appreciated!

    Other system specs:
    -Intel Core i7 #6700K @ stock 4.0GHz/4.2GHz (Turbo)
    -Corsair H115i Closed-loop CPU Cooler
    -Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 Motherboard, latest BIOS (v1504, same issue with v1402)
    -Samsung 950PRO M.2 NVMe, 512GB
    -WD 6TB Black, SATA-III
    -Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, 2GB GDDR5, PCI-E 3.0 x16
    -Windows 10 Pro. x64
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos mem_settings2.jpg  

    mem_settings.jpg  

    Last edited by jamesoncue; 04-02-2016 at 09:16 PM. Reason: resized attached photos

  2. #2

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array jamesoncue PC Specs
    jamesoncue PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 #6700K @ 4.0/4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32GB Kit, DDR4/3GHz (CMK32GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1PNY/Nvidia GeForce GTX760 @ 1.11GHz Core; 2GB GDDR5 @ 6208MHz, PCIe 3.0 x16
    Sound CardAsus ROG SupremeFX 2015 Premium Integrated Digital Audio
    MonitorAsus 28" LCD
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 950PRO M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB; 7.2K, 64MB Cache, SATA-III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i Closed-Loop; 280mm Radiator & dual 14cm fans
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower EATX Chassis
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000w PSU; HX1000i, Fully modular, 80PLUS-Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Mechanical Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Laser Mouse
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM300 Extended Edition Mouse Mat; 30"x12"
    Headset/Speakers Boston Acoustics 2.1 Speakers; BA635
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi Chino,

    I used Memtest86 Pro v6.3, ran off a USB stick from UEFI boot. Four cycles of every test, about 20 hours.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Try upping the DRAM voltage to 1.37v and would suggest that you update to bios 1601.
    Do not use the XMP profile, use all manual bios settings for now.

    Have you played with the VCCIO and SA Agent voltages?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Eric_F PC Specs
    Eric_F PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorCore I7 6700K - 4.9GHz OC
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3000C15D-16GVR 16GB (8x2) DDR4-3000
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 1721/1860MHz
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek/ROG SupremeFX
    MonitorDell UltraSharp 1908WFP 19" Widescreen 1440x900 60/75Hz
    Storage #11TB Western Digital Black WD1003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s SATA
    Storage #22TB Western Digital Black WD2003FZEX 7500RPM 64MB Cache 6 Gb/s
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i v2
    CaseAntec Nine Hundred (w/ USB 3)
    Power SupplyAntec Edge 650 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Mouse Pad Tandy gray mousepad from the '90s!
    Headset/Speakers AKG K240M studio headphones & Adcom GTP-450 preamp on line-outs
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Eric_F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    56

    +1 on carefully tweaking up the VCCIO and SA voltages. That seems to be mandatory for high speeds on DDR4. 1.25 for VCCIO and SA were what stabilized my system -- Maximus VIII Hero, I7 6700K 4.7GHz, G.Skill DDR4-3000 16GB dual-channel.

    Try setting the "Maximus Tweak" option to "Mode 1". This relaxes the set timings slightly. At 3000MHz, even slight timing variances can have a huge effect and this seems to allow for some tolerance.

    BIOS 1601 also seems to help. Can't put my finger on it, but overall stability and performance is just better.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array jamesoncue PC Specs
    jamesoncue PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170 Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 #6700K @ 4.0/4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32GB Kit, DDR4/3GHz (CMK32GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1PNY/Nvidia GeForce GTX760 @ 1.11GHz Core; 2GB GDDR5 @ 6208MHz, PCIe 3.0 x16
    Sound CardAsus ROG SupremeFX 2015 Premium Integrated Digital Audio
    MonitorAsus 28" LCD
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 950PRO M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black 6TB; 7.2K, 64MB Cache, SATA-III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i Closed-Loop; 280mm Radiator & dual 14cm fans
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower EATX Chassis
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000w PSU; HX1000i, Fully modular, 80PLUS-Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Mechanical Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB Laser Mouse
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM300 Extended Edition Mouse Mat; 30"x12"
    Headset/Speakers Boston Acoustics 2.1 Speakers; BA635
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Arrow

    Hello all,

    First off, thank you for all your help so far on this.

    An update. Updated my BIOS to 1601, no change. Then I boosted the VCCSA and VCCIO voltages from around 1.15v to 1.20v, with my DRAM running at 1.344v (supposed to be 1.35v, forcing to 1.355v still makes it run at 1.344v) and enabled Maximus Tweak Mode 1. With these changes, I continued to experience issues with the system locking up.

    I RMA'd the RAM... got a new kit of the same stuff. Same results. At Eric's recommendation, I boosted the VCCSA and VCCIO yet again up to 1.25v. Running some tests tonight so I'll report back on the status of it. If you have anything to add, I'd love to hear it. Thanks so much!

    James

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •