Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    RVE10: SupremeFX Hi-Fi Front Panel Problems

    Greetings!

    I just finished a new build with the Rampage V Edition 10, i7-6850k, and GTX 1080s in SLI. While I'm generally pleased with the board's performance, I have been quite disappointed with the front panel audio.

    Here are my issues/supporting information:

    - I'm using Sennheiser HD650s with a 6.3mm jack.

    - While I can get sound from the SupremeFX Hi-Fi headphone output on the front panel, it sounds pretty dull and unimpressive compared with the sound blaster zxr.

    - The impedance check works fine.

    - I can't get Sonic Suite II to interact with the SupremeFX Hi-Fi headphone output (i.e. front panel). This means the software options available in SSII (e.g., equalizer) have no effect on how my headphones sound when plugged into the front panel.

    - Teamspeak 3 won't recognize the SupremeFX Hi-Fi headphone output.

    - the microphone on the SupremeFX Hi-Fi front panel is extremely quiet - even when the volume is set to the maximum level. If I connect it to the rear panel, it works well.

    I have triple-checked that all drivers are installed (i.e., both Realtek and SupremeFX Hi-Fi) and that the front panel is connected to the motherboard and PSU properly. There are only two connections, so it would be hard to do improperly.

    The supporting documentation is unhelpful, lacking a meaningful description of how to configure these audio devices and how to use them. The examples on YouTube appear to describe previous versions of SSII that have almost no connection with how the current software looks or operates.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to troubleshoot this issue?
    Last edited by tgwEcho; 07-10-2016 at 06:33 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    94

    Just to attract attention to HiFi panel problems, yours or others, I will add mine to this thread:
    I have 2 Windows 10 partitions (one is Home, retail; one is Pro, lastest Insider Fast build).
    On the retail OS I got HiFi box working, sounds great, I only miss the auto-output switch based on plug detection, being all Realtek stuff it should be possible!
    But....in the Insider build Sonic Studio and HiFi driver are installed but clicking on the icons does nothing. Sonic Studio does not open. HiFi box application shows "Jack selection" screen. After clicking on a jack and on "next", nothing opens. Reinstalling all these programs in various ways, both from the ROG pendrive and from Asus website, rebooting in between, nothing fixes it.
    Does a "Asus Supreme audio files Cleaner" type of solution exist?

    Ah, extra info: In the Windows Playback Device screen, when I click "Test" on the HiFibox it shows sound levels going up and down. But no audio from headphones...

    Questions:
    a) is Sonic Studio needed at all to use the HiFi box? (Looks like a pretty useless software to me, I don't use effects.)
    b) being the HiFi Box USB based, does order of software installation matter?
    c) can the HiFi box be used when onboard Supreme audio is disabled in BIOS (p.e. in case you have a plug-in audio card)?
    Last edited by erixx11; 07-10-2016 at 11:09 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    94

    terrific: I could not make this panel working with W10 Insider Fast, but at least it was working with stock W10.... sounds "nice" (not a huge step but wtf)

    Well, until yesterday. I just booted into Win10 Home (my partition for games etc) and nothing works, no Hifi box, no Sonic Suite... what a bloody ****!!! Taiwan software drama again! Please check your stuff guys!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Also having issues...

    I am also having these issues. I have gotten it to work only 2 times and each time i get distortion at bitrates 192hz and above. Seems to have driver related issues.

    What I did to get it working:
    1. Removed SupremeFX software from PC (do not reboot yet).
    2. I went into Device Manager (clicked show hidden) and removed every single thing related to SupremeFX. *Note I kept the realtek stuff installed.
    3. Shutdown the PC, unplugged the PCIe cable from the DAC.
    4. Started PC, opened CCleaner and cleaned registry.
    5. Shutdown the PC, replugged in the PCIe cable into the DAC.
    6. Started PC, Installed SupremeFX package and restarted pc.

    This happened to work, your mileage may vary. I tried every easier solution, like not unplugging pcie, just reinstalled drivers, etc.. It never worked.

    The issue I believe is indeed the drivers. When I change headphone jack from 6.3 to 3.5 I hear a click (which I'm guessing is the hardware switching inputs) when it is working. I didn't hear this switch at all when the headphones didn't work. The volume knob also didn't work at all. Once I could manipulate the volume knob and it showed up in the SupremeFX software the audio would work again.

    Overall I am displeased with the drivers and DAC as a whole. I hope they get the issues sorted out.

    Side Issue: The mic in on the DAC is EXTREMELY low volume when working.

    System Specs: Windows 10 Pro x64, 6850k, rve10, 16gb 3200mhz ram, 980ti, ax860 psu,
    Last edited by nonnac7; 07-14-2016 at 12:18 AM. Reason: Added System Specs

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    An Update

    Just wanted to post an update, while it does work for most programs I am still having issues with games recognizing it as the default sound device. Some games I get no sound while using SupremeFX Hi-Fi, and other games I get the game sound but the ingame voice communication will not be working.

    No Sound in Games:
    Evolve Stage 2

    No sound in voice communication in Games:
    Overwatch

    Obviously as I get to playing more games I will be able to enlarge this list.

    Games that seems to work fine:
    Black Desert Online
    Arma 3 (although I haven't tested the in game voice communication)
    Rainbow 6 Siege (usually in TS so I haven't checked in game voice communication)

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Add: Teamspeak3, Arma3, Insurgency, SupremeFX

    Just wanna add my 2 cents, my setup is the Rampage V Edition 10.

    Teamspeak3 recognise SupremeFX as an audio device but when you select and apply you get an error message saying "Cannot Open Audio Device".

    So I end up having the Speaker icon showing it is muted.

    In-game:
    Insurgency will not play any sound until you go to in-game audio settings and toggle the playback for example from 2 Speakers to Headphones and that somehow brings back the sound.

    In-game:
    Arma 3. No issue, but a problem when you need to use TS to get TFR working.

    I think the only fix will have to come in the form of a drive update by ASUS.

    Regards,
    Ferdinand

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    More problems with the SupremeFX HiFi:

    Star Citizen does not launch if the card is active. I had to disable the card to be able to get the launcher to actually launch. Here is the error log:

    [1012/221337:ERROR_REPORT:audio_output_device.cc(67)] Check failed: params.IsValid().
    [1012/221337:ERROR_REPORT:ipc_message_utils_impl.h(24)] Check failed: false. Error deserializing message 2424935

    So, it seems they are getting a bad configuration. Also, it seems to be a chrome bug, Star Citizen uses Chrome on the launcher.

    After disabling the card the launcher starts properly. After patching the game and logging in I can then start the game directly without the launcher and it works fine with audio on the SupremeFX HiFi.

    Guild Wars 2, no sound at all. The game refuses to use the SupremeFX HiFi

    When can we expect to have a solid release (non-beta) of the driver for the SupremeFX HiFi?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Question to the admin.
    Why did you delete my post?

  9. #9
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by Catalonia View Post
    Question to the admin.
    Why did you delete my post?
    It was more than one post. I have grown tired of of your continual typing in a manner that requires the forum's swear filter to be activated. Any further violations of the forum rules will result in the loss pf posting privileges.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    It was more than one post. I have grown tired of of your continual typing in a manner that requires the forum's swear filter to be activated. Any further violations of the forum rules will result in the loss pf posting privileges.
    If you're tired... Just try to imagine how we customers are after receiving this non existent support for a defective extremely expensive motherboard, and after continuous and continuous post Asus keeps ingnoring us.

    None of the posts I wrote were violent, just the result of an angry customer that is receiving zero support from Asus for a terrible product.

    Are you some sort of Asus representative? Or just taking care of swears in the form? We NEED an answer from Asus and we're left in the dust. 0

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •