Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Adaptive Voltage Not Working

    I've overclocked my 4790k to 4.7Ghz @1.280v on a ASUS Maximus VII Hero with complete stability and good temperatures. After getting everything settled, I've looked to save some power and lower the idle temperatures of my cores by switching from manual voltage mode to adaptive voltage mode.

    The issue that I'm having is that neither my clock speeds nor my core voltage are being lowered when I'm on the desktop doing very little to nothing at all, even though I've now switched to adaptive mode (and have power saving settings turned on in the BIOS -- a screenshot can be provided if needed, but everything in the bios was simply left to default except for the few things I changed while overclocking originally).

    After boot up, within the first 5 minutes or so of idling on the desktop, my voltages and clock speeds seem to be behaving as they should; they aren't running at full speed. (Screenshot of correct idle below)


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Correct Idle.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	214.6 KB 
ID:	57954




    After that first 5 minutes or so, my CPU's clock speed and core voltage runs at full speed even though nothing has changed -- I'm still idling. (Screenshot of this below)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Full Speed.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	225.5 KB 
ID:	57955



    As you can see, the temperature difference is pretty large, which is why I'd really like to get this working properly.

    Here's a screenshot of my adaptive voltage mode settings in the bios as well.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adf5376cd18fcdf4bd9659ec4d271405.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	32.7 KB 
ID:	57952

    I've done the following already :
    1.) Used both (+/-) offset modes
    2.) Clean reinstalled Windows 7
    3.) Used auto offset mode
    4.) Set my Windows power plan to "Balanced"

    Any help would be greatly appreciated and I'm also willing to accept that I'm misunderstanding how adaptive even works!
    Last edited by Rime97; 06-29-2016 at 08:10 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Hi Rime97

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    You'll want the windows power plan set to balanced when using adaptive mode, check this and report if this gets your cpu to throttle down.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hello!

    Quote Originally Posted by Rime97 View Post
    =
    4.) Set my Windows power plan to "Balanced"
    I actually already have. Power plan is "Balanced"; minimum processor state = 10%.
    Last edited by Rime97; 06-29-2016 at 08:30 PM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    All right

    There could be something running in the back ground putting a little load on your cpu, check the cpu usage while idling at the desktop.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    When my processor is properly downclocking and undervolting in that first 5 minute period that I talked about, the CPU usage is under 10%, even getting as low as 3%.

    Once my processor goes to full speed and stays there while idling, the CPU usage is about 10-14%.

    The thing that really gets me about this is that I just reinstalled Windows 7 and this still happened when the only thing that I had installed was chrome, certain drivers from the motherboard website, a graphics driver and AIDA64 to check voltages/clock speeds (I haven't been running any tests with it since switching off of manual voltage).

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Yeah whatever is putting a 10%-14% load on your cpu is making it run at full speed.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Do you have any suggestions on where to look for help about this?

    I'm really lost. I can do nothing but turn my computer on, open nothing and have nothing open automatically on boot up and this will still happen after several minutes.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Yes, open up task manger Ctrl+Alt+Del and click the processes tab, this will show you what program is putting a load on your cpu in %.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bd9d9c9568fbdad8886533ea06935dac.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	65.9 KB 
ID:	57957

    I don't see anything that should be causing a problem. I might try restarting my computer then just watching the processes tab, seeing if anything appears when my CPU starts running at full speed.

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    That sounds like a great idea, let me know what you find.

    When taking this screenshot was your cpu idling at 800MHz ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •