Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9820X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1VROC RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    Storage #2PCH RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i V2
    CaseCooler Master Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2 80+ TITANIUM, 1600W Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Corsair Full Size Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung 5.1 Surround Sound THX System
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC3200 Router
    Accessory #1 Steam Controller
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Warthog With Combat Rudder Pedals
    Accessory #3 UPEK Bio-metric Login
    BlackhatEspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Lightbulb Asus Maximus VIII Extreme Wireless and Ethernet Super Slow

    So, I recently upgraded from the Maximus Hero VIII to the Maximus VIII Extreme and the Wireless adapter on the motherboard is running really slow speeds.

    I've also plugged in a CAT6 cable straight from the Ethernet port to my Netgear Gigabit Router and the computer in the other room on AC1200 is killing the speeds of this network card / wireless combo.

    It's pretty sad actually how slow the wireless and the Ethernet is on my machine now that I have upgraded to the "extreme".

    Maybe there is a driver conflict or something, but this is slow <30MBPS basically on speedtest, when the computer in the other room is getting 300 MBPS.

    On Ethernet it should be able to match the speed as the wireless from the other room but it cant, it's just straight slow.

    Stupid me, went into device manager and then removed and uninstalled the driver for the LAN and for the WIFI, to try and reinstall the drivers from the CD.

    Now I cannot even get the WIFI adapter or the Intel LAN to even show up at all.

    I'm going to have to format Windows 10 again now, and then I'm going to try and get the LAN drivers from intels website.
    Last edited by BlackhatEspeed; 06-08-2016 at 11:30 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    The network/wifi drivers are on the MB DVD. If that is a problem then by all means reload Win 10 if it's easier for you.
    gb ethernet to my Netgear Gigabit Router works fine on my Max VIII.
    I do not use wifi on ANY high performance system in this house. Except of course the xbox controller adapter for the Oculus Rift VR.

    But, please, don't come to the forums blaming the motherboard for issues in your networking system.
    I'm not not going to tell you how to set up your network as that is akin to herding cats.
    Good luck

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9820X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1VROC RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    Storage #2PCH RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i V2
    CaseCooler Master Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2 80+ TITANIUM, 1600W Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Corsair Full Size Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung 5.1 Surround Sound THX System
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC3200 Router
    Accessory #1 Steam Controller
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Warthog With Combat Rudder Pedals
    Accessory #3 UPEK Bio-metric Login
    BlackhatEspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Thanks for your information I figured that the disc would probably have the best applications for the devices on my system, silly me went to the actual ASUS website and tried to download the drivers for the motherboard after I upgraded the BIOS.

    There's nothing wrong with the network system I've already ruled all the problems out it definitely has something to do with the network card and it might have something to do with the fact that I have uninstalled the Drivers from device manager. I'm going to go ahead and reinstall windows 10 pro and just try to use the drivers from the disc and see if that fixes the situation. As of right now none of the adapters for the system are even showing up even though they are showing up in device manager so I'm figuring there's some kind of driver conflict here.

    I also plugged in a AC 1200 Netgear wireless card to the computer and it didn't even show up on the computer now and I know for sure that some of the old Maximus motherboards had problems just like this where there were software conflicts with the drivers or the third-party applications that Asus provides.
    Last edited by BlackhatEspeed; 06-09-2016 at 08:21 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    BlackhatEspeed PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage VI APEX
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9820X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM 3200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorLG 4K Monitor
    Storage #1VROC RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    Storage #2PCH RAID 0 - 2 X Intel 760P 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i V2
    CaseCooler Master Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1600 T2 80+ TITANIUM, 1600W Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Corsair Full Size Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung 5.1 Surround Sound THX System
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC3200 Router
    Accessory #1 Steam Controller
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Warthog With Combat Rudder Pedals
    Accessory #3 UPEK Bio-metric Login
    BlackhatEspeed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    After reinstalling Windows 10 Enterprise, and then running just the drivers off the disc, my internet speeds have returned to normal 350MBPS on my desktop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •