Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 151
  1. #121
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    That is a method I have seen reported here that has worked before but, and there is always a but which is why I recommend not upgrading a bios just to upgrade a bios, don't fix what isn't broken
    Anytime you flash a bios there is a risk that something could go wrong, risk of failure has been minimized substantially over the years but there is still a very small chance of failure
    ASUS flashback method reduces risk of failure further and ROG boards with dual bios chips gives extra protection of being able to change to the second bios if there is a failure
    ASUS also has a feature where you can boot to the motherboard driver CD and flash the original bios version, plus ASUS has replaceable bios chips, something not all manufactures offer

  2. #122
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array p_delray PC Specs
    p_delray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #3EVGA 980
    Sound CardDenon AVR
    MonitorSharp 70"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 750
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000i
    Keyboard Logitech K810
    Mouse Microsoft 5000
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    I ruined bios 1 by messing with this new bios update and now bios 1 codes 00. This after trying to upgrade or downgrade 1 from 3101. Now I only have one bios and it is the reboot monster 3101.

    I am curious in that I just read on this thread that you can get a new bios chip from Asus - how expensive and how does that install and work? Would be a good idea for me to have one of those on hand just in case.

  3. #123
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Quote Originally Posted by p_delray View Post
    I ruined bios 1 by messing with this new bios update and now bios 1 codes 00. This after trying to upgrade or downgrade 1 from 3101. Now I only have one bios and it is the reboot monster 3101.

    I am curious in that I just read on this thread that you can get a new bios chip from Asus - how expensive and how does that install and work? Would be a good idea for me to have one of those on hand just in case.
    It's like $10 to $20 for a new bios chip. You just need to pop the old chip out, and pop the new one in.

  4. #124
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Nonny PC Specs
    Nonny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extrem BIOS 3101
    Processorintel i7-5960x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 (64 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX Titan Black
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" + Asus MX279 27"
    Storage #1Corsair SSD Neutron 256 GB
    Storage #2Samsung ST2000DM01
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H105 240mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCoolermaster Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster Silend Pro 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse ROCCAT Nyth modular MMO Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamant 7.1 Analog
    Mouse Pad ROCCAT Hiro
    Headset/Speakers F&D No.: 6000U
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer AC8
    Accessory #1 3D Conexion - 3d Space mouse Eterprice Edition
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos 5m Pro Wireless
    Accessory #3 Asus Front Base , OC Panel, Logitech C930e

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by p_delray View Post
    I ruined bios 1 by messing with this new bios update and now bios 1 codes 00. This after trying to upgrade or downgrade 1 from 3101. Now I only have one bios and it is the reboot monster 3101.

    I am curious in that I just read on this thread that you can get a new bios chip from Asus - how expensive and how does that install and work? Would be a good idea for me to have one of those on hand just in case.
    Yes the chip change is easy i got also 2 extra chips just in case one i had to change and 1 i still have left , you never know ... it was like 11 U$ for each chip , changing took 2 minutes with open case cover and all :-)

    Nonny

  5. #125
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I had corrupted bios, would hang on several codes b6 - 78 but eventually start, MEI version was not shown in bios and I could not install MEI drivers, I got one new bios chip and flashed that to my 2 bad chips and recovered them and have an extra bios chip
    I tried flashing just the MEI firmware to my bios chip but was unsuccessful
    Overclocking on the edge of stability can not only corrupt your OS it can corrupt your bios
    Last edited by Menthol; 08-24-2016 at 02:05 AM.

  6. #126
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array p_delray PC Specs
    p_delray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #3EVGA 980
    Sound CardDenon AVR
    MonitorSharp 70"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 750
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000i
    Keyboard Logitech K810
    Mouse Microsoft 5000
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    Anyone want to sell me a programed chip ? I am finding they are not that easy to get and some, if not most, don't work.

  7. #127
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Nonny PC Specs
    Nonny PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extrem BIOS 3101
    Processorintel i7-5960x
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 (64 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX Titan Black
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" + Asus MX279 27"
    Storage #1Corsair SSD Neutron 256 GB
    Storage #2Samsung ST2000DM01
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H105 240mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCoolermaster Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster Silend Pro 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse ROCCAT Nyth modular MMO Mouse
    Headset Razer Tiamant 7.1 Analog
    Mouse Pad ROCCAT Hiro
    Headset/Speakers F&D No.: 6000U
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer AC8
    Accessory #1 3D Conexion - 3d Space mouse Eterprice Edition
    Accessory #2 Wacom Intuos 5m Pro Wireless
    Accessory #3 Asus Front Base , OC Panel, Logitech C930e

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by p_delray View Post
    Anyone want to sell me a programed chip ? I am finding they are not that easy to get and some, if not most, don't work.
    There is a recomended page for this but i have no idea i can post a link here , also i belive here in the forum are already BIOS chip programmer and seller , but i dont remember who it was :-/ ...

    Greetings

    Nonny

  8. #128
    ROG Enthusiast Array DeXZoR PC Specs
    DeXZoR PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32GB DDR4 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980TI MATRIX
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980TI MATRIX
    MonitorAsus Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1.
    Storage #2.
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 800D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850
    Keyboard QPAD MK-85
    Mouse Asus ROG Spatha
    DeXZoR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Any one her know what the Factory BIOS is ? what verson is that ?

    Have a great weekend

  9. #129
    ROG Enthusiast Array JOSHSKORN PC Specs
    JOSHSKORN PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    random restarts after suggested change

    I upgraded my bios yesterday from 0603 to 3301. Now, I'd forgotten to unplug any of my devices and went ahead and updated and it seemed fine. Windows 10 x64 booted just fine. My eSATA drive was recognized, as I'd just put in the external device that day and it didn't seem to be working under 0603.

    Under 0603, however, my computer seemed fairly stable. Under 3301, my computer would reboot every hour roughly, even after the suggested change (I forgot the name of the setting, "Spectrum..."). I went ahead and changed it back to Auto, and it still rebooted, but the first time it took many hours, roughly a half day, then again after a couple of hours. I will say this, though, my eSATA was plugged in and was doing a Format (the long one not the quick format). It's a 4TB drive.

    That said, I'm having trouble finding the culprit. Is the problem the BIOS? The drive? Could my drive be overheating? My External hard drive is actually an external hard drive of another smaller enclosure that I took apart, put into a 2.5" to 3.5" converter, and then into a Rosewill enclosure that has a temperature gauge. I can see the temp going up to 42.0C, and right now, it's idle at 38.9C. This was after the random reboot. Before, it usually starts at around 22.0C, roughly.

    Any ideas? Should I try a previous BIOS that might be more stable?

  10. #130
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    v2101

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 3 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •