Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)GLR416GB3000C15ADC
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GeForce 1070 O8G
    Storage #1256GB Samsung SM951-NVMe M.2
    Storage #2500 GB Samsung EVO 850
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Matterhorn
    CasePhenteks Enthoo Pro M
    Power Supplybe quiet! Pure Power 530W
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question DDR4-3000 does not run under correct frequence, Maximus VIII Hero

    Hi,

    I have the Maximus VIII Hero with latest BIOS (1701) and 32 GB of GeIL Superluce DDR4-3000 (2 2x8GB Kits. so all 4 slots used).
    Timings are 15-17-17-35, for further info about the ram: The model number for the kit is GLR416GB3000C15ADC and the specs can be found here: http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/512

    However, it seems I have a problem with it:

    When configured on AUTO the BIOS shows only 2100 as frequency for the ram and when I select XMP profile for DDR4-3000 the system won't boot up.
    Its telling me overclocking failed and I need to enter the BIOS again.

    I'm not an expert in tweaking and overclocking, however I want to have the system run at a little bit of more performance than component-stock-speeds would allow.
    However my step would be to get it running at stock speeds, do some benchmarks, then start tweaking and compare benchmarks.

    So how would I configure the BIOS to correctly run the memory at the correct frequency of 3000 MHz for the first part?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    2133 is stock speed, even though it is rated at 3000 mhz that is overclocked, start by reading the overclocking guide here on these forums and try entering the XMP settings manually, the voltage, frequency and first set of timings, 15-17-35, 1.35 volts, you may have to increase VCSA and VCIO voltages to get it there

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)GLR416GB3000C15ADC
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GeForce 1070 O8G
    Storage #1256GB Samsung SM951-NVMe M.2
    Storage #2500 GB Samsung EVO 850
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Matterhorn
    CasePhenteks Enthoo Pro M
    Power Supplybe quiet! Pure Power 530W
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks, Menthol.

    So just that I understand this correctly: I have to overclock my RAM already to run with the specified speed?
    And then there maybe is still a bit more margin to overclock further?

    I will go on and read through the overclocking guide, but up to now I'm already overwhelmed by things like tRP, tRAS and stuff, and the guide is not really explaining what all this means. So it probably will take some time until I figure out what I am going to do and where to find all that in the settings.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    To avoid problems like this, you should stick to a single memory kit instead of combining two.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    PhoenixHawk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)GLR416GB3000C15ADC
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GeForce 1070 O8G
    Storage #1256GB Samsung SM951-NVMe M.2
    Storage #2500 GB Samsung EVO 850
    CPU CoolerAlpenföhn Matterhorn
    CasePhenteks Enthoo Pro M
    Power Supplybe quiet! Pure Power 530W
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    2133 is stock speed, even though it is rated at 3000 mhz that is overclocked, start by reading the overclocking guide here on these forums and try entering the XMP settings manually, the voltage, frequency and first set of timings, 15-17-35, 1.35 volts, you may have to increase VCSA and VCIO voltages to get it there
    Okay, that didn't work out as expected.

    I can run the RAM with 2900 MHz with 1.35V and AUTO VCCIO and System Agent currents.

    However I could not get the system to boot up with 3000 MHz.
    Even if I increase DRAM Voltage up to 1.38 and also increase VCCIO to 1.2 and SA to 1.25 the system won't start. Board stops booting with Error code 55 and after a hard power cycle it says overclocking failed and goes back to 2133 MHz.

    So, what would be the next options / steps to use the RAM at the designated speed and timings?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Bishopheals PC Specs
    Bishopheals PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core 6850X
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 1080 08G
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 1080 08G
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX
    MonitorAsus 348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy Evo,
    CaseCase labs THW10
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset ART Monitor ATH-A900X
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliath Control edition
    Headset/Speakers Rockit 5
    OS Windows 10 pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios 200Meg Upload and Download
    Accessory #1 Yeti Mic, 2 CableMod RGB strips, 22 Noctua 240mm 3k rpm
    Accessory #2 EK-Supremacy EVO CPU Water Block, AlphaCool Monsta 4 240 fan
    Accessory #3 EK-FC1080 GTX GPU Waterblock - Acetal, EK-FC1080 GTX Backplate

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by PhoenixHawk View Post
    Okay, that didn't work out as expected.

    I can run the RAM with 2900 MHz with 1.35V and AUTO VCCIO and System Agent currents.

    However I could not get the system to boot up with 3000 MHz.
    Even if I increase DRAM Voltage up to 1.38 and also increase VCCIO to 1.2 and SA to 1.25 the system won't start. Board stops booting with Error code 55 and after a hard power cycle it says overclocking failed and goes back to 2133 MHz.

    So, what would be the next options / steps to use the RAM at the designated speed and timings?
    I used to have issues like that. What helped is xmp profile. most of the time XMP was on point. Keyword most of the time. Things to check which i think yout touched on voltage of the dram. Just make sure you key in manual the voltage of the memory. Then you want to leave cpu on default settings. May want to increase default voltage of the cpu to the recomeneded volts of your CPU from Intel.
    No overclock. See if the board boots and if she does then run a memtest and stress out the system running prime 95. this will ruile out any defects in the hardware. If all this runs then you have blessings to go on and overcl0ock your cpu.
    So to make it easier set the bios back to default or optimize default settings. Then go to the memory and select xmp profile. Then go to voltage and manually key int he voltage for your memory and save it. Then boot. Run the Stress test to rule out any issues.

    Hope that helps.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •