Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Maximus VIII Hero Code 04 or D4

    I have very random freezes (1-3 times a week) that happen ONLY when I am playing some game (never when doing something in Windows). When the computer freezes, there is no sound loop or anything, it's just completely irresponsive. The reset button does not work and I must turn off the computer holding the power button for a few seconds. This has been happening since day 1.

    When I took a look inside last night, I saw that the mobo showed code 04 or D4 (no difference between the two).

    Complete specs:

    PSU: Seasonic X Series SS-850KM 850W
    Motherboard: Asus Maximus Hero VIII (latest BIOS)
    CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.0 GHz
    Cooling: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX Red 16 GB DDR4 2400 MHz CL14
    GPU: Asus GTX 660 Ti DirectCU II OC Edition
    SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB

    Monitor: BenQ XL2411Z @ 144 Hz
    Headphones: SteelSeries Siberia v2 CS:GO Edition
    Sound: Asus Xonar U7
    Keyboard: Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse: SteelSeries Kana V2

    OS: Windows 10 Pro N 64-bit

    I have not OC'd anything. Mobo, CPU and RAM are only a few months old.

    Any suggestions/solutions?
    Last edited by wh1sper; 06-06-2016 at 12:18 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array Subsider PC Specs
    Subsider PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero Alpha
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Gtx
    Monitor2x Asus 24" 2ms
    Storage #1M.2 950 Pro
    Storage #2Evo 850
    CPU Coolerold school Water
    CaseLian Li v2000b
    Power SupplySesasonic 1050
    Keyboard G15
    Mouse G5
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterAC1750
    Subsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    code 04 has to do with PCH initialization and D4 has to do with PCI resource allocation . Id think the first 2 things id try is removing , cleaning and reinstalling video drivers and setting PCH voltage manually in the bios . 1.050v should do . Also take a look at the FCLK setting in the bios default is Auto which = 800 . true standard is 1k (1000) you could also try setting this to a set value manually . I would try the 1000 first ...... Or put back to Auto if you've already tried setting manually . this is assuming you are confident in your psu and you have eliminated it from suspect and GPU temps are in line .

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Subsider View Post
    code 04 has to do with PCH initialization and D4 has to do with PCI resource allocation . Id think the first 2 things id try is removing , cleaning and reinstalling video drivers and setting PCH voltage manually in the bios . 1.050v should do . Also take a look at the FCLK setting in the bios default is Auto which = 800 . true standard is 1k (1000) you could also try setting this to a set value manually . I would try the 1000 first ...... Or put back to Auto if you've already tried setting manually . this is assuming you are confident in your psu and you have eliminated it from suspect and GPU temps are in line .
    As far as I've seen, the GPU temps are in line. I had a defective PSU, the symptoms were different (will test it last if I have to). I turned off fast boot in BIOS, so I'm waiting for the next freeze. Gonna run memtest and try your advice next.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Clear your CMOS and test your system at stock default. Report back your results when you can.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Ok, so the freeze happened again. Like I said earlier, I turned fast boot off in BIOS and waited for it. The code is now 02 (?!) - AP initialization before microcode loading. Is it possible for the Q-code to change after turning fast boot off? Or is it possibly a faulty motherboard?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Clear your CMOS and test your system at stock default. Report back your results when you can.
    I will try that now.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by wh1sper View Post
    I will try that now.
    Good. Let me know how it turns out.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Well it's been almost a week (not counting today yet) and I think it's safe to say the problem is gone. Since the only serious thing that was changed in BIOS settings (not counting disabling of the onboard sound card) prior to the stock defaults are the RAM settings (using XMP profile), that was probably causing the problem. Or not?

    Suggestions Chino?
    Last edited by wh1sper; 06-17-2016 at 11:36 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheRiwen PC Specs
    TheRiwen PC Specs
    MotherboardViii Hero
    Processor6700
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI
    Sound CardSoundblaster ZxR
    CPU CoolerNH-U12S
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750X
    Keyboard logitech g910
    OS windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    whlsper

    I did have that problem. Did change my memory and the problem was gone. Is you memory ver 3.2 ?

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by TheRiwen View Post
    whlsper

    I did have that problem. Did change my memory and the problem was gone. Is you memory ver 3.2 ?
    Where do I check that?

    EDIT: Checked inside, version 3.20.
    Last edited by wh1sper; 06-10-2016 at 04:55 PM.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •