Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    4

    Computer will not boot correctly, error 32

    Hello everyone, I come here asking for help because I've run out of ideas.

    Current situation: computer turns on, fans turn on, lights turn on, motherboard visibly on, pump is working, everything is running. Usbs do not work, no monitor feed, and motherboard says error code 32. Error32 is cpu post-memory initialization. That's it, nothing else. Won't actually "turn on". Computer posts, but no bios, no anything.

    I can confirm usbs don't work because my keyboard, and mouse should light up. My monitor also should say there's a source.

    I can confirm video card works, I switched it with another card, and nothing changed. Ram also works, as I tested them in another computer.
    The only things I haven't checked are the cpu, motherboard, and psu. However, I reseated the cpu two times. I can confirm everything is seated properly.

    Everything was working perfectly before I setup water cooling. Now it won't turn on properly. I will admit I got a little water over the video card and psu, but I had paper towels everywhere, and I let it dry for 24 hours. I doubt I fried anything. I thought the cpu backplate was part of the previous cooler I had so I kept trying to pry it off, forcefully, until I looked it up and found it is part of the motherboard, I don't know if that did anything but I'm listing it. I put everything together afterwards, in the correct slots and everything. I have no motherboard speaker so I have no beeps. I reset the cmos, removed battery, and I even also tried updating bios but it wouldn't stop flashing so it didn't update as far as I know. I consider myself somewhat knowledgeable in computers, however, this problem is kicking my butt right now. As of now I'm suspecting the motherboard or psu is bad. I did not move the cpu out or do anything to it until after this problem, so I HIGHLY doubt a bad cpu. Only moved cooler onto it. Please, someone help me out. I'm so close to taking it to someone to have it looked at. I can provide pics of my setup if needed.

    My setup:
    Asus Rampage IV Black Edition EATX LGA2011 Motherboard
    Intel Core i7-4930K 3.4GHz 6-Core Processor
    G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
    EVGA GeForce GTX Titan Black 6GB Superclocked Video Card
    Corsair 860W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX power supply
    Samsung 840 EVO 1TB 2.5" Solid State Drive

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Hi Exoxilos

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    A member was having the same problem as you with code 32 and updating the bios solved it for him. Follow the instructions in the guide for updating the bios using the bios flashback method, rename the bios file to R4BE.CAP be sure your usb flash drive is empty.

    Please report if this helps you.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...ng-(Q-Code-32)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    4

    Hello and thank you for the reply


    I've downloaded the bios update file from asus, vers 0701, unzipped it, and renamed it as R4BE.CAP, no other files on the fat32 usb.
    I plugged it in and held the rog connect button until flashing, let go, but the flashing light has still not stopped, bios1_led. Unless I wasn't supposed to unzip it first, I feel I did everything correctly. It has been going for about 30 minutes now, however. How long does the update process usually take?
    Also, my motherboard comes with a bios 2, switch bios button. Should I try updating that in case my update never finishes?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    It could be the flash drive you are using that's causing the update problem.

    I will suggest switching to bios 2 and see if you are able to boot.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    4

    Thank you for the reply

    I took your idea of bad usb and tried a different usb. Still does not update, sadly.

    The other bios also does not give any different results. Still stuck on 32.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Sorry to hear bios 2 didn't help.

    I will suggest stripping her down to the bare minimum of components, psu, mobo, 1 stick of ram, gpu and no ssd and see if you can get it to move off of code 32.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    551

    Can you get into bios and update bios that way to see if it does take the new bios? Just a thought
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Costas PC Specs
    Costas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula VIII
    ProcessorI7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980Ti Classified
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 950 PRO M2
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 PRO + WD Black HD's
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CaseCaselabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K70RGB
    Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Costas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    118

    As you stated error 32 is related to memory before the mobo actually posts.

    You said that all was fine before installing your water cooling gear. It may be that the CPU block is installed too tightly on the cpu causing bad contact between one or more cpu contacts and the pins on the socket due to flexing of the mobo/socket/cpu assembly.

    Try readjusting the tension (try loossing the tension on the mounting screws) on the cpu block/cooler assembly.

    Usually the above issue throws an error 55 but something you can try for now anyway.
    Last edited by Costas; 05-10-2016 at 03:55 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    4

    Well, I found the issue. I decided to pull out my old computer to switch parts over and test every single thing I have. First, I tried ram and nothing changed, then I changed video card and nothing changed. However, when i switched out the cpu with my older computer's cpu it FINALLY boots all the way to Windows desktop. I did receive a different error earlier with the problem cpu, error 63 (cpu dxe initialization started). What I suspect is I ended up harming the cpu somehow. Honestly no idea, but I don't care. After three days I finally get the thing to boot!

    Thank you all for your extremely helpful suggestions. Even though it was bad cpu, all your suggestions still helped me greatly.

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Thank you for reporting you got it solved and good job finding it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •