Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Maximus VIII Extreme Multi-GPU Total System Crash

    I just built a new system, and having multiple GPUs plugged into any combination of PCI-E slots cause major system instability.

    CPU: Intel Core i7-6700k
    Mobo: ASUS Maximus VIII Extreme
    GPU: nVidia GTX 1080
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4 3200
    Storage: Two Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD's and two 6TB WD Black Series HDDs
    PSU: Corsair AX860i
    Case: Corsair 750D

    Okay, so I plugged my two older GTX 770's from my previous Haswell rig into the new Skylake rig while I'm waiting for my GTX 1080 to arrive, and the system became very unstable. My newly and freshly installed Windows 10 installation crashes and the entire PC reboots the second I try to enable SLI with my 1440p monitor hooked up.

    If I unplug the monitor and only use my old secondary 1080p screen, I can enable SLI, but the moment I launch a game or anything that uses the GPUs, the entire PC actually goes into slow motion. Whether it's the desktop UI, a game, or the sound, it all slows down like it's tripping on acid, and then everything freezes with the screen showing MASSIVE artifacts, and then auto-reboots. This happens whether SLI is actually enabled or not, as long as both GPUs are plugged in.

    I've tried the last several sets of nVidia drivers. Nothing.

    I've tried putting the GPUs back in the older Haswell system, and SLI works fine. So it's not the GPUs. My next thought was that the PSU must be faulty, since it acts like it's not getting the power it needs, despite the PSU being a higher grade PSU with over 100w more power. So I put in the Haswell rig's HX750 into the new rig, replacing the newer AX860i I bought for the new rig, and it did the same thing. The PC crashed. A voltmeter also shows the AX860i delivering very smooth power across the 12v rail. So the PSU is ok.

    I tried unplugging all but one RAM stick, and after trying out all four sticks individually one at a time, the system still crashes.

    So then my heart sunk as I realized it's gotta be the Maximus VII Extreme motherboard. I tried reinstalling Windows 10, and that didn't help.

    To be clear, the system works 100% when only a single GPU is used. I've tried changing the power management settings in both the UEFI and Windows power settings, I've tried four different UEFI revisions, and tried setting the PCI-E to Gen 2. It's almost acting like either the motherboard is not supplying enough power to the cards, or inserting two GPUs is triggering some kind of invisible overclocking, because that's how it's acting. I have everything set to stock settings and factory defaults, but it acts like it's an unstable overclock, despite temps across all parts sitting around 20ºC.

    Windows Event Viewer shows no record of the crashes either.

    Is this a know issue? Should I RMA the board?
    Last edited by Synthetic Frost; 06-03-2016 at 02:47 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Just for kicks go into the bios of your Maximus VIII Extreme and disable Thunderbolt 3. Then see if you can enable SLI without issues... I've had some odd things happen with my Fury X's in Crossfire unless I do this.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Synthetic Frost,
    Welcome to the forums, sorry to hear your having issues, I just tried dual 1080's and my second card would go from pcie 3.0 to 2.0 to 1.1 and sli even though activated didn't perform correctly, it didn't crash the system but when i would open the new EVGA precision software sometimes my system would freeze and would have to hard reboot, I haven't had time to research the issue, I do not have the auxiliary power connected at the bottom of the motherboard (EZ_PLUG) to give extra power to the pcie slots, I will try and see if I can find the issue this weekend, I already have the Thunderbolt module disabled
    I do not have this issue with these cards on my RVE and the Beta MSI for 1080 seems to work better for me at this time

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I am using 1 and 4 as per manual, I have an Intel 750 in slot 6 which I believe is off the chipset and doesn't affect the other slots, but I may be wrong, I will remove that drive and test again this weekend

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	210.6 KB 
ID:	57553

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Maikal View Post
    Just for kicks go into the bios of your Maximus VIII Extreme and disable Thunderbolt 3. Then see if you can enable SLI without issues... I've had some odd things happen with my Fury X's in Crossfire unless I do this.
    Sadly that was one of the first things I thought of as well, but turning it off didn't do anything. At this point I've tried almost everything. I can't even get any useful crash logs from any of the apps or games that trigger the crash. I think I'm just going to RMA the board and go for a more midranged Gigabyte board. Never had any trouble with them.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Sorry to hear that, I turned off the bottom pcie slot that my Intel pcie drive is in and my to GPU's worked as intended in sli

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Quote Originally Posted by Synthetic Frost View Post
    Sadly that was one of the first things I thought of as well, but turning it off didn't do anything. At this point I've tried almost everything. I can't even get any useful crash logs from any of the apps or games that trigger the crash. I think I'm just going to RMA the board and go for a more midranged Gigabyte board. Never had any trouble with them.
    Good luck!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •