Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array BillyR23 PC Specs
    BillyR23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8GB DDR 3000hz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080
    MonitorAsus 27inch IPS MX279H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro 521GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB Western Digtal Black 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair 760t
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 860
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RBG Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech G900 Wireless
    Headset Steelseries Ice USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM3000
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router (RT-AC88U)

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha - Random Restarts

    I recently built a new Skylake system with the following specs however I have issues of random reboots during games and just web browsing in Windows.

    Here are the Specs - I am using my old 960 as I am waiting for the 1080 or 1070



    Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
    Corsair H115i 104.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
    Asus ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ALPHA ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory (have also tried Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (4x8gb) DRR4-3000)
    Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
    EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB SuperSC ACX 2.0+ Video Card
    Corsair 760T White V2 ATX Full Tower Case
    Corsair 860W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

    I have reformatted my M.2 3 times. Flashed Bios to 1701. Tried all new parts - new memory, motherboard, processor, power supply all giving the same issue

    The first processor I had the stock voltage was running at 1.328 Volts - The Second Processor runs at 1.24
    Regardless if the XMP profile is on or not the machine will still reboot - I have even put the memory voltage up to 1.38v

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Welcome to the forum!

    Typically sudden restarts during gaming would indicate a defective or failing PSU.
    That Corsair 860W is a solid PSU unit, but even the best electronics can fail at times.

    Have you tried increasing the VCCIO and SA voltages?

    Also, I would try removing your 960 and just run on the iGPU to see if the problem goes away.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array BillyR23 PC Specs
    BillyR23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8GB DDR 3000hz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080
    MonitorAsus 27inch IPS MX279H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro 521GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB Western Digtal Black 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair 760t
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 860
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RBG Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech G900 Wireless
    Headset Steelseries Ice USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM3000
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router (RT-AC88U)

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Welcome to the forum!

    Typically sudden restarts during gaming would indicate a defective or failing PSU.
    That Corsair 860W is a solid PSU unit, but even the best electronics can fail at times.

    Have you tried increasing the VCCIO and SA voltages?

    Also, I would try removing your 960 and just run on the iGPU to see if the problem goes away.
    Thanks!

    I originally had a Corsair RM850 power supply but the power supply fan would not spin even at 100% load so i returned that and got the AX 860i.
    I also tested the new PSU using the self test button and everything lit up green. This was actually the first part I replaced.

    I have tried increasing those voltages as well.

    Also I had it running with just 1 8GB Dimm slot for 48 hours as well. Which leads me to believe the memory is what is causing it.

    Next thing would be to remove the 960 and see if the onboard graphics gives the same issues. I will try when i get home from work.

    Thank you for the quick response.
    Last edited by BillyR23; 06-06-2016 at 08:57 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    If you're certain that the PSU isn't the culprit, I would also be leaning towards the memory.

    I have seen too many issues with Corsair memory on this platform.
    Definitely do manual settings with 3200 memory, avoid the XMP profile for now.

    Any way you can change out the 2x8GB Corsair memory for the TridentZ 3200 C15 set?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array BillyR23 PC Specs
    BillyR23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8GB DDR 3000hz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080
    MonitorAsus 27inch IPS MX279H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro 521GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB Western Digtal Black 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair 760t
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 860
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RBG Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech G900 Wireless
    Headset Steelseries Ice USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM3000
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router (RT-AC88U)

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    If you're certain that the PSU isn't the culprit, I would also be leaning towards the memory.

    I have seen too many issues with Corsair memory on this platform.
    Definitely do manual settings with 3200 memory, avoid the XMP profile for now.

    Any way you can change out the 2x8GB Corsair memory for the TridentZ 3200 C15 set?

    I can definitely look into returning the Corsair memory for the G.Skill TridentZ. Thanks for advice on that. At this point I just want the system to work as my return window for parts is over next week. Thanks for the info!
    Last edited by BillyR23; 06-06-2016 at 09:57 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Clear your CMOS to bring your system back to stock default for testing. Report back your results.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Is it like this when it reboots?

    https://youtu.be/hr2TE-C7KfY

  8. #8
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    I saw the A2/A0 code than reboot, which is related to drive. Did you ever replace 950 Pro? remove M.2 and see if reboot is gone?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array BillyR23 PC Specs
    BillyR23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8GB DDR 3000hz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080
    MonitorAsus 27inch IPS MX279H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro 521GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB Western Digtal Black 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair 760t
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 860
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RBG Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech G900 Wireless
    Headset Steelseries Ice USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM3000
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router (RT-AC88U)

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Naybour View Post
    Is it like this when it reboots?

    https://youtu.be/hr2TE-C7KfY
    It was exactly like that.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array BillyR23 PC Specs
    BillyR23 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix X99 Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6800k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x8GB DDR 3000hz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080
    MonitorAsus 27inch IPS MX279H
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro 521GB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 500GB SSD + 2TB Western Digtal Black 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair 760t
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi 860
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RBG Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech G900 Wireless
    Headset Steelseries Ice USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM3000
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS Dual-Band Wireless-AC3100 Gigabit Router (RT-AC88U)

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Clear your CMOS to bring your system back to stock default for testing. Report back your results.



    I did that multiple times and had the same issue.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •