Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Maximus VIII Impact: Q-Code 99

    Hey gang,

    First build in a few years using a Maximus VIII Impact and getting the Q-Code 99 "Super I/O Initialization". The system does boot to the main BIOS screen but doesn't let me get into enter the BIOS. The keyboard appears to work as I can CTRL+ALT+Delete to restart but does't enter the BIOS when hitting delete or F2. Checked that everything is seated correctly and all fans power on. The unit is not in a case yet, just setup on the tray test bench style. Maybe it's just the keyboard but don't have another to try until tomorrow. Specs below.

    Maximus VIII Impact (Shipped with BIOS 1202)
    i7 6700k
    Corsair H80i GT Watercooler
    32 GB Corsair Dominator 3000
    EVGA GTX 1070
    Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD
    Corsair SF600 PSU

    This is where it stays with the Q Code 99 on the debug LED.

    Thanks

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	13844304_10206884316366495_1534143721_o.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	96.6 KB 
ID:	58452
    Last edited by Locutis; 07-28-2016 at 11:44 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array jaggerwild PC Specs
    jaggerwild PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)NONE
    MotherboardMANY
    ProcessorMANY
    Memory (part number)MANY
    Graphics Card #1MANY
    Graphics Card #2MANY
    jaggerwild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Qcode 99 is a corrupted bios, follow the link try a blind bios flash back see if it fixes this,

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XI-zGV8SLho
    Asus X79 DELUXE
    3930K WATER
    2X Intel 520 Raid o
    2X GTX 780ti DCII OC WATER
    16 GB G skill 2133
    Corsiar AX1200
    Acer 24" 1080
    Swiftech MCP655 Vari
    HWlabs 3/120
    Asus DVD

    BLIND BIOS FLASH LINK http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...BIOS-FlashBack

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Thanks,

    Should I do the lastest BIOS or and older one?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket - 4 TB, 3 GB/s
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    i tried the newer one and the older one, right port, right filename, ntfs/fat32 and no success at all
    i just wanted to update bios from 1701 to 1902 and this happened to me on gene
    whats wrong with 1902? board is already on rma and this sucks a lot, both thumbs down for asus, this is very disappointing and never ever happened to me
    i wish u more luck
    Last edited by x-rated; 07-29-2016 at 12:54 AM.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi Locutis

    Code 99 with display is likely a usb device such as your keyboard as you suspect.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Thanks guys, I am going to grab a Keyboard from work tomorrow and see if that does anything, one step at a time. X-Rated, sorry for your luck, I know how you feel and when building these things as I assume you know is part the silicone lottery which for me is usually bad luck

  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Well, ran home for lunch with a could of standard USB keyboards from work, same issue as the first one. It's almost like the keyboard and mouse aren't registering with the system until after the splash screen. Gonna try flashing the BIOS when I get home from work.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    OK, I'm in the BIOS. I removed the 1070 and using on board HDMI, removed the SSD and have only the keyboard plugged into the 3rd USB slot, the first one above the the Keybot port and the BIOS flash port. I have not flashed the BIOS yet. Going to start adding the other parts back in one at a time. One thing to not, I still couldn't get into the BIOS by Delete or F2 on the splash screen but it did let me go in via F1 when it got to the screen I posted above.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    So it appears to be running as it should with everything plugged back in and I can get into the BIOS at the splash screen now.

    Next question for you all. Have the system running for about 45 minutes now sitting in the BIOS. The CPU tops out at 35C at idle and the PCH temp settles in around 56c. Is that too hot for the PCH? The clear wrap is off the heatsinks.

    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •