Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 105

Thread: New BIOS 1902

  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    My system:
    M8Hero with BIOS 1504 (never updated), i7 6700K, GTX 970, 16 GB DDR4 2400 Mhz RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit.

    I would like to have an up to date BIOS, even though I have no issues with my current one.

    I have 2 questions:
    1: Going from 1504 to 1902, does the 1902 BIOS include any Intel ME updates?

    I ask because these days updating BIOS also can update firmware on the motherboard (Intel ME),
    and on my old system it was NOT possible to downgrade Intel ME firmware after it was updated.
    This was a major problem, because Linux did not understand my "new motherboard" after ME update, the kernel complained about hardware-issues.

    2: Is this true for my current system too? (Not possible to go back to previous ME-version, even if I flash back to the old 1504-BIOS?)
    Last edited by Lob; 07-30-2016 at 08:29 AM.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    this bios 1902 doesnt support two display ports as input for one 5K monitor i spent a lot of time (and money too) to figure out whats wrong

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array reupens PC Specs
    reupens PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorCore i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 960 SSC
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseLian-Li PC-60FNWX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Lob View Post
    I have 2 questions:
    1: Going from 1504 to 1902, does the 1902 BIOS include any Intel ME updates?
    I have ME firmware version 11.0.0.1168 on BIOS 1902 on a Hero. Check what ME version you currently have in the BIOS.

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by reupens View Post
    I have ME firmware version 11.0.0.1168 on BIOS 1902 on a Hero. Check what ME version you currently have in the BIOS.
    Thank you very much.
    That's the same ME-version as I currently have using 1502-BIOS, so I guess it's safe for me to update.

    ME-updates (=motherboard hardware change) scares me because my old Linux PC was rendered almost useless after ME-update (MSI sandybrigde system),
    and flashing to a previous BIOS would not downgrade ME.

    BTW: Some in this thread have unknown devices in Windows after the update,
    which sounds similar to what I experienced using Linux on my old PC after the permanent ME-update. But I guess this one can't be related to ME.

  5. #25
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Update to 1902 on Z170 Premium

    I updated from 1802 to 1902 XMP reset did a MEMOK bypass re-set the XMP...Boom all before....difference.... nothing noticed atm

  6. #26
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by MaXeLL View Post
    Glad to read that i'm not alone, so it's a new bug holy hell, i want to understand how the QA works, because i think that they are not doing their job good.

    Now i'll test if Asus resolved the shutdown issues plaguing their motherboards... cross the fingers!
    Same issue here:
    ACPI\PNP0A0B\2&DABA3FF&1

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    Am i the only one who noticed the BIOS is much faster ?
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,787

    Quote Originally Posted by Kenrou View Post
    Am i the only one who noticed the BIOS is much faster ?
    Faster in what regards?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Kenrou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    127

    If BIOS was a windows program, it would run a lot faster, that make sense ?
    Last edited by Kenrou; 08-01-2016 at 03:55 PM.
    CPU: i7-6700k @4.7ghz
    Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    GPU: Strix 980ti OC

    RAM: 2x 8GB Ripjaws V 3200mhz C14
    Motherboard: Maximus VIII Hero

    SSD: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 250gb
    HDD: 1x WD Black 4TB
    PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold
    CASE: Fractal Define R5 Black

    OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array loopie42 PC Specs
    loopie42 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 6700K
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z 3400 DDR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geoforce GTX 1070 FTW
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geoforce GTX 1070 FTW
    Sound CardSoundblaster Titanium Fatality Pro
    MonitorDell U2713H
    Storage #1Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Baracude 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplySeasonic X Series 1050 W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Death Adder
    Headset Razer Kralen 7.1 Chroma
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Rlse Preview 14393

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Cool Updated from 1402 bios too 1902 bios

    Maximus VIII Hero MB, GSkill Trident 3400 DDR 32 GB, I7 6700K, have noticed minor changes such as better XMP profile for this memory, the CPU overclocked
    too 42 X 102.1 on its own without any input on my part. Has been running stable !!

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •