Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Are my vrm temps too high at stock?

    I have four blocks in my loop. A 5960x, the pch, aquaero 6 xt, and the vrms. After 15 minutes in Aida 64 the vrms hit 50 c at stock voltages. My room temperature is 20 c. Are the temps for the vrms too high for stock with that loop?
    Last edited by Zarathustraa; 07-28-2016 at 08:23 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,615

    I have just run the same thing in a room at 27 degrees and the VRM tops at 41 degrees...one fan blowing over stock heatsink.

    To be honest the stock heatsink is direct Cu...probably better than any aftermarket heatsink with a thermal pad

    I'd check out the mounting...what are CPU temps like....look like you have good flow in loop?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I have just run the same thing in a room at 27 degrees and the VRM tops at 41 degrees...one fan blowing over stock heatsink.

    To be honest the stock heatsink is direct Cu...probably better than any aftermarket heatsink with a thermal pad

    I'd check out the mounting...what are CPU temps like....look like you have good flow in loop?
    1.1 gpm, and cpu temp are between 37 and 47.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array kaese PC Specs
    kaese PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Rampage V Extreme
    Processor5820K

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    65

    It seems a little high to me too. I use a Watercool HEATKILLER® MB-X VRM ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME NI cooler and can hardly reach 40C during stress testing.
    However it is the first device in my cooling loop and my water temperatures stay always below 35C - so you might also check your water temperatures.
    What is the sequence in your water loop? In general its a good advice to go from devices with lowest power per cooling area (such as RAM or VRMs) to ones with highest power per cooling area (CPU und GPU).

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    I'll have to check my water temps again. At the most I believe the water hit 35 c. The order of my loop is pch, cpu, fan controller, vrm, then Waterblocks.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,615

    If you have reasonable flow rate the order of components does not matter at all. The loop as a whole comes to equilibrium with whatever ambient temp. Order would only matter with a horribly low flow rate so forget that.

    The CPU temps sound about right...just have to check contact of block with vrm...

    Are you at high ambient temperature?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array kaese PC Specs
    kaese PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Rampage V Extreme
    Processor5820K

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    If you have reasonable flow rate the order of components does not matter at all [...] Order would only matter with a horribly low flow rate so forget that.
    Lets have a look at the numbers:
    P=c*dV/dt*\rho*\Delta T
    where P is the power of the system during stress test and \Delta T the increase of cooling liquid temperature after passing through all water blocks.
    \rho is the specific density of the liquid, dV/dt is the volume flow rate, in my case its 50 l/h (what keeps the system silent) and c=3500 J/kgK is the specific heat capacity of the cooling liquid (the specific heat capacity of water is 4187 J/kgK, it is a little lower by ethylene glcyol in the coolant).

    Then the increase in temperature is
    \Delta T = P / (3500*50/3600) [K]
    During a stress test with an overclocked CPU P = 300 W --> \Delta = 6.2 °C
    when you add a powerful GPU its P = 550 W --> \Delta = 11.3 °C

    Zarathustraa, you have your VRMs cooled at the end of the circuit and 10°C higher temperatures than I do cooling the VRM at the start of the circuit. We can explain 5°C temperature difference already by the sequence of components.
    Further the temperature sensors may not be extremely precise and I wouldnt wonder if there is an error in the range of some 3°C.
    Still I would reseat / double check the correct fitting of the VRM cooler and the heat conduction pad.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    259

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    If you have reasonable flow rate the order of components does not matter at all. The loop as a whole comes to equilibrium with whatever ambient temp. Order would only matter with a horribly low flow rate so forget that.

    The CPU temps sound about right...just have to check contact of block with vrm...

    Are you at high ambient temperature?
    Took the words out of my mouth. The order of components doesn't matter.
    Rampage VI Extreme bios 1503
    Core i9 7980XE @ 4.4ghz all cores
    64 gb Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3600
    2x RTX 2080 Ti FE NvLink/SLI
    2x Samsung 970 Pro 1tb NVME
    Corsair AX1600i
    Corsair 1000D case
    1x Dell U3818DW 38" Curved Ultrawide and 2x Dell S2716DG 27" 1ms GSYNC 2560x1440 144 hz
    Win 10 Pro x64

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,615

    Sorry kaese but you are mistaken in your understanding of the physics for a closed loop.

    Honestly we try to help people in as far as we can here. Bad info doesn't help...

    The temperature increase through a block or temperature drop through a radiator is negligible at decent flow rate. the explanation here is not the position of the VRM block in the loop. I'd hate for the OP to take that idea anywhere in troubleshooting this.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    I think it must be a bad mount. I just have to figure out how to remount the block without taking the whole computer apart.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •