Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 65
  1. #41
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    actually i think something is wrong with his GTX 1080, more likely that than a MB issue. FiNAS, as much as you find it difficult to understand that Asus cannot replicate the issue with the same components, you have to understand that there are many more users out there with the same combination of MB and GPU as you, and do not experience this problem. You are assuming that there is zero hardware problem with the components you have, which I think you should revisit your assumption.

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    214

    I think you must revisit your assumption that there are many more users out there with the same combination of motherboard and gpu.

  3. #43
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    214

    I will try to ask the shop where I bought the GTX 1080 to let me try with another one, and if it still doesn't work, maybe one from another manufacturer.

  4. #44
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    214

    Today I took my computer to the shop where I bought the Asus GTX 1080 Founders Edition.
    I tried an Asus Strix 1080 and a Palit GameRock 1080 and they both exibit the same problem. They run only at 8x on the Impact VIII. Both the graphic cards have different bios versions than the Asus Founders Edition that I own.

    They had an impact VIII on display and they were kind enough to let me try it. Exactly the same thing. All the three 1080 cards are detected as running at 8x in bios.

    This Impact VIII was run only with 1x 8gb + core i5 + atx psu that they had around.

    I'm posting the screenshots of the palit and the strix on my pc in windows 10 and of the strix in my pc in bios.

    There is absolutely nothing else that I can try and I think this is more than enough.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 160628235802.jpg  

    160628235839.jpg  

    strix.jpg  

    palit.jpg  


  5. #45
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Sounds frustrating, but if you change 3 GPU and it still has same issue, GPU is not the issue. The variable that is changing is GPU, and motherboard still shows 8x. Motherboard is having issue. Did you please try another same motherboard with new BIOS?

  6. #46
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    214

    legolas, I tried three diferent Impact VIII motherboards already. read the post carefully.

  7. #47
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    I have attache the GPUZ with CPUZ to indicate that ASUS GTX 1080 and Maximus VIII Impact is compatible with each other
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1080 CPU-Z M8I.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	375.1 KB 
ID:	57934

    Could you kindly please provide CPUZ shot?
    Last edited by thomas_yiu; 06-29-2016 at 03:39 PM.

  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    214

    Thanks for the screenshot.
    The screenshots with the strix and palit are on my post above.

  9. #49
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    The best solution is to get ASUS GTX 1080 Founders Edition with BIOS version 86.04.17.00.01 (as indicated from picture).

  10. #50
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    241

    Quote Originally Posted by reflex78 View Post
    Hi, I also face an incompatibility issue between ASUS MAXIMUS VIII EXTREME and my new graphic card 980ti Gigabyte G1.
    When I pluged it in my x8 slot (x16 slot is not available because of my big cpu fan) then it stucks at minimum speed of x4.
    I have tried 2 other cards (Asus 780ti and Palit gt440) wich run perfectly fine on the same slot at speed x8 as expected.
    I'm almost sure it's a bug with Asus motherboards and some cards...
    (I have the last bios version 1701)
    Hi reflex78,

    which slot have you installed your graphic into?
    The second slot is PCIe 3.0 x4 max.

    PCIe assignment on the Maximus VIII Extreme:
    Option 1: x16+x0+x0+x4
    Option 2: x8+x0+x8+x4
    Option 2: x8+x4+x4+x4

    Please kindly let us know if this is the case.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •