cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS G752vl.. Do I need to set it up for games?

Eric_98
Level 7
Hello! I have a question about my new computer, as seen in the title, I got an ASUS G752vl as a gift and well... I never really have been a computer gamer, all my life I have only really been able to play on consoles. But! I'm just curious, do I need to do anything before I play games? Such as set something up or what not? I am a complete newbie with computers, and don't know much.

As of now, I do have steam, and have tried a few other games as a test.

But, I hope to play games such as subnautica, parkitect, the forest, and definitely Dishonored as well as the new Dishonored 2 when it comes out.

Is there anything I should know about setting this up to play games? Or can I just download and play? Thanks for reading and sorry for being so new to all this.
5 REPLIES 5

kidfromhell
Level 9
Congratulations on your new notebook and welcome to the ROG forums. Since you're a newbie, I'd keep this simple.
1. First of all, no configuration required. All you have to make sure is that the notebook is connected to an AC adapter when gaming (to increase the longevity of the battery and not to kill it fast). Also put the notebook under 'High Performance' mode (from battery options) when gaming. It doesn't matter much, but you don't want an underclocked CPU while gaming, do you?
2. Try to update the graphics driver to the latest version. Also, try to 'Clean Install' every-time you update. There are a couple of ways to do a clean install, but the easiest one would be checking a box in the NVIDIA driver update dialog box after you start the update.