Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    MAX VIII Ext - Locks at Shutdown, and Touchscreen touch not working on boot?

    BIOS 1601

    Oops, never mind the Shutdown problem. I see other posts about that problem...

    My other problem I am not sure if it might be a MB or BIOS problem. But I've had a touchscreen for a few years. On Windows 7 it worked fine. But on Windows 10 and this Max VIII Ext MB that I got soon after Windows 10,.. My touchscreen does not recognize any touch until I unplug it's USB plug and then plug it back in. It works just fine, until I reboot. Then I have to do that after every time that I boot. It's hard to access the plug, so it's just very annoying. Could this be a MB or BIOS problem?

    Thanks
    Last edited by Snacko; 07-14-2016 at 07:35 PM.
    Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz 8M Processor Cache 4 LGA 1151 (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz 1.38v; 1601 BIOS)
    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel Z170 Intel
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200
    Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    GeForce GTX 980 4gb
    Corsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX
    2x SanDisk 250gb SSDs (Raid0 total 500gb)
    2X WD VelociRaptor SATA 300gb 16mb Cache (Raid0 total 600gb)

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    I installed a fresh copy.

    When I unplug and then plug in my touchscreen's usb for the touch control, the Event Viewer has 2 Information entries.

    The first one says:
    The description for Event ID 267 from source Win32k cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.
    And the second Information event says:
    The start type of the Touch Keyboard and Handwriting Panel Service service was changed from demand start to auto start.
    So, I am wondering if something is corrupt that causes the Windows 10 touchscreen device to cause the event to load it's drivers?

    I have no drivers for my touchscreen. It's a Hanspree touchscreen, and they don't even make them. Windows drivers handle the touchscreen. So, it's not like I can install the drivers manually.
    Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz 8M Processor Cache 4 LGA 1151 (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz 1.38v; 1601 BIOS)
    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel Z170 Intel
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200
    Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    GeForce GTX 980 4gb
    Corsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX
    2x SanDisk 250gb SSDs (Raid0 total 500gb)
    2X WD VelociRaptor SATA 300gb 16mb Cache (Raid0 total 600gb)

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Never mind! I think it's fixed. I thought I had tried this before. And I though it would only fix it while the pc was running. Not permenently and after booting. But it seems like it's fixed. I've booted Restart and Shutdown and it's working both times. Fingers crossed!

    Open your Start menu, and type in Device Manager to search for it. Click on it in the results to open it. Click on the arrow next to Human Interface Devices to open up the drop down menu for it. Then find and right click HID-compliant touch screen. Click Disable. It will ask if you want to disable it because it may stop working - click Yes. Then right click again and click Enable, or Re-enable.
    Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz 8M Processor Cache 4 LGA 1151 (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz 1.38v; 1601 BIOS)
    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel Z170 Intel
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200
    Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    GeForce GTX 980 4gb
    Corsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX
    2x SanDisk 250gb SSDs (Raid0 total 500gb)
    2X WD VelociRaptor SATA 300gb 16mb Cache (Raid0 total 600gb)

  5. #5

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Damit, that stopped working. I've rebooted a few more times and it stopped working.

    (Always like to post a solution, in case I have the problem again someday.. ;-) )

    EDIT:
    Well, the bottom line is this fixes it until the pc loses power. For some reason, losing power to the pc causes the touch to stop working completely. I have a email to Hannspree support, but do not have high hopes.
    Last edited by Snacko; 07-18-2016 at 02:06 PM.
    Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz 8M Processor Cache 4 LGA 1151 (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz 1.38v; 1601 BIOS)
    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel Z170 Intel
    G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200
    Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    GeForce GTX 980 4gb
    Corsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX
    2x SanDisk 250gb SSDs (Raid0 total 500gb)
    2X WD VelociRaptor SATA 300gb 16mb Cache (Raid0 total 600gb)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •