Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 151
  1. #51
    ROG Enthusiast Array Szaquak PC Specs
    Szaquak PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Memory (part number)Geil CL16-16-16 D4-3000 [16GB]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce 750
    Graphics Card #2XFX R9 280X
    Graphics Card #3XFX R9 280X
    Sound Cardintegral
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1RevoDrive X2
    Storage #2some HDD
    CPU CoolerProlimatech Armageddon
    CaseThermaltake Armor+
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark power Pro 1200 W
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G5
    Headset Creative Aurvana Live!
    OS Windows 7 x64
    Network RouterASUS WL-500W

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    AND
    VRM Spread Spectrum - Disabled (this option is Disabled Default in 1xxx and 2xxx, Enabled in 3xxx)
    = no power loose

  2. #52
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Szaquak View Post
    CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    AND
    VRM Spread Spectrum - Disabled (this option is Disabled Default in 1xxx and 2xxx, Enabled in 3xxx)
    = no power loose
    I see they are not addressing this problem at all then, maybe this improves system stability?

    And of course don't mention adaptive cache voltage!

  3. #53
    New ROGer Array mariodimauro PC Specs
    mariodimauro PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME BIOS 3501
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Dominator® Platinum Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) 2666 XMP 2.0
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Titan X 12GB
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Titan X 12GB
    Sound CardSupremeFX 2014 Integrated
    MonitorBenQ BL3201PT, 81,2 cm (32 pollici) 4K/UHD + 47" Sony BRAVIA KDL-46NX720
    Storage #1Samsung 950PRO SSD M.2, 512GB OS + Corsair Neutron XT SATA III SSD 480GB Data
    Storage #2Raid0 of 6 SSD for Games and Virtualization + 3TB as Storage USB3 + 6TB Raid1 as Backup USB3.1
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Window
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 RGB LED Mechanical
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros Wireless Gaming Mouse
    Headset Mad Catz F.R.E.Q.9 Wireless Surround
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Whetstone NS01-1A Silicone
    Headset/Speakers Bose® Companion 50 2.1 + Sony BDV-N5200W 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Annyversary Update
    Network RouterAsus DSL-AC68U
    Accessory #1 APC Back-UPS PRO 1500 SchuKo - 865 Watt
    Accessory #2 Xbox one Controllers with USB reciever
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Kinect Xbox One with adapter

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Solved

    Quote Originally Posted by xcite View Post
    Does "Improve system compatibility" clears problem with random powerloss / restarts which we all had on 3202 ?

    Guys, who want's to be the "First in the space" ? Who will try ?
    I solved powerloss and finally i'm able to put XMP to 2666 that was unstable before with Dominator® Platinum Series 64GB (8 x 8GB)...just 3°C higher CPU Temp

  4. #54
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by James- View Post
    And of course don't mention adaptive cache voltage!
    Hello

    Until the broke status changes there is nothing to mention or comment about.

  5. #55
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Quote Originally Posted by James- View Post
    And of course don't mention adaptive cache voltage!
    To those who may have had a similar interest to mine, only read the exchange here and never read how it ended at the other forums:

    Even I don't care about adaptive cache voltage anymore. Running C-States with Package Limit at "C6 Non-Retention States" accomplishes the purpose of reducing idle cache voltage perfectly well. (It had seemed to give me instability previously, which is why I thought Adaptive Cache Voltage was my only hope).

    Honestly it never even occurred to me that anyone would *want* adaptive cache voltage for any other purpose. I know of nothing else it's good for. I even called lower idle cache voltage "the entire point" of adaptive cache voltage several times on the other forum, but no one seemed to pick up what I really wanted out of all this, but whatever.

    The point is - you can has lower idle cache voltage without "adaptive cache voltage". C-States, Package Limit of C6 Non Retention State. Works great - in fact, it lowers idle cache voltage even lower than Adaptive Cache Voltage would.

    Enjoy.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array sergio77 PC Specs
    sergio77 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 3000MHz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GeForce GTX 980
    MonitorAsus VX279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro RAID 0 512GB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 280L with Noctua NF-A14
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard CM Storm Trigger-Z
    Mouse CM Storm Sentinel Advance II
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    BIOS 3301 is stable, but... compared to the 3202 version there is an issue with the memory settings. If I set the memory to 3000MHz using 100MHz strap RVE shows q-code B7, no post. I had to reduce the memory speed by one small step, from 3000MHz to 2933MHz, and everything works.
    Other OC settings have remained the same as well as for the rest of the BIOS series 3000, cores & cache @ 4.5GHz using same voltages, NVMe Samsung 950 Pro over 2500MBs / 1500MBs.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark Only (i7-5930K at Rampage V Extreme) BIOS 3301.jpg 
Views:	130 
Size:	210.5 KB 
ID:	58611
    Last edited by sergio77; 08-02-2016 at 11:33 PM.
    Intel Core i7-5930K @ 4.5GHz / Cooler Master Nepton 280L / Noctua NF-A14
    Asus RAMPAGE V Extreme / Kingston HyperX 32GB DDR4 3000MHz
    Asus Strix GeForce GTX 980 / Asus VX279Q
    Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512GB / Samsung 850 Pro RAID 0 512GB
    Cooler Master V1200 Platinum / CM Storm Trooper

  7. #57
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    I can confirm what Sergio's saying. I tried my old 3000Mhz OC settings, which used to mostly work (but with some edge stability issues that made me just go back to 2666 XMP) and I'm getting the B7 code as well. Tried 2933 too, same issue. I was able to boot 2800, but that doesn't net me enough gain over 2666 to make going through the whole ordeal of stability testing again worth it.

    At least 3301 does give a memory boost all on it's own though. Sergio, there's a good chance you may actually be getting better performance with 2933 on 3301 than with 3000 on 3202. Have you compared?

  8. #58
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    59

    I see you have command rate as 1. As has been mentioned before, the 3XXX BIOS doesn't much like CR-1. Rather than reducing 3000Mhz to 2933 I'd first try changing to CR-2.

  9. #59
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    That's a good idea. I would try that. For the record tho, all my tests were with CR2.

  10. #60
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    To those who may have had a similar interest to mine, only read the exchange here and never read how it ended at the other forums:

    Even I don't care about adaptive cache voltage anymore. Running C-States with Package Limit at "C6 Non-Retention States" accomplishes the purpose of reducing idle cache voltage perfectly well. (It had seemed to give me instability previously, which is why I thought Adaptive Cache Voltage was my only hope).

    Honestly it never even occurred to me that anyone would *want* adaptive cache voltage for any other purpose. I know of nothing else it's good for. I even called lower idle cache voltage "the entire point" of adaptive cache voltage several times on the other forum, but no one seemed to pick up what I really wanted out of all this, but whatever.

    The point is - you can has lower idle cache voltage without "adaptive cache voltage". C-States, Package Limit of C6 Non Retention State. Works great - in fact, it lowers idle cache voltage even lower than Adaptive Cache Voltage would.


    Enjoy.
    I'm going to keep this brief as I can. Adaptive has more benefits than the outright visible idle voltage disparity versus a boosted offset. The entire stack at intermediate loads can be lower with adaptive, and that is what matters more, because very little current flows when the system is idle. The loads of a system modulate, and every time they do, the offset VID stack becomes active. If the benefits of offset with deeper c-states outweighed adaptive voltage, Intel would never have needed to develop the latter.

    I have no desire to write about this further or exchange more posts on this (especially as things can turn into what we saw at OCN in the Rampage V thread), but as I said before, we don't want to mislead people.

    -Raja

Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •