Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Rampage V Edition 10 PCIE Question

    Hoping for some insight.

    I am using Rampage V Edition 10 with 6800k, GTX 1080 and Intel 750 U.2 SSD.

    When I enable the U.2 SSD, the bandwidth of PCIE Slot 1 is limited to x8 instead of running at full x16. It seems to me that I should have plenty of lanes / bandwidth to cover everything I am running at full speed.
    Is this common with x99? Is this something that can be fixed? I've spoken to support who have said that I am out of luck. Any insight would be appreciated.

    I can run all components at full speed on a $250 z170 board. Hoping there is a way for this $600 board to do the same.

    THanks

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    I am running Intel SSD PCIE 750 and GTX980TI STRIX together at full speed on a Asus X99-S, so you WILL be able to run it : ) I believe you call that PCI slot as "slot 1" wrongly....

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    My 750 is u.2 not pcie. When I say slot 1, I am saying the first slot directly under the CPU. If I was using a pcie 750, there wouldn't be an issue here. It is how the board handles enabling the u.2 port that is lowering the bandwidth to x8.
    Last edited by dlwilliams; 06-26-2016 at 12:23 AM. Reason: mistake

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    The other interesting thing is on my X99-E WS, I can get full bandwidth for everything by using the asus hyper kit. It seems to be the inclusion of both a u.2 and m.2 port that is causing the underline issue.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by dlwilliams View Post
    My 750 is u.2 not pcie. When I say slot 1, I am saying the first slot directly under the CPU. If I was using a pcie 750, there wouldn't be an issue here. It is how the board handles enabling the u.2 port that is lowering the bandwidth to x8.
    Correct.

    Are you using GPU-Z to check that it's running at x8? If so, have you tried running the render test or a GPU intensive program like Furmark to see if the GPU goes back up to x16?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Correct.

    Are you using GPU-Z to check that it's running at x8? If so, have you tried running the render test or a GPU intensive program like Furmark to see if the GPU goes back up to x16?
    Yes, I am using GPU-Z during heavy activity to verify the link speed. I believe the cause of this is due to the x8 bandwidth being used when I enable the u.2 port. My other board does not have an m.2 and u.2 port, so the most bandwidth that is enabled is x4. I know it can be done how I am expecting on x99, it is just the way this board specifically was designed that is causing this issue. Maybe they can fix with a bios update.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    ok, i wanted to say that the real Slot 1 is unaffected by M2 or U2, the slots that reduce speeds are at the bottom... There must be a BIOS option to disable U2/M2 totally.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by erix_jansen@hotmail.com View Post
    ok, i wanted to say that the real Slot 1 is unaffected by M2 or U2, the slots that reduce speeds are at the bottom... There must be a BIOS option to disable U2/M2 totally.
    The point is I do not want to disable them. I need the u.2 port.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Not having your board or CPU the manual says
    the M.2 and U.2 ports share bandwidth with PCIEX8_4 slot, a 28 lane CPU in 2 or 3 way sli will disable the U.2 port
    If you only have one GPU and no other pcie cards installed I would think your GPU would operate at X16

    Is this showing x8 in the bios, have you tested while under load in Windows to verify if it is only operating at x8 mode, if it operates at x16 in Windows I wouldn't worry about it

    And yes a Z-170 boards PCH has 20 pcie 3.0 lanes where X-99 only has pcie 2.0 lanes so a M.2 or U.2 3.0 x4 drive can use lanes from the PCH on Z-170, on X-99 it has to use lanes from the CPU there is no way for ASUS to change that

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •