Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Q-Fan profile

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Q-Fan profile

    I'm trying to create a fan profile for CHA2 fan which my case fans are connected to but is there a way to add more dots/circle on the graph as I would like to adjust the fan speed for each step of temps for example, 40C is 50%, 50C is 60% and so on?


  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    321
    Posts
    16,815

    Hi Casterina

    I know you can add more dots to a gpu fan profile in precision x and afterburner, to add more dots it's just a matter of clicking on the red line, if no dots appear then you must not be able to add any more.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Minsekt PC Specs
    Minsekt PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme / Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori7 5820K 4.5Ghz - 1.183v / 1.8 VCCIN / 6700K - 4.7GHZ - 1.360v
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GRK @ 3000-15-15-15-35-T2 / F4-3000C14D-16GTZ @ 3600 - 16-16-16-32-T2
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Graphics Card #2MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK WB R5E Monoblock / Supreme FX
    CaseVector VBC01
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ergodox / Atreus Custom
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset AKG K712 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch RP-260
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 360 Rad
    Accessory #2 2x 240 Rad
    Accessory #3 Dual Laing D5 w/ Custom Pump Top
    Minsekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    227

    sadly you cant add more than 3- manual qfan settings also allow only 3 steps. but i believe speedfan (the program) can add more than 3 steps if youre down to use it... its free.
    like here on their sites screenshot :
    Last edited by Minsekt; 06-27-2016 at 04:50 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I'm using the Akasa Apache PWM fans (600-1300RPM) but Q-Fan doesn't let me go below 20% speed which at 20% it runs at around 900RPM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I have switched from PWM to DC mode in the BIOS and the fans now idle at around 280RPM, does that mean there is something wrong with the PWM fan headers on the motherboard or the fans itself?

    Also to make the fans idle at around 400RPM, do I change it on the graph or in CPU Fan Speed Lower Limit?


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Minsekt PC Specs
    Minsekt PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme / Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori7 5820K 4.5Ghz - 1.183v / 1.8 VCCIN / 6700K - 4.7GHZ - 1.360v
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GRK @ 3000-15-15-15-35-T2 / F4-3000C14D-16GTZ @ 3600 - 16-16-16-32-T2
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Graphics Card #2MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK WB R5E Monoblock / Supreme FX
    CaseVector VBC01
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ergodox / Atreus Custom
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset AKG K712 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch RP-260
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 360 Rad
    Accessory #2 2x 240 Rad
    Accessory #3 Dual Laing D5 w/ Custom Pump Top
    Minsekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    227

    you should be using pwm mode.
    cpu fan speed lower limit is only for F1 Error Prompt. meaning if your fan is running lower than 200rpm there will be an F1 error on boot. (in case the fan is broken etc)
    cpu fan step up is the time the fan requires to speed up from lets say 20% to 50% speed. thats just because some programs can cause temp spikes and fan noise can be annoying.
    cpu fan step down is just the same.

    on cpu fan profile select manual and enter your speed. 20% is the lowest you can select. however ive found that it requires a few reboots sometimes to apply correctly. (on my M8F it works perfectly fine, on my R5E it requries some reboots for example)

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Minsekt View Post
    you should be using pwm mode.
    cpu fan speed lower limit is only for F1 Error Prompt. meaning if your fan is running lower than 200rpm there will be an F1 error on boot. (in case the fan is broken etc)
    cpu fan step up is the time the fan requires to speed up from lets say 20% to 50% speed. thats just because some programs can cause temp spikes and fan noise can be annoying.
    cpu fan step down is just the same.

    on cpu fan profile select manual and enter your speed. 20% is the lowest you can select. however ive found that it requires a few reboots sometimes to apply correctly. (on my M8F it works perfectly fine, on my R5E it requries some reboots for example)
    By few reboots, you mean to boot into Windows or BIOS?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Minsekt View Post
    you should be using pwm mode.
    cpu fan speed lower limit is only for F1 Error Prompt. meaning if your fan is running lower than 200rpm there will be an F1 error on boot. (in case the fan is broken etc)
    cpu fan step up is the time the fan requires to speed up from lets say 20% to 50% speed. thats just because some programs can cause temp spikes and fan noise can be annoying.
    cpu fan step down is just the same.

    on cpu fan profile select manual and enter your speed. 20% is the lowest you can select. however ive found that it requires a few reboots sometimes to apply correctly. (on my M8F it works perfectly fine, on my R5E it requries some reboots for example)
    I have tried PWM mode and rebooted few times but fans still runs at around 900RPM during idle and that is 20% fan speed according to the graph.

    DC mode works and my fans idle at around 280RPM however is there any disadvantages/problems using DC mode instead of PWM?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Casterina View Post
    I have tried PWM mode and rebooted few times but fans still runs at around 900RPM during idle and that is 20% fan speed according to the graph.

    DC mode works and my fans idle at around 280RPM however is there any disadvantages/problems using DC mode instead of PWM?
    Anyone?

  10. #10
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    Akasa states the minimum speed for these fans is 600RPM. For lower speed using PWM switch to a different fan that has the specifications meeting your expectations.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •