Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Rampage V Edition 10 - Memory Issue

    I just built a new PC using this board and used 4 DIMMs. Upon boot though only 3 of the 4 are being found. Slots B1, C1, D1 are all found but not A1.
    I reseated the memory and no change. I then swapped the DIMM in Slot D1 with the one in A1 and still nothing is seen in A1.
    However the DIMM that was in A1 is now seen in D1.

    Memory is GSkill TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB)DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Model F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW

    The LED on the MB for Channel A is not lit up.

    I also noticed the LED for PCIe 1 is not lit but the one for PCIe Slot 3 is. I have GPUs in both slots and my monitor is connected to the card in Slot 1

    GPU's: GTX 1080 in PCIe slots 1 and 3
    HDD: Intel 750 in U2 slot and WD Black in SATA1

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array day187 PC Specs
    day187 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Samsung
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V
    Processori7-5820K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C16 3200MHz
    Storage #1Samsung 1TB SSD 850 PRO SATA
    Storage #2Samsung 128GB x2 RAID0 SSD 850 PRO SATA 6Gbps 3D NAND Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN X61 280mm AIO Water Cooling Unit
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo Full Tower - Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova P2 1200W
    Keyboard Mars Hades MKHA0
    Mouse M65 corsair rgb
    OS Windows 10
    day187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    The board has dipswitch you can use for RAM lanes so you don't have to take them out to tell which one is faulty, have you checked that they're in the correct position?

    My V 10 had problems with the led not working straight out the box i returned and the new one is great, i would do the same unless anybody else can give you any advice

    Day
    Last edited by day187; 07-23-2016 at 01:07 PM.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Also I had one of the SATA ports. My data drive was in Port 2 and suddenly stopped working.
    I thought it was due to a software or BIOS change but I undid those and the BIOS wasn't seeing It.
    I changed the port it was plugged into and it started working again.

    So I think there are issues with the board.

    I will double check the switches and try backing off the heat sink screws

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I tried resetting the dip switch for Bank A and no luck.

    I could only get to one of the CPU cooler screws and backed it off a half turn.
    To get to the other i need to pull off the fan and the only way to put it back on is by removing the GPU.
    Also in swapping the modules around I had the cooler off several times and I only snug the screws. So I really don't think they are too tight


    I checked in the BIOS and both GPU's are running at x16. However only the LED for slot 3 is lit.
    I watched carefully during boot and the LED for slot 1 never lights. The other three briefly come on. So I think there is a problem there as well.

    I guess I have to wait for ASUS Support to get back to me so that I can RMA the board.
    With the LED and SATA port being bad I think it needs to be swapped even if the memory issue is due to an over tightened cooler.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I called Asus and they told me to return the board to NewEgg. NewEgg doesn't cross ship so I guess I will be with a board for a while.

    My big concern though is that this means that I will need to put all the components into some sort of static bags while I wait.

    For the CPU and cooler do you think I should order new thermal paste? This will be the fourth time I have reinstalled the cooler.
    Last time the paste was there and covered all but the center - my guess is that was the spot of direct contact.

    I really don't like removing the CPU and putting it back in its packaging. Makes me a little nervous

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I hope you haven't been reusing the thermal paste for 4 times. lol If you gonna mount it again, definately buy some thermal paste. When you get your new motherboard, test it outside the case before installing everything. Since your heatsink is pretty big, make sure you don't overtigthen the screws when you install it.

  8. #8
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Crash55 View Post
    I called Asus and they told me to return the board to NewEgg. NewEgg doesn't cross ship so I guess I will be with a board for a while.

    My big concern though is that this means that I will need to put all the components into some sort of static bags while I wait.

    For the CPU and cooler do you think I should order new thermal paste? This will be the fourth time I have reinstalled the cooler.
    Last time the paste was there and covered all but the center - my guess is that was the spot of direct contact.

    I really don't like removing the CPU and putting it back in its packaging. Makes me a little nervous

    If the DIMMs don't map in some channels when you get the new board and pre-test on an open testbed (out of the case), try setting Rampage Tweak Mode 1 in the DRAM timing page of UEFI. If you still have the original board, I would try this before you RMA it.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by Crash55 View Post
    I called Asus and they told me to return the board to NewEgg. NewEgg doesn't cross ship so I guess I will be with a board for a while.

    My big concern though is that this means that I will need to put all the components into some sort of static bags while I wait.

    For the CPU and cooler do you think I should order new thermal paste? This will be the fourth time I have reinstalled the cooler.
    Last time the paste was there and covered all but the center - my guess is that was the spot of direct contact.

    I really don't like removing the CPU and putting it back in its packaging. Makes me a little nervous
    You are right that Newegg doesn't cross ship which is a shame but they will waste no time once they get it from you. You won't have to wait for them to test it. They just make sure everything is in the box and the board doesn't look damaged. They complete that in less than a day and then ship the replacement overnight. Amazon Prime is the only one I know that cross ships by default with no questions asked. Corsair cross ships but you have to call them and they put a hold on your credit card.

    When you test it outside the the system I always test it on a firm cardboard box to make sure nothing gets damaged on the back side of the board. Some people say use a wooden table but I think that is still too firm of a surface. Some things aren't soldered on the back and can be damaged.
    Last edited by jrmcdou; 07-25-2016 at 01:17 PM.
    Rampage VI Extreme bios 1503
    Core i9 7980XE @ 4.4ghz all cores
    64 gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600
    2x RTX 2080 Ti FE NvLink/SLI
    2x Samsung 970 Pro 1tb NVME
    Corsair AX1600i
    Corsair 1000D case
    1x Dell U3818DW 38" Curved Ultrawide and 2x Dell S2716DG 27" 1ms GSYNC 2560x1440 144 hz
    Win 10 Pro x64

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Crash55 PC Specs
    Crash55 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorCore i7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
    MonitorDell P2715Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 2 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Le Grand Macho
    CasebeQuiet! Dark Base 900 Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G11
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Mouse Pad Steel Series 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link DIR-655

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I hope you haven't been reusing the thermal paste for 4 times. lol If you gonna mount it again, definately buy some thermal paste. When you get your new motherboard, test it outside the case before installing everything. Since your heatsink is pretty big, make sure you don't overtigthen the screws when you install it.
    I had no other thermal paste so little choice. The three times the heat sink was installed were all within an about an hour so the paste hadn't set. I smoothed out the paste each time.

    Why test outside of case as opposed to inside? I have a tower case so plenty of space inside the case.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •