Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Exclamation My PC won't start anymore :(

    Hello everybody


    I have a problem that never happened to me.

    Yesterday my PC worked fine, I shut it down, gone to sleep...

    Today after work, I push the power button.... nothing happen, I pushed it several time, nothing.

    I look at my MoBo, I see the leds of my two graphic card (2 asus strix 980TI)

    The Start and reset buttons of my MoBo are light on (Asus rampage IV), I pushed those buttons...nothing.

    It's very strange, the MoBo is powered, my PSU seems to work correctly (My GC are powered on) (PSU:corsair AX1200i)

    What would you advice to me to perform some tests?

    Maybe a short circuit somewhere?

    I plan to do :

    - disconnect all the cables from the PSU except the MoBo to see what happen, if still not good remove the GC and memory)
    -Make a self test of the PSU wit(h all cable disconnected (except the power socket of course)


    There are other things I could do?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi dorianbz

    In the top right of your MB are your debug or Qcode LEDs. Observe and report where it stops during post cycle.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi dorianbz

    In the top right of your MB are your debug or Qcode LEDs. Observe and report where it stops during post cycle.

    Hi MeanMachine

    There is no code! It just don't start! the start button has no effect.

    But the MoBo is enlighted

    Last edited by dorianbz; 05-25-2016 at 08:01 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,354

    Hi dorianbz

    No code from the motherboard either points to a faulty psu or motherboard, you could remove the motherboard from the case and set it up on the box it came in with minimal components and see if you can get it to post.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi dorianbz

    No code from the motherboard either points to a faulty psu or motherboard, you could remove the motherboard from the case and set it up on the box it came in with minimal components and see if you can get it to post.

    Hi

    I'll try several tests indeed.


    PS: I search similar issue and I found this : http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...ll-not-TURN-ON

    Low CMOS battery may cause this kind of problem, replacing it could fix the problem (I really hope)

    I'll let you know

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,354

    Yes you can try a new cmos battery and hopefully this is all you need, give us an update when you get a new one installed.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Yes you can try a new cmos battery and hopefully this is all you need, give us an update when you get a new one installed.

    Update: Another hint use a hairdryer
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyNe...ature=youtu.be

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,354

    I don't think a hairdryer will bring back the Q-code but you can try the cmos battery, I got my fingers crossed.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array dorianbz PC Specs
    dorianbz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus RAMPAGE IV
    Processor4930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 8G (x2) 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080 TI OC
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse Razer naga
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Yes you can try a new cmos battery and hopefully this is all you need, give us an update when you get a new one installed.

    Unfortunatelly It didn't fix the problem

    Hairdryer neither

    I disconnected all the cable of the PSU and the self test failed ! It's a surprise ! The PSU give power to the MoBo and GC
    I guess something is wrong inside it

    I installed this PSU 2 wseeks ago, I did a sleft test before installation and it worked (green led + PSU FAN ON)

    So i'm good for RMA :/

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array totalrognoob PC Specs
    totalrognoob PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G752-VT
    MotherboardROG Maximus VI Extreme
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)Crucial BLS8G3d1609DS1S00
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 780 OC Edition
    MonitorOld and varied
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate barracuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster 212 EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom
    Power SupplyCorsair HX650
    Keyboard Steel Series Apex
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset Razer Electra
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66u
    totalrognoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Now I want to mess with it. Which brand of power supply is it? Have you got a multimeter? If you have, see if the green wire is at +5 relative to a black wire. If the LEDs light, that indicates that the 5VSB rail works.

    Now, it could be that the 12V rail is toast(not likely), but that would normally mean you don't get any power out(most use DC to DC converters to pull power for other rails from the 12V). But this may not be the case for your PSU.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •