Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    !No signal crash! STRIX 980TI on any 36x.xx driver. Pls help

    Hey peeps,

    I have a strange issue here, I recently got a 980ti STRIX.

    The card works flawlessly and overclocks like a beast and I'm mostly very happy with it! However.

    When tomb raider came out I updated to the game ready driver at that time (not sure exactly what version but definately a 36x.xx driver).

    I imediately encountered crashes to a black screen at random intervals, especially when alt tabbing or exiting (guessing whenever screen mode changed).

    Since then ANY 36x.xx driver will cause this issue for me. My only solution is to use an older driver, currently 355.98 works flawlessly with no issues for hours. This is frustrating however as some games wont run on such an old driver..

    I've heard of this issue elsewhere but I'm stugging to find a fix. The guys on the geforce driver forums are saying it could be a similar issue to the display port bugs that were found and that an updated bios may fix this. However where would I find one?

    I am running through HDMI to my Samsung tv so this could be the case.

    I'm on windows 10 x64 with a 1200w psu.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Morkrah View Post
    Since then ANY 36x.xx driver will cause this issue for me. My only solution is to use an older driver, currently 355.98 works flawlessly with no issues for hours. This is frustrating however as some games wont run on such an old driver..

    I've heard of this issue elsewhere but I'm stugging to find a fix. The guys on the geforce driver forums are saying it could be a similar issue to the display port bugs that were found and that an updated bios may fix this. However where would I find one?

    I am running through HDMI to my Samsung tv so this could be the case.
    We never got an updated bios for the Strix 980Ti as far as i know, the official is 84.00.36.00.2B which you should be able to check with GPU-Z. If its not you can download it from TechPowerUp BUT please learn how to do it 1st or you will brick your GPU. The 364.**/365.** drivers are infamous for the problems they cause, so you shouldn't use them, but 368.69 seem to be working perfectly so far (at least for me).


    http://www.overclock.net/t/1523391/e...or-gtx-970-980 - guide

    https://www.techpowerup.com/download...-0-for-windows - flash program

    https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...ti-6144-150714 - bios
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Hey there, thanks for the info.

    I'll take a look at the version tonight. I've looked into the bios before and mine is different to others as I was able to get more voltage. So maybe I am out of date.

    Are those drivers your using the newest just released? I got the crash about 30 seconds into using them

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Looks like I have an AS 03 bios.

    Version: 84.00.36.00.AS03

    Date: 18/june/2015

    That does seem pretty old to me?

    Hmm

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    I researched a bit, there seems to be more bios then i thought, your AS03 is the 1st one made BUT also seems to be the only one that has voltage partially unlocked. There is also this one newer, but no guarantees that it will work 100% tbh, trial and error ?

    https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...ti-6144-160226
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Yeah I heard about the voltage being capped in newer versions over at overclock.net.

    Tbh I'm not that bothered about max overclock providing the card works as intended with the newer drivers.

    Ill try the newest version I can find and see what happens

    EDIT: might try the STRIX OC BIOS, I know the card can easily handle the clocks and it's a 2016 bios so newest available.

    Will report back as soon as I'm able
    Last edited by Morkrah; 07-18-2016 at 01:31 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Just finished talking with ASUS and they said...

    Alright, the only drivers we can recommend using are versions 359.06 and 353.62. These are the ones specifically designed for the ASUS hardware.

    So I asked if my card wasn't compatible with newer drivers to which they said..

    No, I am saying that we can only recommend using the drivers from ASUS as you have an ASUS product. We cannot guarantee that drivers from the manufacturer of the chipset won't cause issues.

    Fairly standard response tbh which I should have expected..

    They also said..

    I'm sorry to inform that there isn't any vBIOS available

    So this really didn't help me :/

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array St.Johann PC Specs
    St.Johann PC Specs
    MotherboardMAXIMUS VIII RANGER Intel® Z170
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K Skylake@4,8
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2133MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RTX2070-O8G-GAMING@GPU2025/Mem14000MHz
    MonitorBenq M2700HD+Samsung 24......
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseCooler Master HAF 922
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750w
    Keyboard Logitech G110
    Mouse Logitech G500s
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 800
    Mouse Pad Svive
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    For me the problem was GPU Tweak!

    Hey, it's just tomb raider that crash. I would have updated the game. Have had In a similar problem, but in every game
    with a 970 cards. Fans do not start, it gets hot 91.celius and turns off. no signal!
    I think the problem was GPU Tweak!

    I used:

    ASUS GPUTweakII RemoveTool
    ASUS GPU Tweak II Remove Tool could help you uninstall GPU Tweak II completely before update to a new version/msi afterburner
    I use now GPU TweakII V1.0.3.6 and it works great GPU 1400 and memory at 7500MHz

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...signal-problem

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    1622

    No for me Its all games that crash to no signal :/

    And I don't use gpu tweak

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •