Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 81

Thread: New BIOS 1701

  1. #21
    ROG Member Array TheAmazingDave PC Specs
    TheAmazingDave PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3400C16-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 970 SSC
    Sound CardSupreme Audio FX 2015
    Monitorvaries
    Storage #1Kingston Hyper-X Predator x4 M.2 240GB
    Storage #22 x WD Black SATA3 2 TB @ RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseThermaltake Core X71
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset varies
    Mouse Pad varies
    Headset/Speakers varies
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68P
    Accessory #1 Gigabyte PCIe 802.11ac/BT4.2 adapter
    Accessory #2 ACP Smart-UPS 1000
    TheAmazingDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Anyone using on-board Intel RAID...

    This update wiped out my RAID. 4TB. Poof.


    It was easy enough to get it back, but gut-wrenching just the same.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by bayfront_benny View Post
    I had this problem with powering up and resolved it as follows thanks to another posters recommendations

    1- Disable CPU SVID Support (Extreme tweaker menu)
    2. Turn Anti Surge Support off (Monitor menu)
    Thanks for that - I haven't toggled either of those settings and will certainly give it a try. It happens so rarely it may take time but I will definitely send you a PM thanks if it works.


    Quote Originally Posted by MyDNA View Post
    1701 update was also for the MAXIMUS VIII Ranger, which is what I have.
    Ok, missed that one. So it hit every Maximus VIII board but my VIII Hero Alpha. /sigh

  3. #23
    ROG Member Array MyDNA PC Specs
    MyDNA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP PAvilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i7 7600K
    Memory (part number)CMK8GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX1060 6GB
    MonitorAOC 2436
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB
    Storage #2WD Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseANTEC Server Tower 1080 modded
    Power SupplyANTEC EDGE 80+ Gold Full Modular 550W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset/Speakers Editier M1370BT
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear GD3100D 2 Cable + TP-Link W8970 ADSL2+

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    so far this update has fixed an intermittent problem I was experiencing with my Maximus VIII Ranger, where it wouldn't shutdown fully. The
    power indicator LED stayed on, and the fans kept spinning with no HDD activity. In this state the reset buttons on the MB and the reset button
    on the case wouldn't recycle the power as they should. The only way to complete the shutdown was to press the power switch for the usual 4
    seconds as you do in Windows for a hard shutdown.

    However, I have experienced a new glitch within the past 2 hours. The system shut down out the blue, twice. The first time was after not using
    the PC for about 45 minutes. The monitor turned off after 10 minutes of no activity [as it should], but the system is set to stay on and never to
    go into sleep or hibernate mode.

    Then while I was writing a post here, half way through it shutdown again.

    I've noticed that overclocking this system using the 5 way optimization program in Windows, the CPU has been running hotter than it used to
    [using the same settings as with the previous BIOS versions]. So it could have been shutdown because of the system overheating? I've just
    done a BIOS reset to the default settings to see how it goes from there. So far the CPU has been running much cooler, like 45C compare to
    over 60C on idle with the overclocked BCLK set to 102.5 MHz.
    Last edited by MyDNA; 05-09-2016 at 03:24 PM.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array e n v o y PC Specs
    e n v o y PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VIII
    ProcessorIntel 6700K @ 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)2x8Gb Corsair LPX Vengence Red 3000
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1070 GTX
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster Z
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 951 128Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    CPU CoolerBequiet Dark Rock 3
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Corsair RGB Strafe
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    The only difference i've noticed updating to this bios is that after qfan tuning, the minimum duty cycle for CPU Cooler and Chassis fans are now 5% and 3% lower respectively.

    This is a real bonus as i can get the PC to run quieter.

    I did try fan expert for a while but uninstalled after a very short period as it caused a few lock ups on shut down.

    IMHO Ai Suite is just too buggy.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array pam007 PC Specs
    pam007 PC Specs
    Motherboardsystem #1 ASUS Rampage V E10 X99 , system #2 Maximus X Hero Z370
    Processor#1 i7-6950X , #2 i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)#1 G. Skill Ripjaw DDR4-3200 16GB , #2 G. Skill Ripjaws DDR4-2666 16GB
    Graphics Card #1#1 and #2 EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
    Monitor#1 Acer 34" X34P Preditor , #2 50" 7100 Samsung TV
    Storage #1#1 and #2 Samsung 970 EVO 1TB
    CPU Cooler#1 and #2 EK Supremacy EVO waterblock
    Case#1 Thermaltake Core X9 , #2 Corsair Air 540 Cube Case
    Power Supply#1 EVGA G2 850 , #2 Corsair HXi-850 850 watts
    OS #1 and #2 Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by MyDNA View Post
    so far this update has fixed an intermittent problem I was experiencing with my Maximus VIII Ranger, where it wouldn't shutdown fully. The
    power indicator LED stayed on, and the fans kept spinning with no HDD activity. In this state the reset buttons on the MB and the reset button
    on the case wouldn't recycle the power as they should. The only way to complete the shutdown was to press the power switch for the usual 4
    seconds as you do in Windows for a hard shutdown.

    However, I have experienced a new glitch within the past 2 hours. The system shut down out the blue, twice. The first time was after not using
    the PC for about 45 minutes. The monitor turned off after 10 minutes of no activity [as it should], but the system is set to stay on and never to
    go into sleep or hibernate mode.

    Then while I was writing a post here, half way through it shutdown again.

    I've noticed that overclocking this system using the 5 way optimization program in Windows, the CPU has been running hotter than it used to
    [using the same settings as with the previous BIOS versions]. So it could have been shutdown because of the system overheating? I've just
    done a BIOS reset to the default settings to see how it goes from there. So far the CPU has been running much cooler, like 45C compare to
    over 60C on idle with the overclocked BCLK set to 102.5 MHz.
    Unless your room is 120F, 60C CPU package temp at idle is way too hot. Still, typing in a web browser shouldn't be stressful enough to cause a shutdown.

    Maybe you have something running in the background that's stressful? Check task manager.

    Either way, you got to get that CPU temp down. Even 45C idle at default speed isn't going to allow much of any headroom for overclocking IMO.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by pam007 View Post
    Unless your room is 120F, 60C CPU package temp at idle is way too hot. Still, typing in a web browser shouldn't be stressful enough to cause a shutdown.

    Maybe you have something running in the background that's stressful? Check task manager.

    Either way, you got to get that CPU temp down. Even 45C idle at default speed isn't going to allow much of any headroom for overclocking IMO.
    5 way optimization as a rule overvolts just like BIOS auto settings, read a few guides, check the forum for overclocking threads and do it in BIOS. Also check if you don't have a bad cooler mount and/or bad TIM. With my setup (4.8ghz 1.37v) and fans on standard (~50%) im at ~25c idle.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    Ok, missed that one. So it hit every Maximus VIII board but my VIII Hero Alpha. /sigh
    If any Maximus VIII Hero Alpha owner is looking for this BIOS, it should be up in a couple days. Yesterday I spoke with a couple useless ASUS reps before getting one that confirmed it should have been posted and they will notify the appropriate contact to have it added. One rep even said he "has no listing for that motherboard are you sure you are using a current ASUS ROG product". /doublesigh

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    One rep even said he "has no listing for that motherboard are you sure you are using a current ASUS ROG product". /doublesigh
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AC9omb6.png 
Views:	143 
Size:	87.9 KB 
ID:	57315
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  9. #29
    ROG Member Array bayfront_benny PC Specs
    bayfront_benny PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorI7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 2666 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GV-R939G1 GAMING-8GD G1
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorBenQ 32" 4K Monitor 3840x2160
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512MB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 2 TB (MZ-7KE2T0BW) (2 x D:& E:)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H55 Quiet
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Black 300R Windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 850i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    If any Maximus VIII Hero Alpha owner is looking for this BIOS, it should be up in a couple days. Yesterday I spoke with a couple useless ASUS reps before getting one that confirmed it should have been posted and they will notify the appropriate contact to have it added. One rep even said he "has no listing for that motherboard are you sure you are using a current ASUS ROG product". /doublesigh
    Wow! Well what can you say?
    Their service has never been great. This is a new low though. I bet they save some money by skimping on Service related personnel.

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by bugme-not View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by haluk448 View Post
    Fans are stop working!! maximus viii ranger but cpu is ok
    Same problem over here with fans not spinning after updating from 1504 to 1601.

    CHA_FAN1 - NF-A14 iPPC-2000 IP67 PWM - works correctly in [PWM Mode].
    CHA_FAN2 - NF-A14 iPPC-2000 IP67 PWM - only starts spinning when powering on in [DC Mode], switching to [PWM Mode] later works correctly.
    CHA_FAN3 - NF-A14 iPPC-2000 IP67 PWM - works correctly in [PWM Mode].
    CHA_FAN4 - NF-A14 iPPC-2000 IP67 PWM - only starts spinning when powering on in [DC Mode], switching to [PWM Mode] later works correctly.
    Updated to 1701, system reboots and all fans start to spin.
    Switched all fans back to [PWM Mode] in UEFI and fan speed goes down.
    Turned off system and back on, fan connected to either CHA_FAN2 or CHA_FAN4 doesn't start.
    Why would a fan that works in [PWM Mode] only start in [DC Mode]?

    PS An option to put the chassis fans in [Auto] mode like the CPU would be useful, or would that require extra hardware?

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •