Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Question Is it possible to clone copy my C drive then put it on another drive?

    Hey guys i know this is a more general question than a mobo question but hey we all run similar systems so might get more specific help here


    Basically i am getting a new C drive. I have room on a secondary drive to hold a clone/copy of my present C drive. I then want to instal a new physical C drive and then put what i saved onto it and run my C drive from that and use the original after format for something else.

    1. Is this possible? What is the best software used to do this?
    2. Do i have to remove the original drive or is there a way to format it as the process is being done.
    3. I have not done this before, i just thought there must be an easier way than just wiping my original drive and instal windows 10 fresh and start all over again installing all the stuff i want/need on it lol.
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    549

    I have used apricorn ez gig software and a usb to ssd before. The cable is like 12.00 at best buy here and software is free. Plug into usb and ssd and run the software to clone your old c drive to the new c drive
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    I use AOMEI Backupper 3.2. It's a nice free backup software tool. Just do a full backup, it'll be a system image, then restore it to the drive you want.

    EDIT: Hmm, I didn't think about the drive letter. How to make sure the new drive is recognized as C:? You might want to disable the current C: in the BIOS (by disabling its SATA port) after you create the backup and before you restore. Maybe someone else can give better guidance on that.

    At worst, you should be able to get the new drive recognized as C: by disabling the others, clean installing Windows 10 on the new one, and then restoring that system backup you made to it.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 05-27-2016 at 09:57 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    as well as many other backups have used Macrium (which I really like vs say Acronis). I have done image backups and restores, but the clone works fine with no disk id issues so far. Have cloned live c: to another ssd as a backup, and then when it comes to use it in anger, boot to that clone, then macrium onto a new targer, set that as boot, and all good...

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    67

    I usually do a clone with Acronis True Image. That works fine with bit to bit copy and usually prevents any activation mechanisms to kick in. However the one thing you have to be careful about is SATA configuration : if your C:\ is AHCI stays AHCI with the new drive otherwise you'd run into trouble. As for your old "C:\" when transfer is over you can plug it into the system and wipe it the way you like

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Goucho PC Specs
    Goucho PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    Processori7 5820K 3.6 Ghz Default Boost Clock
    Memory (part number)32GB Crucial 2133Mhz Default Clock
    Graphics Card #1Inno3D HerculeZ x4 GTX 980 Air Boss @ 1527.5Mhz Constant Boost Clock
    Graphics Card #3Realbench system score @ default settings = 84338
    Sound CardSupreme FX On Board
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA350
    Storage #11=2x250GB RAID0 - 2=2x120GB RAID0
    Storage #21x 640GB WD Black - 2 x 1TB WD Blue in RAID0 - 1 x 2Tb Seagate HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 1000W '80 Plus Gold'
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Coolermaster Storm Inferno
    Headset AKG K612 Audiophile Headset
    Mouse Pad MDF Table Top ;)
    Headset/Speakers Samsung Soundbar
    OS Windows 8.1Enterprise 64Bit
    Network RouterVirgin Media 152 Mb/s + some ;)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft HD-3000 720p Webcam/Samsung S5 Cam
    Accessory #2 Behringer XM8500 thru XenyX Q502 Mixer
    Accessory #3 AMW 19" 4:3 LCD 2nd Monitor
    Goucho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Thanx guys
    All replies to my posts are really appreciated, thank you

    Overclock results:-

    GTX980 @ 1527.5MHz Core/7603MHz Memory

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •