Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung Series 9
    MotherboardRampage 5 Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws4 - 32GB DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #12x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB - M.2 (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung EVO 850 1TB (RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech Y-U595
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset Asus Strix 7.1
    Mouse Pad M3 Precise
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 (Still haven't found anything better)
    OS Win 10Pro
    Network RouterARRIS TG2492S/CE
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti Mic
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos Pro
    Accessory #3 Logitech HD Pro C910 Cam
    Swampdonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Rampage V Extreme - Bios does not see M.2 Samsung 950 Pro

    I've recently upgraded from a R4BE to the Rampage V Extreme, mainly to reap the benefit of faster memory and of course M.2 boot.

    The goal - Boot into Win Pro 10 on 2x Samsung 950 Pro in Raid 0 - worse case - boot into M.2 and wait until developments catch up to allow me to put them in to RAID0.

    Current situation

    1. Updated BIOS to 3202
    2. Install 1x 950 Pro into M.2. Slot on mobo
    3. Installed 2nd 950 Pro onto Hyper M.2 x4 expansion card - in slot PCIE 8x

    No other storage connected at this time.

    When to Boot to see if the drive was listed - nothing

    Open BIOS - went to Advanced - Onboard Devices Configuration - the manual details PCIEx8_4 & M.2 Configuration to allow me to select M.2, I cannot find this anywhere?

    I've seen a benchmarks on this setup but nothing in the way of a guide or tutorial.

    Can anyone help, I've been at this for hours and getting nowhere fast.


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    That option isn't available when using a 5820K. Continue with your Windows installation. See if the drive is on the list.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung Series 9
    MotherboardRampage 5 Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws4 - 32GB DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #12x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB - M.2 (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung EVO 850 1TB (RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech Y-U595
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset Asus Strix 7.1
    Mouse Pad M3 Precise
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 (Still haven't found anything better)
    OS Win 10Pro
    Network RouterARRIS TG2492S/CE
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti Mic
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos Pro
    Accessory #3 Logitech HD Pro C910 Cam
    Swampdonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    That option isn't available when using a 5820K. Continue with your Windows installation. See if the drive is on the list.
    Thanks for your help Chino. I had no idea that a processor would have a bearing on my storage choices.

    I went ahead and tried to install the OS, unexpectedly Windows could see the drive but couldn't partition it as its not recognised by the BIOS!! So I have 2 x 950's that I can't use unless I throw more money at replacing the 5820!! The R5E should have a warning or notice to the effect that m.2 will not work unless you buy ......... Processors. Or am I missing something?


    Cheers
    Last edited by Swampdonkey; 06-24-2016 at 08:07 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Swampdonkey View Post

    I went ahead and tried to install the OS, unexpectedly Windows could see the drive but couldn't partition it as its not recognised by the BIOS!!
    Are you installing in UEFI mode? Also try deleting the partition and remaking it.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung Series 9
    MotherboardRampage 5 Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws4 - 32GB DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #12x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB - M.2 (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung EVO 850 1TB (RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech Y-U595
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset Asus Strix 7.1
    Mouse Pad M3 Precise
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 (Still haven't found anything better)
    OS Win 10Pro
    Network RouterARRIS TG2492S/CE
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti Mic
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos Pro
    Accessory #3 Logitech HD Pro C910 Cam
    Swampdonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Are you installing in UEFI mode? Also try deleting the partition and remaking it.
    I am. I was thinking of booting to one of my old EVO SSD's and use the Samsung migration tool to transfer the OS to the 950, do you think that would work?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    The X99 platform does not support nvme drives in a bootable raid configuration
    The 5820 has 28 pcie lanes, looking at your system with 2 GPU's and a dedicated sound card, you don't have the pcie lanes available
    Read the manual for the motherboard, it will tell you the pcie lane assignments for the pcie slots, M.2 slot for both the 28 and 40 lane CPU's

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Swampdonkey PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung Series 9
    MotherboardRampage 5 Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws4 - 32GB DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix GTX980 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #12x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB - M.2 (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung EVO 850 1TB (RAID 1)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech Y-U595
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset Asus Strix 7.1
    Mouse Pad M3 Precise
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 (Still haven't found anything better)
    OS Win 10Pro
    Network RouterARRIS TG2492S/CE
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti Mic
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos Pro
    Accessory #3 Logitech HD Pro C910 Cam
    Swampdonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    The X99 platform does not support nvme drives in a bootable raid configuration
    The 5820 has 28 pcie lanes, looking at your system with 2 GPU's and a dedicated sound card, you don't have the pcie lanes available
    Read the manual for the motherboard, it will tell you the pcie lane assignments for the pcie slots, M.2 slot for both the 28 and 40 lane CPU's
    Thanks for the note Menthol, I removed the Xonar card to make space. Lessons learnt, next time I'll be asking you guy's for advice before spending a small fortune. I'll be content if I can get the M.2 working in boot, freeing up some space. I'll be selling the other 950 and 5820 and have purchased a 5960X - taking advantage of the 40 lanes and extra performance; (I do a lot of work with Photoshop). In my old system I was getting around 800mbps with two Samsung Evo's in RAID0 and just loved the quick boot times I was getting so M.2 was a logical next step.

    The issue I have now is my keyboard has an issue with USB 3, and 2 of the USB ports on the mobo are connect to my Front base and the other to the H100i. Guess a new keyboard isn't too much of an additional cost.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    As long as the OS on the EVO is a UEFI install it should work, you would need to boot to the EVO with only the 2 drives installed, install the Samsung nvme driver and migration app to the EVO so it can see the 950

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •