Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Can i install os to msata of my asus g551jx-dm036h rog laptop?

    I want to install SSD in my "Asus G551JX-DM036H ROG "

    Well mSATA is for cache only? not like another drive to boot os and use ssd as os?


    But if i install 250GB SSD on my Asus G551JX-DM036H ROG
    Then can i install OS in that mSATA SSD and boot it also??

    PLease help me i am confused it is strictly for CACHE or i can really install OS in it even.


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Yes you can install the OS to an M2 drive.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Yes you can install the OS to an M2 drive.
    Is mSATA m.2?

    In Msata can install os in it?

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Quote Originally Posted by akwin View Post
    Is mSATA m.2?

    In Msata can install os in it?
    Sorry, not the same but still you can install the OS on it.

    Without going through it all again........
    This same topic has been discussed last September.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...475#post533475

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Sorry, not the same but still you can install the OS on it.

    Without going through it all again........
    This same topic has been discussed last September.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...475#post533475
    thanks a lot.. i understanded all now

    only 2 silly questions if u can really know about it:

    1. moving primary HDD to DVD BAY using CADDY & adding new SSD in primary
    2. installing mSATA myself ( it is too inside in my laptop need to open it whole almost

    1 and 2 what can void warranty ? Both?

    As per link: https://rog.asus.com/15842014/hands-...upgrade-guide/
    Seems like adding caddy and changing HDD is legit but i do not know about mSATA.
    Also moving primary HDD to CADDY and adding SSD to primary SATA is legit or will void warranty i have no diea!


    Thanks

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Anything in the user serviceable area does not void any warranty. One user has reported that when they did use a caddy the sata connection for the caddy cooked and warranty did not cover it.
    Technically if you go past the user serviceable are the warranty is voided but there are no seals there so the only thing that would show someone was there would be tool marks made by a fool.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •