Page 1 of 24 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 235
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Random restarts with 3009 and 3101

    I have used every single bios extensively as they have been released; all on default settings. With bios 3009 and 3101, I am experiencing random, hard resets. This doesn't happen under load; it can happen even at idle or small load. Oddly, I didn't even have this issue with the beta 3008 bios. Any suggestions as I would like to keep my bios up to date.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    Quote Originally Posted by Griever View Post
    I have used every single bios extensively as they have been released; all on default settings. With bios 3009 and 3101, I am experiencing random, hard resets. This doesn't happen under load; it can happen even at idle or small load. Oddly, I didn't even have this issue with the beta 3008 bios. Any suggestions as I would like to keep my bios up to date.
    Had one myself, also out of the blue I had one with 2101 (I think that is the build number) so I wasn't sure if my OC has become unstable (it's been the same since owning the board)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Having the exact same issue here, it's getting extremely annoying been happening past few days.
    Once-Twice a day.

    Asus Rampage V Extreme
    Bios 3101
    http://i.imgur.com/PCAWq6W.png
    Up to date windows 10 as of this post.
    Last edited by andrew015; 05-24-2016 at 10:39 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Thanks for the input, guys. I ran 2101 and 3008 for weeks at a time and never had a restart, but have had quite a few with 3009 and 3101. Unless there is something else I can try, I may just go back to 2101 for now. This is troubling because I don't want to be shut out from newer features because of these issues.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    same here but iv had it on like every bios so far. mad thing is i get it more times on default settings than i do with my overclock on. even got a new PSU and a 1200w ups to go with it. but still get it every week or so. some time 3 times in a day some times nothing for a week or so. just the right amount of time to make you think its fixed it then BOOM restart all on its own. no errors nothing. but then its fine but for how long none know. i put it down to the CPU OVER VOLT ERROR i got the 1st week of having the mobo on stock settings.

    i use google chrome 64bit beta still get the random restarts. some time screen gos off 1st then all usbs drop out then 4 or 5 secs later full pc will restart. but some times its just off and booting back up before you know whats going on.
    same with all asus software on, same with no asus stuff been installed at on a clean install off windows.


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    There have been similar issues reported about the latest Nvidia drivers. If you installed the bios and driver near the same time, I'd roll back to 362.00 before replacing the bios, and see if it stops.

    No restarts on 3009 or 3101 for me yet.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Nonny PC Specs
    Nonny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extrem BIOS 3101
    Processorintel i7-5960x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 (64 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX Titan Black
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" + Asus MX279 27"
    Storage #1Corsair SSD Neutron 256 GB
    Storage #2Samsung ST2000DM01
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H105 240mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCoolermaster Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster Silend Pro 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse ROCCAT Nyth modular MMO Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamant 7.1 Analog
    Mouse Pad ROCCAT Hiro
    Headset/Speakers F&D No.: 6000U
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer AC8
    Accessory #1 3D Conexion - 3d Space mouse Eterprice Edition
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos 5m Pro Wireless
    Accessory #3 Asus Front Base , OC Panel, Logitech C930e

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    75

    Hello,

    so then i am not the only one with this problem in the 3x BIOS line , i have firefox too , but also Nvidia up to date driver , hmmm but is now the 3x BIOS series
    for another prozessor type or not now i am realy confused , with BIOS 2101 i am realy fine for now i would like to be up to date allways but system stability comes
    for me first i use the mashine for my job , well i better stay for now in 2101 , no trouble at all so fare ... Event log file stays clean after re-reflash to 2101 BIOS ...

    Nonny

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Add me to the list of those who suddenly have random restarts or hard resets since installing BIOSes 3009/3101 on RVe. I've played a lot with BIOS settings, checked the rig, but yet I have those sudden hard resets (no BSOD, no error message). It could be just browsing the Web or under load. I'm trying to avoid Firefox since yesterday to see if that helps. I also have of course latest NVIDIA drivers. Win 10 x64 setup here.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    201

    I also had problems after installing 3101 MOD, the pc would shut down and then turned on his own with safe mode boot screen... Even had trouble to force bios 2 boot, but once I managed, I copied virgin bios 2 to bios 1, then the mobo started to work properly again.

    After that, I flashed original 3009 with no issues stock and overclocked.

    As Gonzo said in Win-Raid, I would stay away from latest mods.

    Another option is your memory timings/uncore oc are not really stable, which spoils it all!!!
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 960 EVO 512, 860 EVO 1TB
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14 2TB, BDR-207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    Just to be clear I'm not using modded BIOS. Only the original Asus BIOSes. My system is not OC. I even tried downgrading memory speeds to no avail.

Page 1 of 24 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •