Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Strange crashing in Games/problem with monitoring software too!

    Ive been experiencing this strange crash recently. Trying to track down the culprit. I havent been playing many games, but thus far Ive experienced the same type of crash while playing Diablo 3 and Fallout 4. Suddenly my screen will go blank, followed by loss of signal. The only way to get it working again is to unplug my HDMI from the video card and plug it back in. Then the signal gets restored. If its Diablo, I get a problem with"D3D" error and it asks me to retry. Sometimes I can get the game working again after that.
    With Fallout 4, the game simply crashes to desktop. That's where the next problem comes in. After this type of crash , I cannot open Nvidia Control panel, and any monitoring software I was using at the time, say MSI Afterburner or EVGA Precision tool all show Temp.,Gpu and Cpu at 0. Seems to happen in any monitoring software that was running before the crash. Only resetting the PC seems to resolve that issue.

    Any ideas? I really hope this isnt a problem with my video card. Its fairly new ...
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi SinisterDev85

    Well you know, even brand new hardware can fail, but fear not, EVGA are very good with Warranty.

    Signal loss over HDMI can be due to the connection terminals themselves or the distance your cables run. Inspect the terminal connections and try another cable of good quality.
    Do a DirectX diagnosis and update the DX files.
    Which Nvidia driver version are you running? Try an update to latest driver for your card.
    Ensure all critical updates and the .NET framework is installed.

    If it works after a reboot as you describe, then I would say it is a software problem. Maybe corrupted files within Windows, so do an "SFC /scannow" without the quotation marks, to eliminate that problem.

    Please report back.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 05-09-2016 at 12:37 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    8

    Sounds like it could be hardware or drivers/software. I'd start with reinstalling all your drivers and software first, then if it doesn't work try to get a replacement if the GPU is under warranty.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi SinisterDev85

    The issue you describe could also be due to an unstable overclock, you could try resetting everything to defaults and see if your games still crash.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Thanks guys! I'll look into it later tonight when I get a chance and see what happens.
    I did recently get new HDMI cables. Nothing special, just Amazon basics high speed hdmi. I only had a very mild overclock going on the 970, but I'll try running at default.
    My drivers are the most recent, and Windows is up to date. I'll do the DX and SFC scans and see what turns up!

    Evga has been great to me over the years with warranties and such!
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array TheAmazingDave PC Specs
    TheAmazingDave PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3400C16-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 970 SSC
    Sound CardSupreme Audio FX 2015
    Monitorvaries
    Storage #1Kingston Hyper-X Predator x4 M.2 240GB
    Storage #22 x WD Black SATA3 2 TB @ RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseThermaltake Core X71
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset varies
    Mouse Pad varies
    Headset/Speakers varies
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68P
    Accessory #1 Gigabyte PCIe 802.11ac/BT4.2 adapter
    Accessory #2 ACP Smart-UPS 1000
    TheAmazingDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Sounds like what happens when I push my 970 too hard. Same symptoms with monitoring tools, too.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    That's so odd. I was working on a nice overclock for a while , increasing the ram and gpu in small increments. I had the ram oc'd 215mhz and the Gpu oc'd 100mhz for a few weeks and had no graphics card related issues. I just noticed that while these crashes were happening recently the settings were actually dialed back to another profile I had saved where the Gpu was oc 95mhz and the Ram 100mhz. From what I had read online many people were successful in achieving stable overclocks significantly higher than I dared to go! I also make it a habit to always have the display overlay up on the screen . This 970 FTW hasn't even come close to running hot either! It handles diablo 3@ 4k resolution easily and temps stay in the 50's. However I usually play it at 1440p anyway.
    Fallout doesnt make it run hot either. Temps never have gone over 60c. I guess I'll try setting the card to default and seeing what happens.
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Elusive Ronin Array SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    SinisterDev85 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Vi Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident X 16GB F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1MSI 970 GTX 4GD5T OC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung JU6500 UHD TV
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo SSD x2
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 360mm
    CaseThermaltake Core V51
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Evga Torq 10 carbon
    Mouse Pad Steel Series
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterAsus Rt-AC3100
    SinisterDev85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    301

    Ok, DirectX diagnostics showed no issues. SFC ran and gave me a msg saying that Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files and made repairs, but was unable to fix some. I checked out the log file. Lots of information to look over. At the very end of the file it said "All files and registry keys listed in this transaction have been successfully repaired". So Im not sure whats up exactly. Want me to share the log file?
    ASUS ROG Maximus 8 Hero Alpha | Intel i5 6600k @4.7ghz | G. Skill Trident Z 16gb @ 3499mhz | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512gb | ASUS Strix GTX 1070 OC | EVGA Supernova G2 1300w | Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    OK keep the log files for now. Although the system has repaired your registry, you may still need to have the log file analyzed if issue persists. Best place to do this is Windows 7 forum.
    Have you upgraded your Graphics driver yet? results.
    Sometimes you need to uninstall applications and reinstall if your registry has been corrupted. Including Nvidia Control software.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    I get the same thing with sfc /scannow, it found corrupted files but could not repair them. I contacted Microsoft and they said because I did the windows 7 upgrade it has something to do with the leftover windows 7 files and not to worry.

    My pc runs fine otherwise.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •