Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Vinny1001 PC Specs
    Vinny1001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel Skylake 6700k 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 8GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1080 Ti
    MonitorBenQ XL2411
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro, 840 Pro, M.2 840 Evo
    Storage #22x 1TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 Modular
    Mouse Swiftpoint The Z
    Headset Logitech G240
    Mouse Pad Swiftpoint The Z Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers 5.1 Logitech Surround Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro, version 1703
    Network RouterAsus RT N66U

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    166

    Q Code 00 reproduced every time on manual restart

    Hi. brief summary that I've swapped ALL hardware multiple times all resulting with the same errors pointing to the Mobo
    I tested the same hardware on a Z170 Gigabyte and an MSI board and NEVER had any Q codes, or errors on boots/restarts/bios updates. My hardware is not faulty.
    I've tested with my previous builds PSU 100% confirmed working (Never had any issues).
    I've made sure NO pins are bent, all is installed correctly, and all cables are fully connected. I have a video showing the pins and is confirmed with an Asus rep that the pins are fine. My board was also tested by an Asus rep stating there are no issues at all with it.
    I am running ALL BIOS settings at stock.
    I am running this RAM http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231878 in the suggested slots. I have tried ONE at a time, and in each slot. Nothing changes. Ram is functional, and functions on other brand boards too.

    I tried Nate152's suggestion on manual settings for ram from another thread on Q Code 00, but it didn't change anything.

    I get Q Code 00 everytime I do a manual reset, OR Bios update when it restarts.

    If I press "Restart" on windows, it will restart fine everytime.

    If I shut down the PC, and press the power button within 10 seconds of it shutting down, it will boot for a split second, restart itself and will have Q code 00 present.

    100% confirmed everytime that I do a manual reset. If I cut off all power, or wait longer than 10-15 seconds, then it will boot up just fine and the system is stable.

    I also tried turning off anti surge support and fast boot, but that made it have Q code 00 instantly without the auto restart it does in the previous situation once I power the system back on within 10 seconds. Straight to Q code 00.

    So what's the deal? I've been through 3 CPU's, few sets of RAM, couple PSU's, about 8-9 ROG boards, and all hardware works on other brands without these issues.

    PC is literally 100% normal once it's on (other than the still existing audio issue that still hasn't been resolved with realtek drivers)

    I've reinstalled BIOS, and have tried all the BIOS's. I've had the Q code 00 and audio issues back since I first purchased the Gene, near october. Since then I"ve been swapping components and testing every possibility.

    Thanks for any insight on this Q code 00 issue. Yes I've seen plenty of threads and I've tried what was suggested but none of that has worked.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    As you know, Qcode 00 can be one of many things but usually related to CPU, MB or Dimms and you have tested and tried just about everything I can think of. except!! Benchtest?.

    During your trouble shoot, have you had the system in minimalist state. That is bench test outside your case and reviewed your Qcodes as you add components to seek a culprit.
    I had the dreaded Qcode 00 error once,and although the system ran fine during bench testing, It reported 00 at start up. (once assembled)
    I checked my MB standoffs and resolved the issue by putting fiber washers between MB and standoffs.

    Sorry I couldn't be of better help and grasping at straws, but you have covered everything else.
    God Luck for a solution.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Vinny1001 PC Specs
    Vinny1001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel Skylake 6700k 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 8GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1080 Ti
    MonitorBenQ XL2411
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro, 840 Pro, M.2 840 Evo
    Storage #22x 1TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 Modular
    Mouse Swiftpoint The Z
    Headset Logitech G240
    Mouse Pad Swiftpoint The Z Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers 5.1 Logitech Surround Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro, version 1703
    Network RouterAsus RT N66U

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    166

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    As you know, Qcode 00 can be one of many things but usually related to CPU, MB or Dimms and you have tested and tried just about everything I can think of. except!! Benchtest?.

    During your trouble shoot, have you had the system in minimalist state. That is bench test outside your case and reviewed your Qcodes as you add components to seek a culprit.
    I had the dreaded Qcode 00 error once,and although the system ran fine during bench testing, It reported 00 at start up. (once assembled)
    I checked my MB standoffs and resolved the issue by putting fiber washers between MB and standoffs.

    Sorry I couldn't be of better help and grasping at straws, but you have covered everything else.
    God Luck for a solution.
    Yeah, that's why I replaced the CPU 3 times, the RAM, and the mobo's, all resulting the same. And that's why I tested the CPU's/RAM on another band Z170 board and works flawlessly. This confirms the CPU/RAM aren't faulty unless it's stability from BIOS settings.

    I have bench tested on cardboard. I have also tested on an open bench "case" too. I have loosened up any screws and have loosened heatsink screws.

    Thing is, if something was causing it, i'd get it EVERY TIME, or randomly. The difference is I can reproduce it on manual reboot, and booting back up within the 10 second mark.

    As long as I wait past 10 seconds or 15 seconds to be safe, it boots perfectly fine. I'd think if something was that wrong, it'd give Q code 00 even after the 15 second mark, but it doesn't.

    Plus hardware was tested on TWO other branded Z170 boards, and never had this Q code 00 or boot issues. The rog asus board has been replaced literally about 8 times. I'm not kidding when I say that. I went through a gene, 4 rog maximus boards, and then 3 maximus hero boards..

    Thanks for the suggestion. Sorry if I leave out anything I've troubleshooted. I have done basically everything except changing any BIOS settings (other than Nate152's suggestion for RAM in another thread), as stock should run fine considering it does on two other branded z170 boards.

    It's a manual reboot (shutdown, then turning on within 10-15 seconds) that puts forth Q code 00.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Maori80 PC Specs
    Maori80 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M4A2666C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX1080 OC
    Sound CardOnboard Sound
    MonitorAsus VN248H-P x 3
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseNZXT Phantom 530
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma 2016
    Headset Logitech Artemis G633
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X4

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    is this all with the corsair powersupply?


    The ASUS Anti-Surge Protection software is known to throw false positives. It would be best to disable anti-surge protection in BIOS as well as any software you may have installed related to ASUS (such as AI suite), or other software related to anti-surge protection.

    Also, please check the voltage rails for your PSU by going to your BIOS and ensuring +3.3V, +5V, and +12V are within 5% of the values listed. << this is from the corsair support site, seem like anti surge support for asus board are causing it

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Vinny1001 PC Specs
    Vinny1001 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel Skylake 6700k 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x 8GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1080 Ti
    MonitorBenQ XL2411
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro, 840 Pro, M.2 840 Evo
    Storage #22x 1TB WD Black
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseCorsair Carbide 300R
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 Modular
    Mouse Swiftpoint The Z
    Headset Logitech G240
    Mouse Pad Swiftpoint The Z Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers 5.1 Logitech Surround Z506
    OS Windows 10 Pro, version 1703
    Network RouterAsus RT N66U

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    166

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Maori80 View Post
    is this all with the corsair powersupply?


    The ASUS Anti-Surge Protection software is known to throw false positives. It would be best to disable anti-surge protection in BIOS as well as any software you may have installed related to ASUS (such as AI suite), or other software related to anti-surge protection.

    Also, please check the voltage rails for your PSU by going to your BIOS and ensuring +3.3V, +5V, and +12V are within 5% of the values listed. << this is from the corsair support site, seem like anti surge support for asus board are causing it
    Great info! It helps a little further on the situation.

    I stated in my original post:
    "I also tried turning off anti surge support and fast boot, but that made it have Q code 00 instantly without the auto restart it does in the previous situation once I power the system back on within 10 seconds. Straight to Q code 00."

    So yeah, i tried that. My voltages are normal for the PSU's, AND I even purchased a PSU tester to test it beforehand, and the PSU tester confirmed the correct voltages.

    With anti-surge enabled:
    Shutdown -> within 10 seconds powering back on -> PC turns on for a second, restarts itself, and then has Q code 00

    With anti-surge disabled:
    Shutdown -> within 10 seconds powering back on -> PC boots straight into Q code 00.

    And after restarting from Q code 00, waiting 15+ seconds, PC boots without Q code 00, but does mention how it used the anti-surge and it was detected, then I press F1 to go to BIOS and boot to windows and it boots fine.

    It is the Corsair RM 850 modular. my previous is the corsair 750.

    During troubleshooting, I also tried an EVGA 850 modular, and had the same results.

    I do not have AI Suite installed as that caused millions of additional issues. I literally have the bare minimum on the PC in terms of hardware/software.

    All seems to lead to the antisurge, as the MSI Titanium Edition and the Gigabyte Gaming 7 doesn't seem to have that, or it does but it works better.

    Hope someone can provide more info.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinny1001 View Post
    Great info! It helps a little further on the situation.

    I stated in my original post:
    "I also tried turning off anti surge support and fast boot, but that made it have Q code 00 instantly without the auto restart it does in the previous situation once I power the system back on within 10 seconds. Straight to Q code 00."

    So yeah, i tried that. My voltages are normal for the PSU's, AND I even purchased a PSU tester to test it beforehand, and the PSU tester confirmed the correct voltages.

    With anti-surge enabled:
    Shutdown -> within 10 seconds powering back on -> PC turns on for a second, restarts itself, and then has Q code 00

    With anti-surge disabled:
    Shutdown -> within 10 seconds powering back on -> PC boots straight into Q code 00.

    And after restarting from Q code 00, waiting 15+ seconds, PC boots without Q code 00, but does mention how it used the anti-surge and it was detected, then I press F1 to go to BIOS and boot to windows and it boots fine.

    It is the Corsair RM 850 modular. my previous is the corsair 750.

    During troubleshooting, I also tried an EVGA 850 modular, and had the same results.

    I do not have AI Suite installed as that caused millions of additional issues. I literally have the bare minimum on the PC in terms of hardware/software.

    All seems to lead to the antisurge, as the MSI Titanium Edition and the Gigabyte Gaming 7 doesn't seem to have that, or it does but it works better.

    Hope someone can provide more info.

    Thanks

    What version of bios are you running?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •