Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Stucutting PC Specs
    Stucutting PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 2400 16gb
    Graphics Card #1Using IGPU until Polaris or Pascal come out
    MonitorSamsung 24inch 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 256gb M2
    Storage #2Samsung evo 850 128gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair h100i v2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750d
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech g15
    Mouse Logitech g600 MMO mouse
    Headset Logitech g35
    Mouse Pad Razer exact mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-230
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link C9 Archer
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Asus Maximus Hero VIII and Intel 6700k stuck at 800mhz and 8x multiplyer

    I hope someone can help me with this as I have been tearing my hair out trying to sort it out. I noticed the other day when I opened Ai suite for the first time after building this new system that my CPU was stuck at 800mhz no matter what I did.

    I reinstalled windows this week and flashed the latest bios but it is still like it. I have been through all the power settings in Windows that I can think of like the minimum and maximum cpu speeds and also tried disabling speedstep and c states in the bios.

    I am really not sure what to try next and I am really hoping it is just a setting I have missed and not a faulty board or cpu.

    Any ideas would be most welcome.

    Thanks

    Stuart

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Download CPU-Z and check if its really stuck at 800mhz or its AISuite bugging. Also might be your windows power saving features, does it change when you game or use programs ?

    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Have you tried running a stress test to see if the CPU speed would ramp up?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    293

    Did you ever check if your power option in Windows is in High Performance mode?
    Did you change your multiplier in BIOS? What is your Extreme Tweaker settings? Could you please send us pictures?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Stucutting PC Specs
    Stucutting PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 2400 16gb
    Graphics Card #1Using IGPU until Polaris or Pascal come out
    MonitorSamsung 24inch 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 256gb M2
    Storage #2Samsung evo 850 128gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair h100i v2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750d
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech g15
    Mouse Logitech g600 MMO mouse
    Headset Logitech g35
    Mouse Pad Razer exact mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-230
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link C9 Archer
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Legolas View Post
    Did you ever check if your power option in Windows is in High Performance mode?
    Did you change your multiplier in BIOS? What is your Extreme Tweaker settings? Could you please send us pictures?
    Sorry for not getting back sooner. I have check the power options and they are set to high performance and all the advanced settings in there look correct.

    I checked in cpuz and it is definitely stuck at 800mhz all the time even during stress testing.

    I haven't really tried changing much in the bios like the multiplier yet as I wanted to read up a bit more on what everything does. I will try and get some pictures of my extreme tweeter settings in a moment. Which parts of it in particular do you want to see?

    Thanks for all the replies.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,620

    Hi Stucutting

    Enter the bios and reset to defaults (F5) then F10 and Enter to save and exit and see if this gets your cpu working normally.

    Also check cpu temps on the monitoring tab.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Stucutting PC Specs
    Stucutting PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 2400 16gb
    Graphics Card #1Using IGPU until Polaris or Pascal come out
    MonitorSamsung 24inch 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 256gb M2
    Storage #2Samsung evo 850 128gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair h100i v2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750d
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech g15
    Mouse Logitech g600 MMO mouse
    Headset Logitech g35
    Mouse Pad Razer exact mat
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-230
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link C9 Archer
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Stucutting

    Enter the bios and reset to defaults (F5) then F10 and Enter to save and exit and see if this gets your cpu working normally.

    Also check cpu temps on the monitoring tab.
    Just tried this but it is still stuck at 800. The cpu temp is showing at 29 degrees in the bios.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    293

    When you go to BIOS -> Go to Extreme Tweaker -> What is your multiplier? What is your FSB? I think it is struck at 8x100 fsb. You should CPU Core ratio to Auto.
    Please enable Speed Step and Turbo in your BIOS, please

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,620

    Thank you

    Was your cpu working normally before installing AI Suite?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Quote Originally Posted by Stucutting View Post
    Sorry for not getting back sooner. I have check the power options and they are set to high performance and all the advanced settings in there look correct.

    I checked in cpuz and it is definitely stuck at 800mhz all the time even during stress testing.

    I haven't really tried changing much in the bios like the multiplier yet as I wanted to read up a bit more on what everything does. I will try and get some pictures of my extreme tweeter settings in a moment. Which parts of it in particular do you want to see?

    Thanks for all the replies.
    By any chance, did you buy the OC Panel II separetly and have it connected to your motherboard? also please locate the LN2 Mode jumper/switch and make sure it's in the off position.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •