Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
    You left bad comment on Newegg about RV10E...???
    Board is not guilty because you chose processor without 40 PCI-E lanes.
    If you can explain to me why I can't run a single graphics card at x16, along with the u.2 / m.2 ports enabled (x8 together), on a 28 lane CPU, i'll gladly change my review. Especially considering that I CAN do this on my x99E WS board using the hyper kit in the m.2 slot on a 28 lane CPU. Modifying the bios to either allow the m.2 OR u.2 port to be enabled rather than both would resolve the issue.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by dlwilliams View Post
    My 750 is u.2 not pcie. When I say slot 1, I am saying the first slot directly under the CPU. If I was using a pcie 750, there wouldn't be an issue here. It is how the board handles enabling the u.2 port that is lowering the bandwidth to x8.
    Correct.

    Are you using GPU-Z to check that it's running at x8? If so, have you tried running the render test or a GPU intensive program like Furmark to see if the GPU goes back up to x16?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Correct.

    Are you using GPU-Z to check that it's running at x8? If so, have you tried running the render test or a GPU intensive program like Furmark to see if the GPU goes back up to x16?
    Yes, I am using GPU-Z during heavy activity to verify the link speed. I believe the cause of this is due to the x8 bandwidth being used when I enable the u.2 port. My other board does not have an m.2 and u.2 port, so the most bandwidth that is enabled is x4. I know it can be done how I am expecting on x99, it is just the way this board specifically was designed that is causing this issue. Maybe they can fix with a bios update.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    An update on this one. I picked up a 6850k with 40 lanes, and the issue is gone. So was due to a cpu with 28 lanes. The math still doesn't make sense to me, but it is what it is. Case closed.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    dlwilliams,
    Glad you working on all lanes but it would be nice to have an explanation to your original issue, the lane allocation seems a little strange compared to the RVE and not in a good way, maybe it has something to do with the on board USB 3.1 implementation that so many people complained the RVE didn't have

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    dlwilliams,
    Glad you working on all lanes but it would be nice to have an explanation to your original issue, the lane allocation seems a little strange compared to the RVE and not in a good way, maybe it has something to do with the on board USB 3.1 implementation that so many people complained the RVE didn't have
    It comes down to when the u.2 port is enabled, the m.2 port is also enabled. You can enable just the m.2 port, but the same is not true of the u.2 port. It enables both, automatically taking x8 bandwidth rather than x4 if only one of the ports were enabled. Once that happens, it limits the first slot. On my newegg review, asus responded with this. "To get optimal PCIe x16 bandwidth on PCIe_1 slot, you can change your CPU from 28 lane to 40 lane. Another option you can take would be using our ASUS Hyper Kit SAS HD adapter. Install the Hyper Kit module onto your M.2 port and connect the U.2 device if you don't want to PCIE_1 bandwidth drop to x8. " Problem is the m.2 slot is directly under the first card slot, so any longer cards will not work because of the height of the hyper kit. Hopefully in a revision they make the option to enable either or, and not just m.2 or both.
    Last edited by dlwilliams; 07-01-2016 at 08:48 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    So what would happen with two video cards and a U.2 drive? I was thinking of doing dual 1080's and Intel 750. It sounds like if I get a U.2 version then I will cut PCIe 1 to x8. If I get the PCI version and place it slot 4 I was told weird things happen and if I put it in Slot 2 then I am again with an x8 video card. Is that right?

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Crash55 View Post
    So what would happen with two video cards and a U.2 drive? I was thinking of doing dual 1080's and Intel 750. It sounds like if I get a U.2 version then I will cut PCIe 1 to x8. If I get the PCI version and place it slot 4 I was told weird things happen and if I put it in Slot 2 then I am again with an x8 video card. Is that right?
    Depends on if you have a 40 lane or 28 lane CPU. Which are you considering?

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    6850k so 40 lane CPU.

    I would prefer the Intel 750 over the Samsung 950 due to its larger size but I don't want to cut PCIe 1 to x8

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Crash55 View Post
    6850k so 40 lane CPU.

    I would prefer the Intel 750 over the Samsung 950 due to its larger size but I don't want to cut PCIe 1 to x8
    My understanding is when the u.2 port is enabled, slots run at x16/x8/x8/x8. So basically, yes, you'd still have the first slot running at x16, but not the second. A pcie 750 rather than an u.2 would likely solve your issue.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •