Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Vrms running hot under water.

    I'm running the EK vrm block with a 5960x, and my temps on stock are idling at 40, and under load hit 47. (This is a new board, so I don't know what the temps were like on air) I'm going to assume the temps are from a bad mount on the waterblock. The only thing is I found a post for an older board that states the issue could be the backplate. What temps are everyone else getting under water?

    I'm going to go ahead and attempt remounting the vrm heatsink, but I don't really want to have to drain the entire loop to do it. Should it be fine if I just fully unscrew the block and apply pressure?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    What is your ambient temperature? And are you using the Monoblock for the R5E?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Separate blocks for everything. Let me grab a thermometer. I'd have to guess the room is between 60 to 70 F.
    Last edited by Zarathustraa; 04-30-2016 at 01:45 AM.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Oh sorry, Fahrenheit.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array kaese PC Specs
    kaese PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Rampage V Extreme
    Processor5820K

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    65

    Can you provide more information on your water circuit? If you cool first the GPU and then the VRM, you are "cooling" the VRM with hotter water....
    I have the VRM under water (and the VRMs are the first to be cooled thus water temperature in my case ~30°C) and hardly reach 35°C under stress.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    The order is PCH, CPU, fan controller, VRM. Then through 2 waterblocks. (Adding GPUs in once 1080ti comes out) Water temps don't go above 35 C under stress. if it hits 35 fans kick up keeping water at a constant 30 C. I only have a water sensor prior to passing through components, but from what I've read there shouldn't be a significant variance in temperature between one side and the other of the loop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •