Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array alternety PC Specs
    alternety PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus P8Z77-V Deluxe
    ProcessorI7 3770
    Graphics Card #1Radeon 3850
    MonitorDell IPS 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 0.5GB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet!
    CaseFractal Define XL R2
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Northgate Ultra
    OS Win 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-66

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Where is the HAL in PC and Maximus Viii install disk

    I have been trying to migrate Windows from on old MB to a current Maximus VIII Ranger. Then upgrade from Win 7 to Win 8 to Win 8.1, and then finally to Win 10. Necessary to get settings and apps from 7 to 10.

    It has been a long ugly process. I finally got Win 8 installed. Used an ISO to upgrade to 8.1. After several hours of downloading and installing 193 updates, it failed with a message that it could not install and was backing everything out. No idea why. One thing I have in mind is the wrong HAL. I had problems with moving 7 to the new MB, and again when installing 8. They had issues with not seeming to understand what devices actually existed on the MB. It never got the network setup correct.

    As I went along, I have installed drivers from the Asus install DVD. I went to each category (e.g., Intel, sound, etc.) and ran the Asus setup in that file.

    I would like to know what files need to be installed to provide the correct HAL. Where are the files found in the OS install and on the install DVD. Is there a program to install the HAL, or is it included in something under one of the categories?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi alternety

    It sounds to me like you're making things difficult, I did the free upgrade to windows 10 and this is how I did it.

    1) Install windows 7.

    2) Install the LAN driver from the motherboard disc.

    3) COMPLETELY update windows 7 including the optional updates, keep running windows update until it says there are no more.

    4) Then go here and click "upgrade now" and sit back and watch, you don't have to put it on a usb flash drive or dvd. Once installed windows 10 should run updates and install all necessary drivers, once this is done check device manager.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

    One thing that was a pain for me was windows 7 took 5 1/2 hours for the first check of the updates but after that it went pretty fast.

    Let us know how it goes.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array alternety PC Specs
    alternety PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus P8Z77-V Deluxe
    ProcessorI7 3770
    Graphics Card #1Radeon 3850
    MonitorDell IPS 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 0.5GB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet!
    CaseFractal Define XL R2
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Northgate Ultra
    OS Win 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-66

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    As I noted in the first line of my post - it does not work the way you suggest unless you are doing a clean install. The process I listed must be done to preserve installed applications. Why MS did it that way ???

    Can someone please answer my question? I am running out of time for the free upgrade.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    You can upgrade and keep your settings/programs too, if you're having problems I will suggest going to the Microsoft answer desk, they will do it for free by remote access.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array alternety PC Specs
    alternety PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus P8Z77-V Deluxe
    ProcessorI7 3770
    Graphics Card #1Radeon 3850
    MonitorDell IPS 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 0.5GB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet!
    CaseFractal Define XL R2
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Northgate Ultra
    OS Win 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-66

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Nate, I am not trying to start a fight with you. I appreciate your responding. I need help. However, you are wrong.

    Please stop proposing things that will not work and I will not try and address my actual question. If you do not believe what I am saying about Win updates, check out the MS site. Find the charts that show which upgrades can carry over files and applications. What I have written is (to the best of my ability to understand and with much searching and reading) correct.

    Now, assuming what I am saying is correct, is there a file(s) for the hardware abstraction layer (or a grouping of parameters that must be done individually)? This is what I MUST know. What I am seeing can be attributed to a lack of the OS knowing what devices are on the MB.

    An extraneous issue (and no answer required - it is not a necessary answer) I have also been unable to find a downloadable copy of the current (actually, any) Ranger setup disk. There may be only one version; but being able to download a copy if the DVD can't be found, would be a very good thing for Asus to provide. There are a lot of updates. But I believe I need to get the correct HAL first. An explanation of why any of this is not true would be welcomed. I have 3 days. I can not go around in circles.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Well I'll just say when I upgraded to windows 10 I had the option of starting fresh with windows 10 or I could click keep my programs and settings. It doesn't come much easier than that, the only driver I needed was the LAN driver from the motherboard disk to get things started with windows 7.

    I will suggest contacting microsoft answer desk again, they will answer any questions you may have about upgrading windows and upgrade windows for you all for free. You talk to a live technician and they chat with you right on the spot.

  7. #7
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by alternety View Post
    I would like to know what files need to be installed to provide the correct HAL. Where are the files found in the OS install and on the install DVD. Is there a program to install the HAL, or is it included in something under one of the categories?
    Hello

    There is no Hal files shipped with a motherboard. The Hal file is built up for the specific platform from files contained on the operating system install media. Use a backup and restore utility that has the capability of cross platform compatibility or perform a fresh install.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array alternety PC Specs
    alternety PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus P8Z77-V Deluxe
    ProcessorI7 3770
    Graphics Card #1Radeon 3850
    MonitorDell IPS 24"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 0.5GB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet!
    CaseFractal Define XL R2
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Northgate Ultra
    OS Win 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-66

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Thanks Praz. That was the answer I was rather expecting. After reading dozens of posts about HAL, I never found the simple and clear answer you gave.

  9. #9
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    You're welcome.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •