Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Feklar PC Specs
    Feklar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Extreme
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z Royal F4-4400C18D-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA w/ Hydro Copper Waterblock
    MonitorLG38gl950g
    Storage #1Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    Storage #2850 Evo 1TB and 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CasePhanteks Enthoo 719
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Ultrasone Pro 750
    Headset/Speakers Schiit Gungnir DAC w/Violectric V100 Headphone Amp
    OS Windows 10 Professional
    Accessory #1 Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    Accessory #2 Koolance Fittings and QDC's
    Accessory #3 Tech N CPU block w/EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Feklar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    Rampage V E 10 Bios question

    So there are 2 bios chips on the board. Both had 0502 on them. Using the button on the board I switched to bios 2 and updated it to 0801. I then booted in to Win 7 Pro nor!mally. Once in windows I get a on screen notice that my windows serial number was invalid and and windows needs to be reactivated. Of course I did not because it has been activated for a week or two already. A right click on their my computer icon showed I had 3 days until windows automatically activates. I shut the computer down and switched back to bios 1 chip, booted back in to windows and it showed windows was activated again. Looks like switching to bios 2 chip prompted the Windows activation request. If this is the case it's an issue. Anyone else experienced this? Also wonder why there is no capability to copy bios 1 to bios 2 or even switch to bios 2 without physically having to remove the case cover and pressing a button.

    i9 10900k + Asus Maximus XII Extreme + EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA
    Trident Z Royal F4-4000C19D-32GTRS + Samsung 860 Pro SSD, EVO 1TB, EVO 2TB
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2 Power Supply + Phanteks Enthoo 719 case
    Tech N CPU block, EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Koolance Fittings and QDC's + Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    LG 38GL950G Monitor +
    Windows 10 Pro

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,234

    Quote Originally Posted by Feklar View Post
    So there are 2 bios chips on the board. Both had 0502 on them. Using the button on the board I switched to bios 2 and updated it to 0801. I then booted in to Win 7 Pro nor!mally. Once in windows I get a on screen notice that my windows serial number was invalid and and windows needs to be reactivated. Of course I did not because it has been activated for a week or two already. A right click on their my computer icon showed I had 3 days until windows automatically activates. I shut the computer down and switched back to bios 1 chip, booted back in to windows and it showed windows was activated again. Looks like switching to bios 2 chip prompted the Windows activation request. If this is the case it's an issue. Anyone else experienced this? Also wonder why there is no capability to copy bios 1 to bios 2 or even switch to bios 2 without physically having to remove the case cover and pressing a button.
    Yes, I have seen this before too. Don't have a fix at this time, and don't know why it's an issue.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19037
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    711

    I'll mention that to the team in the Windows insiders program. So that tells me it refers to the bios chip for activation in windows.


    Edit: submitted to Microsoft for bug fix.
    Last edited by FireRx; 07-02-2016 at 02:37 AM.
    Intel Core i9 10900X @4.7ghz @1.182v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 3105]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 30909 FE
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Feklar PC Specs
    Feklar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Extreme
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z Royal F4-4400C18D-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA w/ Hydro Copper Waterblock
    MonitorLG38gl950g
    Storage #1Samsung 860 Evo 2TB
    Storage #2850 Evo 1TB and 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling
    CasePhanteks Enthoo 719
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Ultrasone Pro 750
    Headset/Speakers Schiit Gungnir DAC w/Violectric V100 Headphone Amp
    OS Windows 10 Professional
    Accessory #1 Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    Accessory #2 Koolance Fittings and QDC's
    Accessory #3 Tech N CPU block w/EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Feklar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    Thanks guys.

    i9 10900k + Asus Maximus XII Extreme + EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA
    Trident Z Royal F4-4000C19D-32GTRS + Samsung 860 Pro SSD, EVO 1TB, EVO 2TB
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 T2 Power Supply + Phanteks Enthoo 719 case
    Tech N CPU block, EVGA Hydro Copper GPU block
    Koolance Fittings and QDC's + Mo-Ra 3 Pro 4x180 Radiator
    LG 38GL950G Monitor +
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Onimax PC Specs
    Onimax PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V DIMM Kit 128GB, DDR4-3000, CL14-14-14-34 (F4-3000C14Q2-128GVKD)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Monitor2* ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GiB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TiB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom loop
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    149

    If you are using the EFI version of windows with secure boot to start your system it could be due to both chips not having the same secure boot keys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •