Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I think what he means is there are U.2 adapters that fit in an M.2 slot, so if you put a U.3 adapter on a M.2 pcie adapter card you could run the M.2 drive from a pcie slot.
    Since RVE was released people have been asking for U.2 and USB 3.1 on board, apparently to accomplish this sacrifices were made in pcie lanes
    Research before purchase and pick hardware wisely for your intended use the manual explains the pcie lane allocations

  2. #32
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by erixx11 View Post
    A hyper kit cannot prevent a GPU from seating in its slot!!!!!! A Hyper kit is not for a M.2 slot, it is for putting a M.2 SSD in a PCI-e slot!!!

    Maybe a few lessons of English huh!? ;-)
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboard-...ies/Hyper_Kit/ - Goes in M.2 slot sir.

  3. #33
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I think what he means is there are U.2 adapters that fit in an M.2 slot, so if you put a U.3 adapter on a M.2 pcie adapter card you could run the M.2 drive from a pcie slot.
    Since RVE was released people have been asking for U.2 and USB 3.1 on board, apparently to accomplish this sacrifices were made in pcie lanes
    Research before purchase and pick hardware wisely for your intended use the manual explains the pcie lane allocations
    Well said. A 40 lane cpu resolved my specific issue. Still think overall it is poor design, as I don't see any reason why m.2 OR u.2 could be enabled, instead of having to enable them both. This is what happens when new tech gets added to old PCH. Skylake E will make the world a better place .

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I think what he means is there are U.2 adapters that fit in an M.2 slot, so if you put a U.3 adapter on a M.2 pcie adapter card you could run the M.2 drive from a pcie slot.
    Since RVE was released people have been asking for U.2 and USB 3.1 on board, apparently to accomplish this sacrifices were made in pcie lanes
    Research before purchase and pick hardware wisely for your intended use the manual explains the pcie lane allocations
    The manual mentions nothing about the M.2 / U.2 issue. It only goes over lanes for SLI versions and doesn't cover what happens when using U.2. It says absolutely nothing about it restricting Slot 1 to x8

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by dlwilliams View Post
    This is the correct product: https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Acc..._X4_MINI_CARD/

    You can combine this with the other kit to plug U.2 into PCIe.

  6. #36
    ROG Member Array Malahmen PC Specs
    Malahmen PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7-5820k
    Memory (part number)DDR4 2133MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Nvidia 980GTX
    Monitor2*PG278Q
    Storage #1NVMe SSD 960 PRO m.2
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Strix Tactic Pro
    Mouse GX1000

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    20

    Will it be possible to boot from a m.2 drive if we disable the excess PCIe lanes (for example, if we have a VGA, we only need one PCIe I suppose) via the DIP switches on a rampage v extreme mobo with a 28 lane CPU?

    from all the reading around, and since I'm at work now, just wondering if anyone tried this or if it is even possible?

  7. #37
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Now I got similar problem.

    I only have an GTX 980 HC in the first PCIex16 slot. (i7 6800k cpu)

    I installed an m.2 (960 EVO) but my board didn't recognize it (not in the BIOS boot device list). So I manually changed the BIOS PCI settings to 'u.2 / m.2' present, but the m.2 was still not recognized. However the bandwidth was now reduced from 16 to 8x.

    So I putted my GTX into the next PCIex8 Slot, the bandwidth was again reduced to 4x BUT now the m.2 was visible!

    I totally agree to former posts - I would expect that a single graphics card can run at full 16x speed with an m.2 storage.

    Question is, if I plug the GTX into the second PCIex16 slot, will it have 16x bandwidth? I guess only the first and the second PCIex slots are 'shared' with m.2.
    Unfortunately, I can't test it (easily) because I have a water-cooling system an the pipes are to short. I would like to save the work, modifying my water-cooling system if there's not benefit.

    - update -
    According to an post of Dan_D, the second PCIex16 slot also shares with m.2
    I am very disappointed. Thought it would be a more future-oriented board.
    Last edited by rogTec; 03-04-2017 at 10:55 PM.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •