Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Computer turns off randomly

    Hi all,

    I have been having this problem for so long. My computer will just turn off without warning.

    I have changed the power supply and memory and it still happens. Even tried reinstalling windows.

    Is there anyway to find out what the problem is. I tried Event Viewer but I don't know what to look for to see if there were any errors.

    Is it because of some bios settings?

    Thanks!

    Computer specs:

    Intel Core i7 4790K | ASUS Maximus VII Hero | G.SKILL RipjawsX F3-1866C9D-16GXM 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-1866 CL9 | Sapphire R9 290 | Samsung 840 EVO Series MZ-7TE500BW 500GB | Western Digital WD4003FZEX Black 4TB | Corsair Graphite Series 760T | EVGA Supernova 850 G2
    Last edited by Lefo16; 05-23-2016 at 02:01 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Does it occur at the desktop with no programs open or only doing heavy operations?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    Are you running default BIOS settings? I had this problem when enabling the XMP profile for my Corsair RAM, just sudden power off with no warning and on re-powering I would sometimes be greeted with a message stating that a power surge had been detected and the system had been stopped to prevent damage.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Code_Frenzy View Post
    Are you running default BIOS settings? I had this problem when enabling the XMP profile for my Corsair RAM, just sudden power off with no warning and on re-powering I would sometimes be greeted with a message stating that a power surge had been detected and the system had been stopped to prevent damage.

    I have default BIOS setting but I have this problem enabling or disabling XMP. Thanks for your help.
    Intel Core i7 4790K | ASUS Maximus VII Hero | 2 x G.SKILL RipjawsX F3-1866C9D-16GXM 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-1866 CL9 | Sapphire R9 290 | Samsung 840 EVO Series MZ-7TE500BW 500GB | Western Digital WD4003FZEX Black 4TB | Corsair Graphite Series 760T | EVGA Supernova 850 G2

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Does it occur at the desktop with no programs open or only doing heavy operations?
    with no programs or minimal programs at idle. I usually see it off when I leave for a long time and come back.
    Intel Core i7 4790K | ASUS Maximus VII Hero | 2 x G.SKILL RipjawsX F3-1866C9D-16GXM 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-1866 CL9 | Sapphire R9 290 | Samsung 840 EVO Series MZ-7TE500BW 500GB | Western Digital WD4003FZEX Black 4TB | Corsair Graphite Series 760T | EVGA Supernova 850 G2

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    See link for my idle temperature

    http://s33.postimg.org/6hchi6usv/screenshot.png
    Intel Core i7 4790K | ASUS Maximus VII Hero | 2 x G.SKILL RipjawsX F3-1866C9D-16GXM 16GB 2X8GB DDR3-1866 CL9 | Sapphire R9 290 | Samsung 840 EVO Series MZ-7TE500BW 500GB | Western Digital WD4003FZEX Black 4TB | Corsair Graphite Series 760T | EVGA Supernova 850 G2

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Have you cleared the CMOS?
    Last edited by NemesisChild; 05-26-2016 at 09:55 PM.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array wa3pnt PC Specs
    wa3pnt PC Specs
    MotherboardFormulas VII
    Processori7-4790
    Graphics Card #1Poseidon
    MonitorPlanar 27" Touch & Sony 27"
    Storage #1Intel 500GB SSD
    Storage #2(3) Intel 250GB SSDs
    CPU CoolerWater
    CaseCL S8
    Power SupplyRM1000
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterNumerous Netgear
    wa3pnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    This is a thought.

    Turn on the computer and enter the BIOS.

    Leave the computer on, and see if it shuts down.

    If it doesn't, then it's definitely a setting in the operating system.

    If it does shut down, you know it's a BIOS setting causing the shutdown.

    RodeoGeorge

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Lefo16

    Are you sure it's not going into sleep mode?

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array wa3pnt PC Specs
    wa3pnt PC Specs
    MotherboardFormulas VII
    Processori7-4790
    Graphics Card #1Poseidon
    MonitorPlanar 27" Touch & Sony 27"
    Storage #1Intel 500GB SSD
    Storage #2(3) Intel 250GB SSDs
    CPU CoolerWater
    CaseCL S8
    Power SupplyRM1000
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterNumerous Netgear
    wa3pnt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Good thought Nate152.

    I have "Never" set for all the sleep and hibernation in the Power Settings to avoid any problems with items not "waking up".

    With todays efficient components, I don't think it really saves that much power, and on my Flight Simulator computers it really causes havoc on a long flight.

    On something like a Laptop that is on battery power, they are useful. But on a Desktop, I find more problems than benefits.

    RodeoGeorge

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •