Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    USB Device Over Current Status Detected + Device LED illumination

    I had this fault and now the board is dead, well it boots up the screen with asus and press f2 but just freezes from here.

    Some times im able to enter bios thats like 1 of 100 times now, and when i do, its like lagging and mouse feels wird and slow and then it freezes.

    At the same time on the mb, the device led lights up constantly, and im not able to get rid of it.

    It used to work fine, before i got this USB Device Over Current Status Detected, 12 secunds bla bla.

    I tryed everything, ill try to sum it up here.

    Other:

    Ram
    CPU
    PSU
    GFX
    Cables
    Reset bios
    Take batt out for several days.
    Let it rest
    Not using USB for mouse and keyboard.

    I tryed register it at asus but have no box were SN is.

    It is bought on ebay from US, and im in EU.

    This is my 2. board witch is going jolo, just about had it with asus crosshair V formula Z.

    Any advice?

    Regards Chris

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,698

    Hi Chris______

    Have you tried disconnecting all USB connections to see if there is a cable short.
    Also check your IO panel on the rear as you may have a short due to IO retention prongs shorting USB contacts.

    Should you still not find the short, you will have to bench-test outside the case.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 05-23-2016 at 03:00 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi Chris______

    Have you tried disconnecting all USB connections to see if there is a cable short.
    Also check your IO panel on the rear as you may have a short due to IO retention prongs shorting USB contacts.

    Should you still not find the short, you will have to bench-test outside the case.
    Thanks for reply.

    I did try disconnecting all USB connections, blow air in holes of USB and so forth.

    I also tryed to remove the I/O panel before, no result still same problem.

    I also tryed benching outside the case, no luck.

    As you see, i think i pretty much tryed everything.

    I came through to ASUS for the RMA, but must say im running my head against the wall with this company.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,698

    Describe how you bench tested outside the case. In situations like this and bench testing is required, it is best to have the system in a minimum state.
    Just power to the MB, one boot drive with OS installed, 1 DIMM in first slot.
    Start the system and follow your Qcodes adding one hardware component at a time, rebooting each time until you find the hardware causing the issue.

    Do a CHKDSK on your drives to eliminate the possibility of disk error.

    Buying on Ebay from US is a big gamble as you don't know the condition of the item you are getting and also for warranty purposes. (especially so if the unit is second hand)

    Good luck and I hope you resolve the problem.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Describe how you bench tested outside the case. In situations like this and bench testing is required, it is best to have the system in a minimum state.
    Just power to the MB, one boot drive with OS installed, 1 DIMM in first slot.
    Start the system and follow your Qcodes adding one hardware component at a time, rebooting each time until you find the hardware causing the issue.

    Do a CHKDSK on your drives to eliminate the possibility of disk error.

    Buying on Ebay from US is a big gamble as you don't know the condition of the item you are getting and also for warranty purposes. (especially so if the unit is second hand)

    Good luck and I hope you resolve the problem.
    Noone else got this problem i guess so it went to the trashcan

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I just had this issue on ROG maximum XI WiFi hero.
    Unplugged all usb devices and header cables, still got error.
    Checked ports on reverse for debris, bent pins, nothing was wrong I could see.

    ASUS doing RMA on device, yay! That 3 year warranty is great.*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •