Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Maxintosh7 PC Specs
    Maxintosh7 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Maximus VIII Extreme Won't Recognize M.2 Raid 0 As Bootable Option

    I have two Samsung 950 Pro's installed on the motherboard. One in the M.2 slot, the other in the 4th PCI port via an adapter.



    With the BIOS factory reset to the latest firmware (1701) it recognizes the two M.2 SSD's as well as four other 6TB hard drives that I have installed, as bootable options.



    However, when I turn RAID on, it only shows two of the 6TB hard drives as bootable now.



    If I go into Intel Rapid Storage, it says that the m.2 raid that I created is healthy and normal. So I'm really confused.



    I'm able to start a Windows 10 installation on the m.2 raid (by loading the rapid storage drivers during the install process), but when it reboots it can never get back into Windows.

    Any ideas on why I can't boot that m.2 raid 0? Are there some settings in the BIOS I should be playing around with?



    MY SYSTEM:

    -Maximus VIII Extreme Motherboard
    -Intel i7-6700K CPU
    -Corsair Hydro H100i GTX Liquid CPU cooler
    -2 Samsung 950 Pro's for boot drive
    -4 6TB Seagate 7200 RPM Hard Drives
    -Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    -Corsair Vengeance LPX Ram 32GB (8 x 4)
    -EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 power supply
    -No GPU yet (waiting for a GTX 1080)
    Last edited by Maxintosh7; 06-01-2016 at 03:40 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array mark0409mr01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Please follow the instructions as written by MASTERC contained in the following guide:

    http://rog.asus.com/18902015/maximus...d-0-for-speed/

    Regards

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Maxintosh7 PC Specs
    Maxintosh7 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks!

    Switching PCIEX4_4 Bandwidth to X4 Mode (as that guide suggests) did the trick.

    It's now booting into Windows fine.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •