Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Exclamation Huge FPS drop on G751JT

    Hello everyone,

    I have owned this G751JT for over a year now without any problems.
    I play World of Warcraft 99% of the time, on ultra settings at 55-60 FPS with V-SYNC on.
    Today when I logged on, it was fine for 10 minutes, after which my FPS suddenly dropped to about 15. I checked if Windows was updating itself, or AV running in the background and nothing. I did what anyone would, restarted the game. I had 15 FPS from the start. After that I tried restarting the laptop. It worked for 5 minutes, then again the huge drop. Tried resetting the game settings, didn't help.
    I haven't installed anything in days, so I thought Nvidia drivers might have became corrupted and tried reinstalling the drivers with clean installation ticked.
    Worked fine for 5-10 minutes, but it dropped again. Blew the vents with compressed air, checked temps, they were at 70-75 or so. I didn't check if that was high or not, but the fans weren't blowing out much. I checked rog forums, installed NoteBook FanControl, used the zenbook profile as suggested here and set all vents to 100%.

    So at this moment I have wow open, on ultra at 12-16 fps, CPU temp at 58-61 C, GPU 48 C, PCH diode 67 C.

    So it's not overheating and now my only guess is Windows has turned upside down. It's W10 x64 home by the way.
    I'm somewhat afraid of sending it back in warranty, because the company I bought it from works with an asus authorized service, so I'm a bit untrustful.
    My only safe option is try a Windows reinstallation.

    Hoping someone has an idea that could help or experienced something similar.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    ThrottleStop 8.10
    https://www.techpowerup.com/download...op-8-10-beta-2

    Ever heard of ThrottleStop? Turn the Log File option on so you have a record of your CPU's performance while gaming. Usually unchecking BD PROCHOT and checking Set Multiplier and setting that to the maximum value can help out.

    Also remember to click on the Turn On button. Post a screenshot if you need further help.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    will do. thank you!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I would recommend updating or downgrading the video driver to 365.10 or 362.00. Some drivers between or before are unstable on some systems. Throttlestop is not needed on non-overheating laptops in my opinion.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I already have 365.10. Even tried a clean install.

    Regarding the log: unchecked BD PROCHOT, left everything else the way they were. Did not check set multiplier.

    Here is the log file: http://www.filedropper.com/2016-05-13

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    123

    The CPU looks fine. It appears to be running at the proper speed with no signs of throttling.

    During that log, were your FPS low? If your game was plodding along then it is time to log the GPU performance. See what speed it is running at while gaming.

    Edit :



    At 00:56:07 there is some CPU throttling but I am not sure what you were doing at that moment.
    The multiplier briefly drops down to 25 which looks like Turbo Boost was disabled. While gaming, the multi should never drop like this.
    Last edited by unclewebb; 05-12-2016 at 11:56 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Icemixxy View Post
    I already have 365.10. Even tried a clean install.

    Regarding the log: unchecked BD PROCHOT, left everything else the way they were. Did not check set multiplier.

    Here is the log file: http://www.filedropper.com/2016-05-13
    Try the 362.00 driver, create profile for WoW, force it to run on the dedicated video card and set the profile to prefer max performance in power management. Also check with msi afterburner osd what gpu usage and clocks you are having in game Let me know how it goes.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    The CPU looks fine. It appears to be running at the proper speed with no signs of throttling.

    During that log, were your FPS low? If your game was plodding along then it is time to log the GPU performance. See what speed it is running at while gaming.

    At 00:56:07 there is some CPU throttling but I am not sure what you were doing at that moment.
    The multiplier briefly drops down to 25 which looks like Turbo Boost was disabled. While gaming, the multi should never drop like this.
    yes it was low, but only in the last 2 minutes or even ess. when i started logging.
    at the start of the log, fps was normal and i had to wait a few minutes for it to drop, but forgot to turn logging off and on.
    i did play with the multiplier for a few moments.just decresead it a bit to seethe freq. wow was not running then.

    will come back with afterburner results

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	34 
Size:	12.7 KB 
ID:	57369

    it's brief because i just started msi afterburner and launched wow.it was 15 fps immediately, because as i've said, fps is good, for a few minutes after restart.no idea why

    UPDATE: restarted laptop, and did another test run with msi.
    at first the fps was fine, and i wasn't paying attention at the exact moment, but I think it shows where the fps drop happened. the gpu went to 100% instantly.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.png 
Views:	34 
Size:	11.8 KB 
ID:	57370

    My logic tells me, that if it's hardware related, it either works or it doesn't, but since a windows restart fixes it for a few minutes, I'm leaning more and more towards a windows reinstall and if that doesn't fix it, i'll have to send it back.that means 3-4 weeks without the laptop.
    Last edited by Icemixxy; 05-13-2016 at 05:46 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I will just post a small update:
    -reinstalled windows and now I have been playing for 3 hours without any issues. so far it seems that it was windows' fault

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •