Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 138
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Quote Originally Posted by Not_Enough_Rage View Post
    I don`t know what I did wrong in setting up the drives during Windows install. I followed the directions from this link.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/faq/id-2...l-windows.html

    When I did the install, I unplugged the signal cable from the HDD, so that I know for certain that Windows will be installed on the SSD.
    And after the install it asked me to choose a boot record; MBR or GUID. I chose GUID. Is this where my mistake was?

    I guess I will just buy a new SSD and start over.
    What about the HDD? Is that one corrupted too?

    Will I still be able to use my Windows 10 disc again? I was wondering if it will reject it because the license is already activated from first install?

    Whether you choose GUID (GPT) or MBR format depends on your system disks and GUID partitioning allows for much larger disks.
    It is a newer technology however, Windows can only boot from GPT on UEFI-based computers running 64-bit versions of Windows.

    MBR format is still the most compatible for older systems and is still necessary in some cases. In terms of recovery from data corruption GPT has better capability than MBR.

    Essentially, you did nothing wrong in your choice of going with GUID so long as the above is understood.

    Many Windows 10 users need to convert MBR to GPT or convert GPT to MBR depending on their own requirements.

    You can give this a try to convert GUID /GPT Partition to MBR.

    Download this trial software, install and launch it: http://www.disk-partition.com/download-pro.html

    Right click the disk you want to convert and then choose Convert to MBR Disk.

    Let me know the results, as I have never had to do this and I hope it works for you.

    BTW: There should be nothing wrong with your other HDD.

    Regarding Windows installation, You don't need the licence key to install Windows 10 by obtaining the Media Creation tool from MS.
    Go here: http://www.howtogeek.com/244678/you-...se-windows-10/
    The Media Creation Tool from here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-20-2016 at 12:40 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    173

    I can`t even run the partition assistant software. It also goes to the CDFS file. Looks like I`m going to have to buy a new SSD and start over.
    Do you think you might know what I could have done that made the CDFS format?
    Was I supposed to format the SSD and HDD before or after Windows install?
    Maybe I should not have unplugged the HDD during Windows install?
    Just trying to figure out what went wrong so I don`t repeat it. If there are detailed instructions you can post for me to follow - would be great. Maybe the instructions I followed were for Linux?

    Now I also know why I can`t play Fallout 4. It never even went to the drive after downloading it.

  3. #23
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Hi Not_Enough_Rage

    Disconnect your 1TB hdd then try installing windows in uefi mode, windows will automatically partition your drive so you shouldn't have to set anything.

    Select your DVD burner/usb flash drive (however you are installing windows) with UEFI in front if it as Boot Priority 1,

    F10 and Enter to save and exit then upon reboot it will say press any key then you will have options to delete and format your drive, I do both.

    Once windows installs make sure "windows boot manager' is set as Boot Priority 1 then turn off your pc and connect your 1TB hdd.

    Let me know how this goes.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    173

    Hi Nate152;
    I won`t have a chance to try this tonight. I think I`ll be able to tomorrow.
    On question though. I installed Windows the first time exactly how you said to do it. I unplugged the HDD and in the UEFI BIOS I set the BD player to first priority (boot) and the SSD second and HDD third priority. (even though it was unplugged) Then installed Windows. After Windows was installed, I went back into BIOS and changed the SSD first priority, HDD second, and BD player third.
    So, I think something went wrong, or I did`nt do something right during Windows install. I don`t know what I could have done, and there is a possibility I may do it again. Also the original problem that I posted about at the beginning of post may even come back.
    So, I`ll try re-installing Windows again tomorrow night and I`ll post back how it went.
    There are programs and software already saved on the SSD. Will all of it be erased during the formatting and re-installation? I don`t want there to be traces of software scattered on the drive.

    Is it possible that by unplugging the HDD during Windows install, Windows was not able to configure and format the HDD and therefore merged it with the C: drive creating CDFS?
    Last edited by Not_Enough_Rage; 07-20-2016 at 11:45 PM.

  5. #25
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Windows 10 should install all the necessary drivers, at least it does for me when I do the free upgrade.

    After installing windows (if all goes well) check in device manager for any yellow triangles or unknown devices, if you don't see any you should be good to go.

    You are doing a UEFI install correct?

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    173

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You are doing a UEFI install correct?
    By that you mean setting the boot priority thru UEFI and save, then restart with disc in BD player, right?

    I thought the chipset drivers come from the Asus support disc. After I installed Windows, I installed the drivers that were on that disc, plus the Asus apps.

  7. #27
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Yeah to do a UEFI install select your BD player with UEFI in front of it, it should be listed twice one with UEFI and one without. If you get the unauthorized changes in windows, firmware error click on secure boot and select other OS.

    Then after windows installs select "windows boot manager" as boot priority 1.

    It's easy to do and should go smooth, is there any way you can get on here with another pc while installing windows ?

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    173

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    , is there any way you can get on here with another pc while installing windows ?
    Yea, I still have my old computer.

  9. #29
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Great !

    You can tell us how it's going as you're doing it.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Not_Enough_Rage PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Phhhtt!
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 4GHZ LGA1151
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V 3200MB 16GB (8x2) CL14
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GeForce 1080ti Amp! Extreme
    Graphics Card #2Maybe next year.
    Graphics Card #3Not likely.
    Graphics Card #4You think I`m Mr. Moneybags!
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorAsus PG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 850EVO 500GB, Samsung 860EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 1TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1000 P2 Platinum
    Keyboard G,Skill RipJaws KM780 RGB Cherry
    Mouse G.Skill RipJaws MX780
    Headset Just the holes in my head.
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine 5+ and Audioengine S8
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 64Bit
    Network RouterComcast Cable Blast 300MB
    Accessory #1 LG Blu-Ray Optical Drive
    Accessory #2 Gonna put some LED bling in there.
    Accessory #3 No, this is a man`s PC!
    Not_Enough_Rage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    173

    In BIOS now, but I clicked on the BD drive in boot override and now the BD drive is gone from boot list!!

Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •