Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse Microsoft PN7-00004 Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One S Bluetooth Gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 Corsair Harpoon Wireless BT mouse
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    574

    Question [G751JY] Help to recreate Recovery partition working with F9

    Hello,
    as many did, a long time ago I switched from Windows 8 to Windows 10, but this deleted old Recovery partition working with F9 on reboot...
    Now, pressing F9 breaks the BCD startup (easy to fix with Macrium Reflect boot disk "Fix Startup Problem" or other solutions...):



    Your PC needs to be repaired
    A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed.
    Error code: 0xc0000225
    [ A text saying I should use recovery tools on my installation media to fix the issue. ]
    Press Enter to try again
    Press F8 for Start-up Settings
    Press Esc for UEFI Firmware Settings

    ...so, my goal is to recreate a custom Recovery partition with std Windows 10 clean install files when pressing F9.

    To do this I need some infos from users with the original function still working on their G751JY:
    - run Minitool Partition Wizard (free) and attach here a pic of your HD partitions structure
    - run 2 commands from ADMIN prompt:
    MountVol /info
    REAgentC /info

    and paste here your output

    Thanks...

    I suppose F9 expects to find a 5th partition on the boot drive named "Restore" and without a drive letter assigned (= hidden to Windows explorer) with the original \Recovery\install.wim file to boot from.

    P.S.
    I reapeat: I don't need to fix my PC to be able to boot again (I know how to do that, it's simple), I'm investigating a way to recreate a custom Recovery partition working with ASUS F9 feature.
    Last edited by hexaae; 05-25-2016 at 06:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Good luck! Wish I cold help you out but my recovery partition left long ago with windows 8.. I just created a recovery USB and have an image on my NAS as well.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    the question does not make sense.
    for win 8, one can easily do it with asus backtracker
    for win 10, it has the built-in "reset" or one can make a recovery usb as suggested by Justin

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse Microsoft PN7-00004 Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One S Bluetooth Gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 Corsair Harpoon Wireless BT mouse
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    574

    Quote Originally Posted by cdma2k View Post
    the question does not make sense.
    for win 8, one can easily do it with asus backtracker
    for win 10, it has the built-in "reset" or one can make a recovery usb as suggested by Justin
    The point is that when you hit F9 on an ASUS with a removed factory Recovery partition you'll have a BSOD and a destroyed BCD every time (you have to repair boot process every time, easy to do anyway...).
    My goal was to find a way to customize the "new" Recovery partition, making use of original ASUS F9 built-in feature. I think a tutorial on this topic could be useful.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    1. there is no window 10 version of backtracker
    2. For window 7, I have created a partition with factory.wim, then "ReAgentc.exe /enable" to enable custom recovery environment, then F9 will bring up the page you mentioned; not sure if it will work for window 10

    edit: looks like you might be able to do it in win 10, https://msdn.microsoft.com/windows/h...d-line-options
    Last edited by cdma2k; 05-25-2016 at 02:03 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse Microsoft PN7-00004 Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One S Bluetooth Gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 Corsair Harpoon Wireless BT mouse
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    574

    Yes thank you for your help.
    Learning how to use REAgentC, Diskpart, DISM etc. to recreate the so called "F9 partition" is exactly what I'm investigating these days...

    REAgentC /ENABLE (from an admin cmd prompt), will automatically locate and re-enable your Recovery partition only (?), granted you still have it (everybody should).
    Will do this looking for a marked recovery partition on your HD (they have a special GUID ID: DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC) and select it for Recovery, e.g.:

    C:\Users\Luca\Desktop>reagentc /info
    Informazioni di configurazione per Ambiente ripristino Windows
    e la reimpostazione del sistema:



    Stato Ambiente ripristino Windows: Enabled
    Percorso Ambiente ripristino Windows: \\?\GLOBALROOT\device\harddisk0\partition4\Recover y\WindowsRE
    Identificatore dati di configurazione di avvio (BCD): fc0612d5-20ce-11e6-8adf-9bc77791b978
    Percorso immagine di ripristino:
    Indice immagine di ripristino: 0
    Percorso immagine personalizzata:
    Indice immagine personalizzata: 0



    REAGENTC.EXE: operazione riuscita.
    Legenda (example of pic in English where a Recovery image was also set, the red square)

    In my example above I used /info just to show my current state, but /ENABLE will set it automatically for you if you don't have one assigned anymore, this command is smart enough.
    Notice Windows 10 upgrade creates a new 450MB partition for this (that's exactly the partition used when you do a SHIFT+REBOOT or troubleshooting reboot to repair PC) and probably wiped out the previously found one on the HD (usually it should simply add a new one at every major OS upgrade).

    As you can see above from REAgentC output I don't have a RE image already set, and that's probably the problem when pressing F9...

    I've just learned how to convert the "<mounted Windows 10 iso>:\sources\install.esd" available from Windows 10 ISO (downloaded with official MediaCreationTool) with DISM command, to create a generic W10 "install.wim":
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:"YOUR_ESD_FILE" /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:install.wim /compress:recovery /CheckIntegrity
    This should work as boot recovery image since I don't have ASUS recovery.wim anymore...

    Now... I'm not sure if it's sufficient to create another recovery partition (with correct GUID set) on my HD containing install.wim, and point REAgentC to it, to make F9 work again...


    AUTO LEARNING FROM THE NET:

    In the meanwhile I've found others discussed how to recreate a custom boot image (that we can use for F9) and recovery partition:
    http://www.eightforums.com/installat...partition.html


    Notice this is a known issue MS doesn't care to fix. It happened for Win 8 -> 8.1 before and again with Win 10 upgrade:
    http://www.technologytell.com/gadget...tore-function/
    Probably that's because MS official position is: just boot first time and always make a Recovery disk to solve any future problem and/or restore/refresh your PC to current defaults. No need of manufacturer custom recovery partitions from MS point of view. The only problem is that this will f**** up ASUS F9 feature.
    Last edited by hexaae; 05-25-2016 at 11:14 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse Microsoft PN7-00004 Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One S Bluetooth Gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 Corsair Harpoon Wireless BT mouse
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    574

    From what I can see here http://hothardware.com/reviews/asus-...-the-go?page=3



    I've found also this other pic from the net: http://i.imgur.com/YlqIBS3.jpg

    Original G751JY (with ASUS F9 still working, the recovery partition is positioned as the 4th partition, 15GB).
    Someone can confirm and paste its output from the command (from Admin prompt):
    reagentc /info
    please?
    Last edited by hexaae; 05-25-2016 at 02:42 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array hexaae PC Specs
    hexaae PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS Gaming Laptop GL703GS
    MotherboardIntel HM370 Cannon Lake-H
    Processori7-8750H
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 @2666MHz (dual-channel)
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX 1070 8GB
    Monitor1080p 144Hz 17" G-Sync AUO B173HAN03.2
    Storage #11TB SSD Crucial MX300
    Storage #2NVMe Samsung PM916
    Mouse Microsoft PN7-00004 Bluetooth Mobile Mouse 3600
    Mouse Pad MouseRug collection
    Headset/Speakers Realtek HD (ALC295)
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Accessory #1 XBox One S Bluetooth Gamepad
    Accessory #2 Hori Fighting Stick Mini
    Accessory #3 Corsair Harpoon Wireless BT mouse
    hexaae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    574

    Quote Originally Posted by cdma2k View Post
    2. For window 7, I have created a partition with factory.wim, then "ReAgentc.exe /enable" to enable custom recovery environment, then F9 will bring up the page you mentioned; not sure if it will work for window 10
    Please can you elaborate on this? What's your partitions structure? Where exactly did you put the "factory.wim" file (is this the exact name?)... And F9 does still work for you?
    I miss exactly these kind of infos to recreate a new F9 recovery partition...

  9. #9

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    This is a recovery my G751JY ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •