Page 11 of 24 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 235
  1. #101
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Yeah, I mentioned that strong possibility somewhere earlier - everyone having a problem seems to be running on optimized defaults. I think 3202 must have a problem running at 2133 memory speed (remember, Broadwell-E runs at base 2400). So XMP settings, assuming yours are at least 2400, should give better results.

    This struck me, though:

    "and then reconfigured what had to be (PCIx GEN3 and the like)."

    Which settings is this, and why does it have to be changed? Does something default to a bad value? Any other default settings that "have to be" changed?

  2. #102
    ROG Member Array ftjacques PC Specs
    ftjacques PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K @ 3.5 GHz
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2666 MHz 8x4GB CMK16GX4M4A2666C15 (x2)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX980 4GB
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE GTX980 4GB
    Sound CardOnBoard ROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    MonitorASUS PB287Q 4K IPS 28 inch
    Storage #1SAMSUNG MZHPU512HCGL-0004 (512 GB M.2 PCIx SSD)
    Storage #2KINGSTON SH103S3240G
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
    CaseTHERMALTAKE CORE V71
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1200
    Keyboard RAZOR BlackWidow
    Mouse LOGITECH G700s
    Headset RAZOR Megalodon
    Mouse Pad None. Absolutely none.
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 DTS THX Very Old But Amazing set of unremembered model
    OS Windows 10 x64 Enterprise N
    Network RouterMy main pc (Windows ICS, with a 2nd netcard)

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    PCIx GEN3

    Well, if you check in your BIOS for the NB PCI-E Configuration, you get to set your PCIx at GEN3 capability mode. You can do this for each compatible expansion card (and a video card will greatly benefit if it's compatible).

    For reference : In the motherboard manual (version E9550), page 3-35. If what I was told is true, AUTO will not go beyond GEN2. I must admit I haven't tested (and this might have evolved with newer BIOSes as well, my info dates from the pc's purchase), I just make sure to set it up as GEN3 for both my video cards and my additional lan card (Intel) which also supports it.

    Other settings I make sure to change relates to my M.2 SSD, which isn't by default in the storage section of the BIOS, and to disable components I don't use, like WIFI, Bluetooth, etc.

  3. #103
    ROG Enthusiast Array Szaquak PC Specs
    Szaquak PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)Geil CL16-16-16 D4-3000 [16GB]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce 750
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 280X
    Graphics Card #3XFX R9 280X
    Sound Cardintegral
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1RevoDrive X2
    Storage #2some HDD
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Armageddon
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark power Pro 1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Creative Aurvana Live!
    OS Windows 7 x64
    Network RouterASUS WL-500W

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Try set "CPU Spread Spectrum" option from Auto or Enabled on disabled. In my case works !

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Quote Originally Posted by ftjacques View Post
    Well, if you check in your BIOS for the NB PCI-E Configuration, you get to set your PCIx at GEN3 capability mode. You can do this for each compatible expansion card (and a video card will greatly benefit if it's compatible).

    For reference : In the motherboard manual (version E9550), page 3-35. If what I was told is true, AUTO will not go beyond GEN2. I must admit I haven't tested (and this might have evolved with newer BIOSes as well, my info dates from the pc's purchase), I just make sure to set it up as GEN3 for both my video cards and my additional lan card (Intel) which also supports it.

    Other settings I make sure to change relates to my M.2 SSD, which isn't by default in the storage section of the BIOS, and to disable components I don't use, like WIFI, Bluetooth, etc.
    Yeah, I disable the WIFI and Bluetooth stuff too.

    Anyway, thanks for clarifying. I gave the PCIe Gen3 thing a shot, on both of my 980Ti's as well as my Intel 750 1.2tb SSD. No noticeable change in disk or video benchmarks (CrystalDiskMark, Heavensward FFXIV). So either the 3202 does detect Gen3 properly or it's just not a bottleneck to performance (and from everything I've read about PCI Gen2 vs. 3, especially when at 16 lanes on both cards, the latter is quite probable). May be worth a shot if you're at less than 16 lanes though.

  5. #105
    ROG Member Array ftjacques PC Specs
    ftjacques PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K @ 3.5 GHz
    Memory (part number)CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2666 MHz 8x4GB CMK16GX4M4A2666C15 (x2)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX980 4GB
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GEFORCE GTX980 4GB
    Sound CardOnBoard ROG SupremeFX 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    MonitorASUS PB287Q 4K IPS 28 inch
    Storage #1SAMSUNG MZHPU512HCGL-0004 (512 GB M.2 PCIx SSD)
    Storage #2KINGSTON SH103S3240G
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER HYPER 212 EVO
    CaseTHERMALTAKE CORE V71
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1200
    Keyboard RAZOR BlackWidow
    Mouse LOGITECH G700s
    Headset RAZOR Megalodon
    Mouse Pad None. Absolutely none.
    Headset/Speakers LOGITECH 5.1 DTS THX Very Old But Amazing set of unremembered model
    OS Windows 10 x64 Enterprise N
    Network RouterMy main pc (Windows ICS, with a 2nd netcard)

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    In my case both my video cards are at 16x, so it might have little impact indeed. Still, thanks for verifying!

    So far so good for the settings though- 3 days 4hrs uptime now. I just hope it keeps holding

    EDIT: 5 days 8hrs now, and still holding strong. I'm starting to fear my kitten hitting reset (which is on top of my case) more than my computer itself as a cold reboot problem!
    Last edited by ftjacques; 07-28-2016 at 04:04 AM.

  6. #106
    ROG Enthusiast Array Szaquak PC Specs
    Szaquak PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)Geil CL16-16-16 D4-3000 [16GB]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce 750
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 280X
    Graphics Card #3XFX R9 280X
    Sound Cardintegral
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1RevoDrive X2
    Storage #2some HDD
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Armageddon
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark power Pro 1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Creative Aurvana Live!
    OS Windows 7 x64
    Network RouterASUS WL-500W

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    When Disabling CPU Spread Spectrum doesn't give satisfactional effect have to Disable VRM Spread Spectrum too - it have to works 100%

  7. #107
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    RAMPAGE V EXTREME random restart bios Version 3301

    Quote Originally Posted by Szaquak View Post
    When Disabling CPU Spread Spectrum doesn't give satisfactional effect have to Disable VRM Spread Spectrum too - it have to works 100%


    Hi all, this is my first time to post .

    i have a gaming center where i have 45 computers with RAMPAGE V EXTREME, most of them are restarting randomly

    and iam using bios Version 3301 , windows 10 64bit 16gb ddr4 ram. can any one advice me what to do please?

    thank you in advance

  8. #108
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    RAMPAGE V EXTREME bios Version 3301 random RESTART

    Hi all, this is my first time to post .

    i have a gaming center where i have 45 computers with RAMPAGE V EXTREME, most of them are restarting randomly

    and iam using bios Version 3301 , windows 10 64bit 16gb ddr4 ram. can any one advice me what to do please?

    thank you in advance

  9. #109
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by amer_el View Post
    Hi all, this is my first time to post .

    i have a gaming center where i have 45 computers with RAMPAGE V EXTREME, most of them are restarting randomly

    and iam using bios Version 3301 , windows 10 64bit 16gb ddr4 ram. can any one advice me what to do please?

    thank you in advance
    The only 100% working solution is using BIOS 2201 until ASUS figure out what is wrong with 3xxx BIOS series.
    Everything else woks with different degree of success for different people.

  10. #110
    ROG Enthusiast Array karab44 PC Specs
    karab44 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Vengeance 16GB CMK16GX4M4A2800C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte windforce 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte windforce 780Ti
    MonitorDell ''30
    Storage #1vertex III SSD 120GB
    Storage #2Sandisk SSD 980GB
    CPU Coolercorsair h110
    Casenzxt h440
    Power SupplyOCZ ZX 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech K350
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset sennheiser HD380PRO
    Mouse Pad icemat
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    karab44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_WOT View Post
    The only 100% working solution is using BIOS 2201 until ASUS figure out what is wrong with 3xxx BIOS series.
    Everything else woks with different degree of success for different people.

    Last chance of hope is to keep up with the latest drivers provided by ASUS. USB drivers as well as MEI and DIP5 have been updated on RVE support webpage.

    cheers!

Page 11 of 24 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •